Superfunk Vol.2 has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Hausmusik
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Superfunk Vol.2

4.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

Price: £12.62 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
26 new from £8.19 4 used from £6.99
£12.62 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

  • Superfunk Vol.2
  • +
  • Superfunk Vol.1
  • +
  • Superfunk Vol.3
Total price: £36.03
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (26 Feb. 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ace
  • ASIN: B000056O5K
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Vinyl
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 163,761 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Brand New Girl - Billy Garner
  2. Jelly Roll - Granby Street Development
  3. Do It, Do It - Jackie Harris & The Exciters
  4. Put It Where You Want It - Pee Wee Crayton
  5. What You See Is What You Get - Brenda George
  6. The House That Jack Built - Thelma Jones
  7. Soul Strokes - Sidney Pinchback & The Schiller Street Gang
  8. Jaws - Johnny Otis
  9. Promised Land - Freddy Wilson
  10. You're Waisting My Time - Billy Garner
  11. Monkey In A Sack - Lil' Buck & The Top Cats
  12. Pass It On - Pieces Of Peace
  13. Put Your Legs Up High - Robert Lowe
  14. I Need Money - Ruth Davis
  15. Ignant - Harold Battiste
  16. Comin' At Ya Baby - The Johnny Otis Show
  17. Warm The Pot - Willard Burton & The Pacifiers
  18. Mr Big H - Joe Houston
  19. Funky Bongo - Preston Epps
  20. Dirty Ole Man - Irene Reid

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
A great collection of rare soul and funk from the late 60's and early 70's. Not the best in the series, but definitely worth buying. Stand out tracks are Billy Garner "Brand New Girl", Preston Epps "Funky Bongo", Irene Reid "Dirty Ole Man" and Lil Buck & The Top Cats "Monkey In A Sack".
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Superfunk Vol 2 is a collection of little known but great artists with a tipical french sound. The tunes on the albumn are all full length tracks and will appeal to anyone with an ear for the stomping grounds which made the likes of Larent Garniet famous. Check out track 2 'last dance at the copacabana' absolutely rockin. A must for any centurion worth his salt, buy it.
2 Comments 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9cce63e4) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9cfbdec4) out of 5 stars Outrageous, hot funky grooves 22 Mar. 2004
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I've been living with this CD for a week: every listen brings me to a new level of astonishment. Dean Rudland at BGP (Beat Goes Public) is phenomenal at putting together rare funk compilations, easily overshadowing Keb Darge's efforts at BBE (Barely Breaking Even) in my opinion. The disc opens with a smokin' Billy Garner (ala James Brown), backed by some incredible guitar work. JB could have used some guitar like this, it's relentless in its grooviness, and yet technically impressive.
Another highlight is the Pee Wee Crayton track, which apparently has never before been released. It's an instrumental with a strong melody, and some great sax and guitar solos. I love the tone of the electric bass on this track.
The track "Jelly Roll" is a lot of fun, while having a really heavy, deep funk jam with horn overlay.
The best tracks seemed to be weighted towards the front of this CD, but it's continues to please all the way through. Track 10 is another Billy Garner cut, and it just burns. Amazing this guy only released one 45 in his career (per the liner notes).
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d04e2dc) out of 5 stars Outstanding Rare Soul & Funk 3 Dec. 2014
By Donald E. Gilliland - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Man, this is a smoker of a funk and soul compilation, covering the years 1966-1976, and culled from a variety of labels, including Chicago's TwiNight, Westbound (and their sister label Eastbound), plus many more indie outfits. They may be obscure songs, but the quality is all very high!

As the other reviewer noted, Billy Garner only released one single 45, but thankfully both of those tracks --- and they are killer tunes --- are included on this CD. You have to wonder why Garner didn't record more, or maybe nobody has unearthed any other ones yet. Man, I hope there's more in a vault somethere. Yet another "no name" artist, Robert Lowe, has one of my favorite tracks on here, a nasty-funky gem titled "Put Your Legs Up High." I think you can figure that one out! Other highlights include Pee Wee Crayton's dynamic cover of the Crusaders' classic "Put It Where You Want It", Preston Epps's appropriately titled "Funky Bongo", and another James Brown influenced singer, Freddy Wilson, doing "Promised Land," a tune that J.B. himself would have killed for.

The mighty Johnny Otis has two tracks on here, "Jaws" (yes, inspired by the film that came out that same year" and ""Comin' At Ya Baby." Both are cool songs that feature his teenage guitar prodigy son, Shuggie Otis. Truly great stuff. A couple of female vocalists also impress; Thelma Jones with the Aretha-ish "The House That Jack Built" and Irene Reid doing "Dirty Old Man", a tune which reminds me a bit of vintage Betty Wright.

The CD comes with a booklet that includes comments about some --- but not all -- of the tracks, written by Dean Rudland, the compiler of this and other great soul/funk compilations. It would have been nice to have more information about some of these obscure recording artists, as well as song times, but the main thing is the music and on that count, this CD more than delivers. Truly a goldmine of vintage funky soul music, clocking in at close to 67 minutes.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?