Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 2 December 2017
My 3 star rating mainly reflects the many unknowns around string theory rather than any criticism of this actual publication. In other words I doubt that any book on string theory can be worth more than say 3 stars. Were I a genius and the book called String Theory for Smart Asses I doubt that it could merit more than 3 stars. Given the current state of knowledge this book is probably as good as it gets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2017
Explains In Good Detail . But Not Over Brain Taxing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2012
If your scientific education is BBC's Horizon and/or Discovery Channel, with limited maths skills(like me), and you want to know more about string theory, then this is the book for you.
The author explains a really abstract theory (or theories, depending which way you look at it) in a simple and uncomplicated way and satisfied my curiousity with enough imformation. The book does make you think in an abstract way which is a good thing so long as you don't do too much of it in work because your boss might call it daydreaming (unless you're a theoretical physicist)!
Ironically, because Mr. Jones presents a well balanced view of the controversy surrounding string theory, he has stripped away the glitzy, graphically enhanced visuals of my aforementioned TV shows, and now I'm not so sure about the theory as a further understanding of nature. I now see these TV shows as propaganda from scientific/political lobbyists.
I don't think this was the author's intention but I do think the book has done a great job and has given me a more informed opinion on string theory and the confidence to question and debate it.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2012
A good summary of the progress of M-Theory/String Theory. It demonstrates the reasons string theory has arisen, explains the theory, and then looks at the possible implications. The book also examines the potential flaws of the theory, and looks at alternative theories.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2017
It's not the book's fault. It is an excellent summary of the principles and issues of string theory.

The problem is that scientists are in a dark room unable to look out.

It's a problem of their own making. String theory is an extraordinary achievement, as is the recognition of the ten-dimensional nature of the universe.

But scientists still don't understand time, the core energies that manifest as the hidden dimensions, the nature of awareness, the correspondence between the core energies/hidden dimensions and human awareness/the chakras.

The discussions of parallel universes and time-travel are both frustrating for being momentarily accurate then veering wide of the mark.

It will of course never occur to them that only three of the strings/dimension operate at above Planck length/below Planck frequency.

There's so much physicists could learn if only they'd ask - but they're too busy denigrating 'pseudo-science' even as they market their own.

A shame, but we'll get there in the end... just more slowly than we need to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2016
I felt this book was unable to convince me of the validity of string theory. Tweeting the standard model is more worthwhile. String theory is the "Emperor's new clothes" of physics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2013
there should be a prequel to this book, string theory for absolute dummies. A basic knowledge of modern particle physics is required to get the most from this book. A very interesting read, lots of good information, we are banging on the frontiers of science here, who knows what next?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2009
This is a good book if you have little background in college level physics. The author starts the story with a lot of history of contemporary and modern physics: string stuff only starts about half-way through. The background is good, however, and necessary, but if you're a physicist or have some knowledge of quantum theory and read this book for the meaty (equation) stuff - this is not the book for you. There's barely an equation in it - by design - but it's frustrating if you want to dabble in the math but aren't allowed to see it.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2013
I love the way the book is laid out, how it is written and most of all just the over-all content, string theory is a truly fascinating subject and im hoping to look a lot more into it. If you ask me its definitely worth the few days i waited for the order and my christmas money!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)