Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 January 2013
Compared to the brilliant 'The Millionaire Next Door', this book is a big disappointment and offers no further insights. After a while, the book becomes boring as example after example champions the frugal lifestyle.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2014
A book that will change your perspective about the true rich, and those who merely 'appear' rich aka posers. The author provides plenty of data and research to elaborate his main points, which gives them much more weight compared to similar books that discuss the rich.

Although US centric, I believe the book is an apt overview of the current state of affairs here in the UK. Too many people in serious debt 'keeping up with the Jones' with the appearance of wealth, yet asset poor and struggling to keep on the treadmill.

Despite my positivity and high rating of this book, I would be much more inclined to recommend 'The Millionaire Next Door' (by the same author). I found that much of this book was simply a re-hash of that book.

The biggest premise you can take away from this book is: Generally, people who act rich, aren't, and people who really are rich, don't act it. The rich tend to live well below their means, in non-suspect neighbourhoods with modest belonging.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2009
I had read all Dr Stanley's books before reading this one, and was rather disappointed by 'Stop Acting Rich". In it, the author runs through various categories of expenditure which he feels are wasteful, e.g expensive spirits, wines, expensive cars. I felt that his personal prejudices showed through rather, and my own indicate that the $400 odd he spent on a shotgun was a horrible waste of money!

Dr Stanley seems to suggest that there are two choices; either extreme, and virtuous, frugality, which will lead to wealth, or conspicuous consumption for purely status related reasons.

Surely a more thoughtful approach would have looked at how one might prioritise spending based on one's own values and interests, rather than this stark choice?
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2014
Good content but doesn't provide much more in the way of information beyond "A Millionaire Next Door" not bad though
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2014
I really liked this book because it got me thinking about how to manage my way of spending. Well worth a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2017
Excellent Product and Service ......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2016
Excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2014
Very good quality product. Fairly priced. Good value for money is what I always demand. What more could one ask for? Absolutely fabulous reading for anyone interested in learning about money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)