Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 8 October 2009
Expensive for a piece of moulded plastic, I suppose, but you're also paying for the design and engineering and quality. It fits perfectly, even after hundreds of on-offs, and does what it claims to do, i.e. give you a soft light source. It is a rigid piece of plastic that fits around the flash head precisely, and from my experience will last a lot of use.
One thing: it will not give you modelling or shadows (using bouce flash will be better in this respect, but that may have colour temperature pay-offs), so the results may be rather flat unless you use a slave flash. I haven't found the reduction in flash power (using a Nikon SB 600 with TTL on a D90) a problem: exposures were still accurate, and any extra flash power simply meant I had to change the rechargeable batteries a bit earlier, though not so you'd notice.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 June 2011
Great little translucent plastic end piece for an SB600 - fits like a glove and helps disperse the light and diffuse the light when using flash on portraits and closer subjects. Really helps to give a softer light.

You do have to bear in mind that it is only an end cap - for much more light dispersal you need to get an umbrella or start bouncing the light off other surfaces.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2013
I am an enthusiast not a pro and I wanted to use my camera in some challenging situations so I got a flash and thought job done. No matter how technically good a flash unit is if you don't have a surface to bounce the light off then you get harsh shadows and and a flat ugly picture. I didn't hold out much hope for this cheap little add on but my god is it good!!! Even with the flash pointed directly at your subject you loose allot of the hardness and get a more even tone. Don't hesitate this little guy is not a nice to have it's essential. For this price you can't afford not to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2013
This flash softener works well with the camera in TTL metering mode and softens the flash nicely, giving good illumination. Maximum range of the flash is shortened considerably, but for long distance flash you can easily slip this off the flash. Good secure fit. When attached to the SB600 flash, the flash still fits in the original case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2009
This works a treat for portraits / groups etc.. I was having real problems with the flash causing people to blink, this diffuser makes the flash significantly less harsh without dulling the overall image. You can't always bounce things from the ceilings - this is a really useful weapon in the kit bag.
Delivered in a couple of days
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2014
This works with my Olympus FL-36-R lens just fine, making the light from the unit seem a little less intense. It's a little expensive for what is effectively moulded plastic, but other than that no grumbles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2013
Bought for my Fuji EF42 Flash unit , good quality, nice tight fit, wont fall of in a hurry. Instructions seem a tad vague says not recommended for straight ahead shooting, can't think why not, it is perfectly ok!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2013
This diffuser works very very well and provides subtle and even lighting with a strong flash unit, but my word is it expensive for what you get. I'm sure there are cheaper alternatives that work as well! Look around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2014
Good product, great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2012
Works well but very expensive for a small piece of white plastic .Not much else can be said about it .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)