Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£8.54


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2010
Firstly, Superman: Brainiac is a very well written novel by Geoff Johns. There is a very good blend of both action and emotion in the story which keeps the other in check with neither more prominent than the other. I would recommend reading this story before going onto the Superman: New Krypton series, simply due to the fact that it leads perfectly into the latter.

At only 128 pages it doesn't take too long to read which is a shame as it is a very enthralling novel. The artwork is good as well which is a plus, I particularly liked the likeness of Christopher Reeve being used for Superman.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
Brainiac is out in the universe gobbling up cultures, destroying worlds and putting cities, like Krypton's Kandor, in bottles so Superman heads off to stop him once and for all.

Brainiac is the ultimate control freak/collector who lives only for his collection of bottled cities and collected knowledge. He's like an internet of one or, for Trekkies, the Borg. That makes him a pretty formidable opponent for Superman and Geoff Johns makes the most of it, showing Superman's limits when it comes to trying outsmart someone whose knowledge far surpasses his own.

It's a very well written and drawn book - artist Gary Frank draws Superman/Clark Kent exactly like Christopher Reeve so it's like reading a movie that never was and like the first two Reeve movies it's awesome (unlike the last two). There's a heartfelt epilogue to a character close to Superman who passes, that was done in wordless panels - a smart artistic choice as it felt like even the reader was kept at a distance from Superman's thoughts and personal grief.

"Superman: Brainiac" is an excellent Superman book and the best Johns book I've read yet. Any Superman fan would love reading this - highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2011
A great book, if a little short, seeing Superman face off against Brainiac. Brainiac is an interesting foe for the Man of Steel, it's always good to see Supes have to fight back from a disadvantage, in this case that the baddie is just so powerful at times. Artwork was great, and some shots clearly based on the Reeves/Kidder Clark/Lois, which is no bad thing IMO.

I enjoyed this more than "Last Son" but preferred "Red Son" and "Earth One".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
I bought this as a first graphic novel for my 9 year old son who, like most boys, is Superman mad. The artwork is stunning. I kind of want a copy for myself to sit securely on a shelf well out of the way of little hands. It's probably a little too graphic for him in some ways. Not so much with violence but with female curves on display...but it kind of goes over his head. He has read it and re read it many times. Can't recommend it highly enough...for boys of all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2009
'Superman: Brainiac' collects the next six issues of Action Comics following on from 'Superman and The Legion of Superheroes', making it volume 2 of Geoff Johns' long awaited run on the comic. the story is part of a reboot of Superman following Infinite Crisis and can be confusing if you watch too much of the animated series, or have only sporadically read superman comics up to this point.
Brainiac is partly a Coluan, partly a computer- Superman's faced off with him loads before- but has he really? he also now DOESN'T know about the bottle city of Kandor or the origins of Supergirl. so a few things different, just like LOSH, but Johns is good at exactly this- taking a familiar character and reinventing him and reinventing all his villians too. Superman so far isn't as good as his run on Green Lantern but that's irrelevent- his work is better than all other DC writers even on a bad day so who cares? the story has plenty of excellent cliffhangers and shocking revelations, great action pieces and, as you might expect from Johns, ties loads of his own work, in particular; 'Superman: Last Son' which he wrote with Richard Donner and which is often disregarded in terms of Superman cannon but the Zod and Ursa are the same ones from his origin story in Last Son without a doubt.
the artwork is again by Gary Frank, just as in LOSH, and again works perfectly with the open, simple storytelling. Frank draws superman to look a bit like Christopher Reeve as well (another nod to Richard Donner i think)and in this one i couldn't help but see a definite resemblance with his Lois to the original movie Lois.
overall an excellent addition to any Geoff Johns library but unfortunately makes you badly want the next one- New Krypton!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Great story it introduce Brainiac rather well enabling those with little knowledge of Supes to follow easily. The story is great the only downfall is its very short!! You can easily read it within an hour...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
A range of Superman tales ranging from the Golden Age of Comics right up to the present day. We can easily see the evolution of Brainiac throughout the ages ending up with the present day. Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
One of the best Superman books I have ever read, as part of the overall series or as a one off. If you love Superman you have already got it, but any comic book fan should have this brilliant book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 January 2010
This a great return for Geoff Johns to the Dc universe, and a graphic novel that i read in one sitting - and was totally gripped by.
As the title suggests, the story is all about Braniac and his attempts to catalogue and then destroy civilizations across the universe. There is a very nice piece at the start of the book that shows Braniacs stealing the city of Kandor (the famous bottle city)and is notable for the cameo of Zod, Ursa and Non from the first two Superman movies starring Christopher Reeve. Throughout the book there are numerous references to the Reeve films - Superman/Clark Kent is definitely based on the look and physique of Christopher Reeve, Lois Lane is definitely modelled on Margot Kidder and the writing is really quite snappy and punchy within the Daily Planet, in sharp contrast to Superman's story. I like this a lot - i always feel that the Superman series works best when the dual identities are kept separate. This captures the spirit of the first two Reeve films, and for me, this is one of the reasons i like this graphic novel so much. Remember in Superman 2 where Lois is constantly asking for orange juice.....'freshly squeezed'? That line makes a cameo in here and put a big grin on my face. And maybe that is the best thing about this book - it is actually enjoyable, and a pleasure to read this. There is plenty of action, a well thought out plot and plenty of subtle humour in it (Ron Troupe and Cat Grant appear for these snippets).
I won't go into detail on the main plot line, as it is best if you read it yourself. But i think this is a wise choice of enemy for Superman - as Braniac has always had the conviction and believability of a worthy opponent of the Man of Steel, and it opens up the storyline for the next series by Geoff Johns, which is entitled New Krypton.
For a while the Superman titles have struggled a bit to provide the fans with great entertainment, but this is probably the best title i have read in a while. It has everything you want from a Superman graphic novel - though the ending will make you relive one of Superman's darkest days.....
The artwork should get a mention too. It is very crisp and clear throughout, and is consistent right through the book whereas others have different styles, this is top notch from the first to the last page.
If you love the Superman comic books or the Christopher Reeve films then this is definitely for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Superman for all seasons is one of my favourite Supes book, however this one is better. The last pages are dramatically written and drawn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse