Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
I will fully agree with all the reviews already posted, however I am really struggling to understand how this book is rated with 4 stars.

Spotted quite a few mistakes with a first quick read and as other reviewers have already commented i.e. units in loading, formulas, page 10: EC0, Eqn. 6.10b is 1.25Gk (1.35 x ξ=0.925) and not 1.15Gk etc.

It is more of an introductory book on the subject at an HND to Undergraduate level. The design examples are well presented but there are no references to BS-ENs and corresponding National Annexes whatsoever.

Omitted: loading/tributary areas for two-way slab design + design examples to EC2, continuous beam design (rectangular, T and/or L-Shaped) implementing moment distribution, unbraced columns, columns under bi-axial bending, pad, strip footings...and I won't carry on.

£30+ to learn how to: take down loads in rectangular one-way slabs and how to design: simply supported beams, one way slabs and braced short columns in RC design?

All in all, If revised and updated it can be a very good book. It's current format is very readable. I also found the masonry chapter interesting. It is definitely just an introductory book on Eurocodes/structural elements design with quite a few but just very basic worked examples to get you started.

In my opinion W.M.C. McKenzie's and Arya Chanakya's books are still the best books on the subject by quite some distance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Clear concise and simple as a guide
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
As a practising structural engineer I bought this book as an introduction to the design of structural elements to Eurocodes. With regard to this the book does deliver. Anybody with a good grounding using recent BS codes should have little difficulty making the transition to Eurocodes with the help of this book. Students of structural engineering will find this book essential reading. The book covers basic concepts and then proceeds to describe methods of designing common structural elements in all the main structural materials. The introduction to each chapter is clear and concise and the worked examples are well presented. The book does skip around some of the more common problems encountered in everyday practice, such as effective lengths of steel beams with different end conditions and the design of steel beams subject to destabilizing loads. Sections on torsion in concrete and steel beams and basic RC foundation design would also be a useful addition. In future I would also like to see additional material on the design of basic connections, particularly in steel and timber. Otherwise a useful addition to the bookshelf of students of structural engineering and practising structural/civil engineers.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
This book was recommended to me whilst i was studying a HNC at college and i must say that it is clearly presented and does provide a good footing in structural engineering.

My one main criticism is that there are a few mistakes in the book. For example, in the worked example on "Page 210 it says M = FL/8 = 338.9 x 6.0/8" when the correct value for F should be 388.9 instead of "338.9"! The example is then incorrect from there onwards.

I also noticed a units error on page 14 where it lists the unit weight of concrete to be "25kN/sq.m" when it should be per cubic metre. Whilst this is a minor one, i can still see how it would throw off someone who is only just getting to grips with the concepts.

I have noticed others along the way as well.

I must admit I consider this pretty poor - this book should have been rigorously checked by the authors when you consider how much they are charging for it!

All in all I urge anyone who reads this book to be vigilante for mistakes but I do stand by the fact that it does offer good, practical and simple to follow advice. I will take this book to university next year.
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
As a structural engineer about to get forced to use Eurocodes, I thought it may be useful to get a idiots guide to all the eurocodes, and this book does just that! My only critism of the book is although it does really good and clear basic examples, it does not refer to the specific clauses within the codes themselves, so formula just appear, and then you spend half the time flicking through the codes to find the relevent areas. In summary, a good book, worth having to get yourself familar with them, but in a professional sense, you spend longer searching for the relevent bit then using them.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
It's a very good and well laid out introduction to the Eurocodes. Because of it's readability and sound approach to examples it would be of much more benefit if the next edition included concrete foundation bases and some simple connection design in steel and timber.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Excellent book for civil engineering students helped me so much in 2nd year. My lecturer uses it. Best book found do far
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Very good book for detail design, elementary, for all engineers (civil and also mechanical) and designers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Best Book. Even lecturers reference it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Excellent book highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)