Sunflower/Surf's Up has been added to your Basket
+ £1.76 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sunflower/Surf's Up Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered

4.6 out of 5 stars 59 customer reviews
Amazon's Choice recommends highly rated, well-priced products available to dispatch immediately.
Amazon's Choice for "beach boys surfs up"

Price: £6.49 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered, 14 Aug 2000
£5.12 £1.84
Only 11 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Amazon's The Beach Boys Store

Frequently bought together

  • Sunflower/Surf's Up
  • +
  • Friends / 20/20
  • +
  • Smiley Smile/Wild Honey
Total price: £18.97
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (14 Aug. 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Capitol/Brother
  • ASIN: B00004TJXS
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 59 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 20,887 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Slip On Through (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  2. This Whole World (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  3. Add Some Music To Your Day (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  4. Got To Know The Woman (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  5. Deirdre (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  6. It's About Time (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  7. Tears In The Morning (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  8. All I Wanna Do (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  9. Forever (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  10. Our Sweet Love (2000 Digital Remaster)
  11. At My Window (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  12. Cool, Cool Water (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  13. Don't Go Near The Water (2000 Digital Remaster)
  14. Long Promised Road (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  15. Take A Load Off Your Feet (24-Bit Remastered 00) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  16. Disney Girls (1957) (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  17. Student Demonstration Time (2000 Digital Remaster)
  18. Feel Flows (Digitally Remastered '00)
  19. Lookin' At Tomorrow (A Welfare Song) (24-Bit Remastered 00) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  20. A Day In The Life Of A Tree (24-Bit Remastered 00) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  21. 'Til I Die (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  22. Surf's Up (24-Bit Remastered 99) (2000 Digital Remaster)

Product description

Product Description

What a deal this is: two key Beach Boys albums on 2 CDs for the price of one! Sunflower (1970) marked a strong return to their mid-'60s form, with the rich harmonies of their hit Add Some Music to Your Day plus Cool, Cool Water and This Whole World. The eclectic, often-haunting Surf's Up (1971) includes the hit Long Promised Road plus the compelling title track and 'Til I Die.

Many reckon 1970's Sunflower to be amongst the Beach Boys' finest moments. Certainly, it has a maturity and consistency which belies the turmoil the Wilson brothers must have been feeling at the time--a bitter split with their label coincided with creative lynch-pin Brian Wilson's withdrawal from the spotlight. This is no Pet Sounds, however. Tracks such as "At My Window" and "Slip on Through" display an unseemly fondness for pop schmaltz, while "It's About Time" is Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On?" diluted. Dennis Wilson's rather beautiful "Forever" and the timeless "Tears In The Morning" go some way to rectifying the balance, though. 1971's Surf's Up, meanwhile, is a decidedly patchy affair. Dennis had mostly succumbed to his elder brother's demons, and tracks such as Mike Love's pseudo-political "Student Demonstration Time" are plain embarrassing. Meanwhile, proto-green politics take over in places. Fortunately, the album is saved by two incredible Brian Wilson songs: the brass-textured title track (one of the highlights of shelved Smile), and the morbid introspection of "Till I Die". This joint reissue included new liner notes by Wilson biographer Timothy White. --Jerry Thackray

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 59 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

18 March 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
22 August 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
9 January 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: surfs up

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?