Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2014
.a v e Ryan significant part of Falkland War most foot soldiers even sailors in bomb alley were totally unaware of
it was not reported in daily press reports . Sir Peter made no mention of it in h I s memoirs As Specialists with knowledge of so m d unreported facts even I with my access to very Top Secret Information find books has filled some gaps in my knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Very informative and gave a different prospective on the Falkland from under the water. Emphasis how close the RN could have came to being defeated if subs had been used in a more effective way against the service fleet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I enjoyed the placing into context of the role of the Submarine.
Given this is one of the few true operational conflicts in which Nuclear Submarines have been involved, I am on one level surprised there has not been more coverage.
The book doesn't cover all aspects, such as rumours of US Subs on the Northern edge of the exclusion zone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Short review of the Argentine and UK naval strategy during the Falklands war. Format reminded me of programs on the history channels where the "facts" are presented, analysed and conclusions drawn after the event. Maybe OK for military reports but not great reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
A great essay on Submarine operations in the 1982 Falklands War.

Short sweet and to the point, illustrating that there were failing on both sides in submarine deployment, this is always easy to review after the event but a good read for all budding tacticians.

Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Harper's analysis is rather poor, at one point claiming that 11 out of 8 destroyers attached to the task force (and no that isn't a typo the maximum number of destroyers was 8) and an aircraft carrier were tied up to hunt a single SSK. This is also available free of charge elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
One of those occasions when I found I wasn't buying a book as much as a report. Not a long one. Moderately interesting. Interested to read an account by a dispassionate observer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
A commendable short summary of the facts available to the public at the time of writing. Recently de-classified information has overtaken the value of this pamphlet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Hindsight opinion how submarine operations should have been conducted, as per the text book. Does not consider individual acts of genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Although a bit brief it was interesting to look at this little know aspect of the conflict. With a number of facts new to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)