Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 1 April 2017
I love this book. Constructed from a series of interviews, it covers Richard Feynman's life from childhood to probably the late 1970's.
Clearly it's from his point of view, and only covers areas he felt like discussing, so there's very little about his marriage (although there is another book which has more detail on that), and nothing about the Challenger disaster (again, another book).
But the anecdotes are interesting, some are hilarious, and I've managed to get my son to read and enjoy this as well. His time with the Manhattan Project is a particular source of amusement, and his move to Brazil is another rich fountain of anecdotes.
The Big Bang Theory has probably brought his name to the attention of another generation of people.
You've probably got at least 2 series' worth of material in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2017
My best reading of 2016. Brilliant book, funny and full of learnings.
I'm no native English speaker and I had no problems following it.
I would recommend it to anyone interested (even slightly) in science, but as well to anyone who feels that he/she has to say something in this world.

A beautiful history of a man who always lived his life as he wanted and did it brilliantly!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2015
Richard Feynman is one of the most wonderfully eclectic personalities of the 20th Century. A noble prize winning physicist, bongo player and artist this collection of memoirs recounts the myriad of crazy adventures and observations this man made during his most remarkable life. It was a pleasure to read, uplifting, funny and insightful, the man is an inspirational power house. If you've ever seen his lectures or heard him talk on documentaries then the words on the pages of this book will leap from the paper as you hear him speak them, his infectiously joyous personality bounds from page to page in a roaring adventure through his wonderful existence. It'll make you think for sure, it may make you cry, but most importantly of all it'll make you smile as you consider the world through the uniquely brilliant lens of this man's vast and quirky intellect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2018
This guy has a brilliant attitude to life. These anecdotes from his attempts to understand it are not only thought provoking but highly amusing. I am not at all scientifically minded but managed to follow the majority of the book (I think!).
This is one of my favourite books of all time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
This is an excellent little book full of short, funny and interesting stories about his life.
the short chapters meant that I was constantly reading a new chapter a bit like when watching the next episode of your favorite program.

It will be just as interesting for children as for adults and gives a great insight into how science and the world in general works.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2016
Richard Feynman was one of the greatest communicators of science in history. He was able to put complex matters in terms that any reasonably intelligent person can follow. He was also a very good storyteller, and we see all of that in this book. The one "weakness" he had was, that although he was really very modest and down-to-earth, he very much liked to play the magician and show off how brilliant he was. Never with any intent to put anyone else down, but simply to amuse himself by impressing others. And he was never more pleased than when he could make people believe that he was much more clever than he really was. So in much of this book Feynman could easily be accused of boasting, but that is easily forgiven, because he's so entertaining and has so much interesting stuff to tell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
It was a bit soured for me when I found out about Feynman's history of spousal abuse. Wonderful book for humanising a genius though. Some interesting anecdotes and a very cool insight from a great scientist.

Not for you if you want a warts and all look at the man, but an enjoyable read nonetheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2016
Recommended on Radio 4, did not disappoint. An odd bloke but as physicist of unparalleled skill and ability you stand in awe of his achievements. Then there is the safe-cracking, bongo playing, practical joking and refusing to accept prejudice masquerading as "science" when sitting on the Educational Books Board. His treatment of the psychological assessment of the Draft Board makes "Alice's Restaurant" Group W bench seem almost logical.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2017
To be honest, I didn't finish this as I found the writing style jarring & the content not particularly interesting but my partner loved it so I guess you have to try it to find out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2012
My knowledge of physics is non-existent, yet I enjoyed this book very much.
That's because it's really the amusing biography of a truly remarkable man (Feynman was a Nobel Prize winner) with a bit of maths and physics thrown in and, surprisingly, with a few exceptions, the scientific stuff is written in such a way that even I could understand it. It takes the reader on a journey from the time when Feynman was a little boy fixing radios to make money to him becoming a professor and beyond.
I wish I could have met Richard Feynman and I certainly want to read his other books.
If you're looking for something different and like biographies I can highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)