Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 9 January 2017
Super book if you're an 80s girl, who remembers all those years of films, music and celebrities fondly. Lots of surprise meetings and gossip along the way. I always knew I like Rob Lowe, super guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2017
Wow, hard to put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
Who knew the guy had so much of a brain as well as that look! Books and covers spring to mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
good book and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2017
Well written and enjoyable
You would have though it was Sam Seaborn himself as the author !

Thanks Rob for sharing your thoughts and life.

Am glad you live your wife and family. They will be proud of you for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2014
Rob Lowe's newest book, 'Love Life' was the first book of his I have read. I was surprised by the intelligent, insightful writing, and thought it an excellent book. I have just finished his first book, 'Stories I Only Tell My a Friends', and while it was good, his second book is far superior.

Rob Lowe started life in Ohio. He had a wonderful life until his father and mother divorced, and life became difficult. There was always enough food and clothes, but his mother became involved in a lifestyle of ultra cleanliness and strange health precautions. She married three times, and after the second marriage failed,she moved her sons to Malibu, California. This was the land of independence for Rob. At age 15, he had his first role as an actor, his best friends were the Sheen boys. As he grew older, his career took off, and we move along with him.

Rob talks about his career, his roles in films and television. We hear about the masters where he learned his craft of acting. We also hear about his love life, and what a life. Many girls, including Princess Stephanie of Monaco, Melissa Gilbert, and so many others. We also meet the true love of Rob's life, his wife, Sheryl. We hear about their romance and marriage, and then their two sons, Matthew and John Owen. One of the most interesting of stories is his life while acting in 'The West Wing'. It sounds like he got a bad deal, but he enjoyed his time while there.

Rob Lowe shares a lot of his life, glosses over the negative aspects, and concentrates on the positive. The Brat Pack makes good.

Recommended. 04-23-14
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 May 2011
This is a well written and very interesting autobiography, which is also a thoughtful exploration of the pitfalls of early and rapid fame and the associated difficulties with staying grounded. The title of this book is appropriate because it often reads like a collection of entertaining stories, but it's pulled together so well that it never feels disjointed.

Rob Lowe emerges as a kind of Forrest Gump character, with connections to many famous people or events over the past thirty years. He gives JFK Jnr the encouragement that he needs to get married, visits the set of an eccentric movie that he thinks has promise (the first Star Wars), hangs out with Presidential candidates, even sits next to the 9/11 hijackers on their rehearsal flight.

The book is crammed with amusing anecdotes and recollections of a massive array of stars. Tom Cruise impresses Rob early with his robotic, intense but friendly personality. Bill Murray randomly invites him to hang out in his hotel room. Daryl Hannah shows up as a nineteen year old virgin who is saving herself for Jackson Browne (a man she has never met). John Belushi warns him to keep out of nightclubs. A youthful Charlie Sheen is a conspiracy-theory freak who sometimes wears a bulletproof vest under his clothes to school. There are even walk ons by Hollywood legends like Cary Grant - who plies Rob with aftershave - and Frank Sinatra.

Rob is selective with what he discloses and if you're looking for smutty revelations you will be largely disappointed. While he certainly doesn't hide the fact that he well and truly indulged in women, alcohol and drugs, nor does he spill any graphic details. Towards the end when he talks about his time on The West Wing, you also feel that he's holding back a lot about how things really went down.

So many of Lowe's early co-stars went on to become huge stars: Tom Cruise, Demi Moore, Patrick Swayze. Rob talks about the difficulties in plotting a Hollywood career, the roles he missed out on and the mistakes that he made along the way, in a way that's both honest and lacking in self-pity. It's clear that while he's never commanded the respect that he so yearned for, that he has found peace with where he's now at. At one point he wryly comments, "no one is likely to take a nineteen year old as pretty as I was seriously".

I found this book highly readable but also surprisingly thought provoking. I recommend it.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2011
If you have got as far as checking reviews for this book I assume you're something of a Rob Lowe fan and know much of the life story. So am I. I don't usually read autobiographies, as I tend to be disappointed that they don't live up to my (perhaps unreasonable!) expectations of that person. In this case, the book surpassed them.

As an 80s teen with the St Elmo's "sax poster" on my wall, I had a crush on Rob Lowe. On reading this book, I found myself feeling an echo of the same symptoms again(!), but for different reasons. His honest, highly intelligent, self-deprecating account of his life reads like it is written by a man who knows he has been exceptionally fortunate in many respects and values this and his family above all. I won't pull any spoilers, but will say that the book is a charmingly candid account of a sometimes difficult life and up-and-down career, and feels relatively free of the legal gagging you sometimes get a sense of in autobiographies.

At times, it reads like a roll-call of Hollywood's finest from the 80s but in an engaging rather than arrogant way. At others, there is stark honesty, for example about alcohol issues and dealing with fame and all its pros and cons at such a young age. If I have any criticism, it is that the most recent years of his life are given less focus and in some ways skimmed over (being in the UK I would like to have had more than a short paragraph on his stint here in theatre, perhaps), but that is relatively minor.

In short, it is a riveting read and highly recommended. And I can't help thinking there are a few more stories that couldn't be included that would be fascinating to hear...
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)