£9.79 + £1.26 UK delivery
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by chris26821
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Sold by: barneys_cds

Strange Brew

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £9.79
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Dispatched from and sold by chris26821.
2 new from £9.79 3 used from £7.99
£9.79 Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Dispatched from and sold by chris26821.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (6 Sept. 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: CLASSICAL
  • ASIN: B0002VQC40
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 285,739 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Satisfaction - Mary Wells
  2. Hold On I'm Comin' (edit) - Herbie Mann
  3. Knock On Wood - Ella Fitzgerald
  4. You Showed Me - Phil Moore, Jr
  5. My Girl Sloopy - Killer Joe
  6. Wicked Messenger - Marion Williams
  7. Whole Lotta Love - King Curtis & The Kingpins
  8. I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Ella Fitzgerald
  9. Willie & Laura Mae Jones - Clarence Carter
  10. Strange Brew - Arif Mardin
  11. I Thought I Knew You Well - Carmen McRae
  12. Blowin' In the Wind - Brother Jack McDuff
  13. Jumpin' Jack Flash - Ananda Shankar
  14. Sympathy For The Devil - Arif Mardin
  15. People Are Strange - Lea DeLaria
  16. My Girl - Rahsaan Roland Kirk
  17. Respect - The Freedom Sounds
  18. I Want You - Carmen McRae
  19. I Want You Back - Shirley Scott
  20. Walk On the Wild Side - Herbie Mann
  21. I Shall Be Released - Marion Williams
  22. Paint It Black - Johnny Harris

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
By no means are all the tracks on this album winners, but when they work they really work. The title track cover by Arif Marlin brings extra layers and funkiness to the original Cream track, whilst still maintaining the essence of the song.

Carmen McRae's cover of "I Thought I Knew You Well" is outstanding; enough to move you to tears with a vocal like a purer Amy Winehouse.

The stand out track however is Johnny Harris' Paint It Black. It's dramatic and epic and made me want to explore more of his work.

Like I said before not all tracks are good (Rolling Stones on the sitar anyone?) but all in all an interesting and different album, and definitely one for those with a soulful/funky taste who want to expand their collection.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x933397b0) out of 5 stars 1 review
HASH(0x942702a0) out of 5 stars Jazzy elixer for fans of classic pop-rock 18 Feb. 2013
By Teutonic Knight - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I heard one of these cut on a Jazz station late one night and it really caught my ear. The tune was a jazzy cover of the Rolling Stones' "Paint it Black." After checking the song list, I decided to buy the 22-track CD set due to several Stones' covers including "Jumpin' Jack Flash," Led Zeppelin's "Whole Lotta Love," and even some R&B Motown classics like "Respect." Overall, a very nice "weird and wonderful" collection of classic cuts, delivered with a refreshingly out-of-the-box style.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions