Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2007
This is a great book full of really practical ideas about how to reach your goals through a system of analysis, planning and application. Although it focuses on how to achieve success in the sporting world, the concepts and charts could most certainly be adapted to support success in many other areas.

Jackie Wilkinson is an excellent coach and this book is a superb way to access her strong sense of focus, her tremendous clarity and systematic methods for improving performance and achieving success.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2008
This is a really brilliant concise book that will help you identify areas for improvement in a practical and natural way, for any sport whether you are very competiitve or simple enjoying a leisure pursuit. It has relevant practical examples and I found it bought some real insight into some key drivers for improvement, highly recommended, a great read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
This is an absolute gem of a book for anyone looking for a simple,
easy and effective way to improve performance. Its written in the
context of sport but the excellent concepts and ideas will work for any situation.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
This is a simple book, and that adds to its value. The author describes the measurement system she devised to monitor her progress. It is highly original, and could be adapted easily for just about any sport, or indeed any of our life goals.

In business we learn that if we can't measure something we can't manage it. The same is true in sport. If you use this system you will do both. You will also improve your results. Just the act of focussing on key performance metrics appears to bring improvement. Perhaps it's the law of attraction in action, quantum theory, or just concentrating effort in the most critical performance areas. As long as it works who cares?

I am pleased I bought this book, and recommend it to others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2008
This is an excellent book. It really helps to understand goal setting and techniques for analysis of periodic results. Although sport focused, much of the coaching techniques discussed can easily be transfered to other situations in both the workplace and social life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2009
This is a great book for all, not just for sports people at all levels but also a way at looking at every day life. I found it easy to read as well as being full of inspiring information. "If you do what you always did you will get what you always got", change your outlook and use this book. If you want to up your game this is a book that can help you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
Review from the legendary author of 'With Winning In Mind'

Jackie has made a significant observation concerning the need to be able to see many days of records at a glance. Her charts would be most helpful to any athlete to notice trends in training. Scores can be deceiving and I like the detail of her program. She has defined in a simple to use fashion a way to quickly see what the performer is really doing beyond just looking at score. I especially like the use of symbols to record levels of performance; stars, plus signs. Great idea. I feel Jackie has made an important advance to competitors by writing this book. Good job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
This book is a Must for all people involved with sport, a MUST for coaches, the value of this book relies on the simplicity of the charts clever design. The text is clear and well layed out. The example charts are clear and in a format easily adapted to personalise to ones own needs.The very best advantage of this book is that the participant does not have to read page after page of a diary, the reults are in the form of barcharts and using smple colours can reveal instant progressions through the chosen period. Jeffrey Deri Thompson - President Keswick Archers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
There is nothing new in this book after reading it, (which only takes about an hour) I was left amazed at the other reviews. It is just about a system of recording how you felt, the weather and how you trained etc, and it appears pointless. If you wonder how recording your efforts and results in field archery (which is easy) transfers to football, or rugby or any sport that is slightly difficult to monitor performance clearly, the answer is it simply does not. Do not waste your money !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2008
Just the sort of well written, concise and easy to read on the most important aspect of sporting excellence. I have given copies to many young sports people.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)