Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
130
4.3 out of 5 stars
Straight up
Format: Paperback|Change


on 9 June 2016
Didn't like this book, mainly because Dyer comes across a right prat.If youre a fan then maybe this might be your cup of tea. I come from the exact same place as him in Custom House and some of the stuff he talks about is rubbish, for instance he says he went to a certain secondary school and he talks of going to a different area where there could have been blokes wanting to cause a row.... but the school hes talking about is (and always was) a primary school, so obviously the ghost writer wasn't listening properly or Dyer is talking rubbish and making up stuff.
To me he comes across as a pathetic druggy. If you want a decent book try Danny Bakers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
very one sided!! he doesn't do or say anything wrong according to him.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
You either love him or hate him, but my family think he's quite a guy that Danny. It's a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Funny but also show that what you read in the papers is bull ! But he still sexy and hot as hell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2017
Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Typical Danny Dyer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 March 2016
Although Danny Dyer would never consider himself an author in the traditional sense, he does indeed have a way with words, as demonstrated in his recent book The World According to Danny Dyer: Life Lessons from the East End, which actually encouraged me to seek out this autobiography from six years ago.

In 'Straight Up', Danny takes his readers through a fast-paced journey from his eighties childhood in East London, to becoming one of Britain's best-known actors in many a Brit-flick. He introduces us to his family, of whom he obviously carries a lot of love for, writes about his relationship with childhood sweetheart Jo, who is still with today, and reveals all the things which he has experienced through fame, sharing some wonderful anecdotes about the famous people he's worked with along the way. The fights, the police encounters, affairs, excessive alcohol consumption, and drug use are all included, and I respect him for not sugar coating his language (I just wish I had a pound every time I read the 'F' or 'C' word), or trying to make himself come across as some kind of saint.

This is the story of an ordinary man from an ordinary background who became a household name, who doesn't attempt to portray himself as anything he isn't. Although there is much interest to be found in Danny's private life and the way he has felt about it at certain times, I also really enjoyed reading about what he truly thinks about some of the less notable (and there have been a few) movies that he's appeared in throughout his career, not to mention a few of his co-stars.

'Straight Up' is written in Danny's usual frank and straight forward style, just like he's sitting right next to you in a pub sharing stories. All the high and lows are laid bare, in what is a no holding back memoir, which will make you laugh out loud on more than just a few occasions. Like his new book, it's a very easy read, and illustrated with two sections of brilliant photographs, mostly from Danny's own private collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Quite an interesting read, especially listening to his approach to his work and its diversity. However, I was very disappointed there were so few scandals or shocking confessions as hinted at in the video that appears on this page! Just some stuff about drug taking.The way he goes on you think his life was all sex and drugs and rock and roll. I skipped the latter pages which are concerned with the production of his television series which didn't interest me at all. One word of warning, it clearly states "in my own words" - perhaps that should read "in me own words", well, he's very fond of three which begin with c,f and b respectively, so if you've young people around, don't leave it out on the coffee table. Worth a read though if you're a fan.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)