Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2001
Black and MacRaild have produced a book that has proved to be of immense use during the first year of my history degree. Studying History is an excellent text because the clear index and contents allow the reader to dip in and out to find relevant information when they need it. Each section provides an overview and explanation of the topic and the book also provides a bibliography of suggested reading. Some may find Studying History too basic and general, however this makes it an invaluable first-step. This book is much more accessable than others available especially Ludmilla Jordanova's History in Practice that is inaccessable and overly complex in structure.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2003
I had the pleasure of being taught by Don MacRaild at university, and this book is as vibrant, relevant and accessible as his lectures. Highly recommended for students, especially the sections on essay writing. Also offers a clear and concise overview of the discipline of History. A must!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
I ordered this book before started my BA History Of Modern Art, Design and Film, and it proved a great read before the course started. It gave me insight into HOW to get the best out of studying history, and it applies not only to Art but all history of all kind.

It gives you a great foundation on which to build your own approach to art history, it takes some reading but is simple enough and not so thick so its a good read before starting any history course. With this book firmly in the back of my mind I was prepared for the modules on my course and also jotted down some good angles to approach history from before you start.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
this is a fantastic and well laid out book that is bound to be of good use in my history degree, and which I believe would prove to be useful to anyone studying history at or above GCSE Level. It would also be an interesting book for anyone interested in the study of history generally, even if they do not currently study this subject. Overall - superb!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
Perfect for pre-University reading or as a reassuring reference book during an undergraduate History degree.

Explains concepts and terms clearly, with good examples of further reading etc. Goes through the various phases of Historical thought ('schools', methodologies etc)in a sensible, logical way that will give a very solid grounding for anyone looking to get a grasp of the wider subject of History and how/why it is studied.

Also has very clear, well-written guidance in separate section on 'how to write a Uni level History essay, prepare for exams etc'.

Very, very useful book for anyone about to start History at University - or thinking about doing so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. This book is excellent for anyone who is studying history. It is great to dip in and out of and is very up to date - covering the use of sources from the internet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Although it was helpful, it was in some ways patronising. However, it does discuss some very useful tips for the study of history. A must have for any potential history student!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Fantastic book. Covers history and historiography from a global multicultural perspective, not just British.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
Very pleased with order which was received in excellent time .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
exactly like how it was said it would be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse