Suk: Piano Music [Jonatha... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Suk: Piano Music [Jonathan Plowright] [Hyperion: CDA68198]

Price: £15.07 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 29 Jun 2018
£9.18 £9.82
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Frequently bought together

  • Suk: Piano Music [Jonathan Plowright] [Hyperion: CDA68198]
  • +
  • Rheinberger: Piano Concerto [Simon Callaghan; BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Ben Gernon] [Hyperion: CDA68225]
Total price: £29.87
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (29 Jun. 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hyperion
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 104,269 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Spring
  2. The Breeze
  3. Awaiting
  4. ***
  5. Longing
  6. At Noon
  7. Children at Play
  8. Evening Mood
  9. Song of Love
  10. Humoresque
  11. Recollections
  12. Idyll 1
  13. Idyll 2
  14. Dumka
  15. Capriccietto
  16. Legend
  17. Capriccio
  18. Romance
  19. Bagatelle
  20. Spring Idyll

Product description

Product Description

The early works of Josef Suk channel something of the same life-affirming Czech spirit also characteristic of Dvorák, his teacher and father-inlaw. Jonathan Plowright makes a persuasive case for a composer whose music is at last emerging from the shadows.


The CD opens with the joyful Spring and also includes three Summer impressions (first performed in Berlin by Artur Schnabel, who Suk described as one of the world's greatest pianists ) as well as the concluding five Moods - impressive pieces that are a delight to listen to yet place considerable demands on the performer. Pianist Jonathan Plowright here makes a persuasive case for a composer whose music is at last emerging from the shadows. --International Piano, July/August'18

Plowright's affection for this music is palpable at every turn and he's given a warmly immediate recording. Terrific notes from Jan Smaczny complete this veritable box of delights. --Gramophone, August'18

As is standard for Hyperion, the piano sound is crystal-clear and ambient. Plowright continues to enlighten piano lovers with lesser-known composers; we may count ourselves lucky for his efforts! --Pianist, August/September118

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
5.0 out of 5 starsGenerous, very fine recording of solo piano works of Josef Suk
16 September 2018 - Published on
One person found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?