Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2000
Suffer the Little Children: Very well researched with numerous personal accounts from former inmates of the Irish industrial school system. This book shows the startling level of physical and sexual abuse, starvation and neglect suffered by Irish children at the hands of the Catholic Church and the lack of protection offered by the government. Persuasive excuses offered by the system are carefully examined, one-by-one and are, through extensive research, exposed as misconceptions and myths. Well worth reading especially for those interested in Irish affairs, human rights or both.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2005
I had an auntie that was sent to one of these industrial schools that was mentioned in Dundalk around 1945/6. She only saw her father a few times and my mum would go and visit frequently, then they moved. I feel sick to the stomach that she obviously would have suffered as the rest of these unfortunate people did. This book is so well written, once you pick it up, you really cant put it down. The research that has been done is fantastic. I think it is right that the public get to know what went off by these animals that worked for god. I cant believe they looked down at these innocent children, they should be hung.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 February 2005
This is another book that is a must have read. Shocked me just as much as Fear of the collar did as well. Im just shocked that this was all happening behind closed doors and the likes of these people were allowed to get away with it. They are a disgrace to man kind.
God Bless all those that suffered at the hands of these wicked people.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2009
This book is an essential read for anyone wishing to understand the power of and corruption in ,the Catholic Church run industrial schools and magdalene laundaries in the last half of the 20th century. The harrowing stories related here are a testament for all time that instead of loving and caring for children the church abused and financially gained off their labour assisted by various governments of the time. This book will make some question their very own faith. It shows that when any organisation is given absolute power ,it abuses that power.However very little is said of the corrupt irish judiciary who sent the children to these places of hate. excellent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
This is really the beginner's guide to all that is evil in the Industrial School process in Ireland. If you cannot explain what happened, then this is your go-to guide to enlighten others. Detailed, logical, easily explained, shocking, heart rending and so outrageous that my mouth hung open.
If you do not want to miss the scandal of the century in Ireland then read this. The material (although now dated) is still as relevant as when first published.
Even after all the publicity, news articles, films, documentaries, radio interviews etc this book still offers the answers to the questions we all have when the dust has settled and we are left asking "why?"
This should be on the educational syllabus as a warning to all new states- in- the- making to remain as secular as possible.
Read it and gasp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
This is a disturbing but riveting book. It deals with the huge scale of child abuse in Irish institutions during much of the 20th century. This included dreadful sexual and physical abuse, emotional bullying and serious physical neglect. It was carried out mainly by members of Catholic religious orders. This book shows that the abuse was not secret - Irish society knew about it, but denied that knowledge to itself and didn't act to protect the thousands of children literally locked up in this incredible system.

This is the most enlightening and comprehensive telling of a child abuse system that I have ever read. I believe it is essential reading for anyone who cares about how societies fail to protect those who most need protection. While it primarily concerns Ireland, this book has a universal and widespread importance.

Brilliantly researched, this book presents a portrait of 20th century Ireland that will deflate any nostalgic or sentimental view of the so called 'Emerald Isle'. No leprechauns, shamrocks or harps in this book, but a history of cruelty, abuse and the misuse of power.

A `must read'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
Sad but true: the story of (mainly) children of single mothers, in Ireland, who were taken away from their mothers/families to be "raised" in (mostly) convent schools, the so-called industrial schools, run by various orders of the Catholic Church, where they were often starved, beaten regularly and forced to do hard labour.
This went on from 1868 until 1969!
Please also read: http://www.publishersweekly.com/978-0-8264-1337-6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Countless years of abuse beatings molestation and rape. Little to no education and then dumped on the streets on their sixteenth birthday. The very day the church could no longer charge the state for bringing them up. The most horrific book I have ever read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
A very good book gives readers an idea of what went on behind closed doors Mary Rafferty did a great job worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
The shocking revelations in this book regarding the Irish Industrial Schools can show what can happen when a body ( in this case the Catholic Church ) deems itself above the law of the land and in some ways you have to ask yourself does this still happen, yes it probably does and in places other than Ireland, we only have to look at our own Social Services.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse