Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2015
Fantastically gothic childrens book. A good read for 8-12s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Stitch Head was mad scientist Erasmus' very first Frankenstein-style creation. He and the boy scientist promised to be friends forever. But Erasmus grew up, went on to create more and bigger and wilder creatures, and forgot about Stitch Head. Now, Stitch Head wanders the Castle, uses his own skills to turn Erasmus' terrible creatures into calm and mild monsters, and pines for the old days and his creator/friend.

So, this is sort of like the thinking kid's monster story. There is a spooky castle, a mad scientist, terrifying (comical) creatures, conflict, drama, odd smells and threats galore. But, as a tale of lost friendships, new friendships, moving on from disappointment, becoming independent and rising to the occasion this book presents, subtly and lightly, many moments of real depth.

It's not just farts and drooling monsters; it's not some heavy-handed message book; it's not cutesy; it's never tone-deaf - it's just cheerful, sad, entertaining, involving, and way better than it should be. And it is one of the few books for this age group, at least that I've read lately, in which the illustrations have their own independent charm and nicely complement the narrative. The result is that the whole enterprise is imbued with real cheer and good humor.

And as an added bonus, the characters include a totally kick-butt heroine who arrives half way through, a sneaky villain, a charmingly inept and yet insightful creature sidekick, and some real dramatic suspense. There are also a bunch of sly jokes for the adult reader to help keep mom or dad entertained if they read this along with the kids.

So, well worth a look as a slightly advanced chapter book type read.

Please note that I received a free advance ecopy of this book in exchange for a candid review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to the author or the publisher of this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Read this with my son who is 10. It is a good story with a happy ending. The creatures are all loveable and funny with it. A child's version of Frankenstein.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2013
titch Head carries on the fine tradition of Dinkin, where Dinkin was more a character that the reader laughed at for his silly fear of everything. Stitch Head is a much more sympathetic character, one that you actually feel sorry for and really care for. Despite being ignored by his creator, he still remains unwaveringly faithful to him. This gives him an almost sad little puppy vibe about him.

However don't fret, this isn't a sad story, yes there is a sad emotional core to the story, but Guy Bass surrounds this heart with layers upon layers of witty writing, tongue and cheek humour, and a great deal of excitement. To create a truly wonderful book. This is one of the finest books I have read this year.

It is the perfect sort of book for Dads to read to their kids. I guarantee that the dads will get as much enjoyment from this fantastic piece of literature than their kids will. Just be warned there is a bylaw that states all Dads must do silly voices for all the characters when reading this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
I am surprised that this little gem of a book has not had more reviews yet because once started, any avid reader(that is children and the adults reading to them)and lover of mysteries,the Gothic with a touch of the Frankensteinesque, will love this book. The characters, the setting, the humour, all with a subtle morality behind it will soon capture young minds and older minds alike.

The main character Stitch Head, lovingly illustrated on the cover and throughout the book, reminds the reader of a Frankenstein's creation without the theme of revenge driving him. In fact, he is what Frankenstein's monster could have been had the rejection of his creator not had such a profound effect on him. Stitch Head shows loyalty, dedication and ingenuity in the face of rejection and loneliness. He is on a mission - to protect his creator from his ever more dangerous creations (and possibly himself) and from the potentially hostile intentions of the villagers living just outside the castle walls whose suspicions about the place might be raised at any moment with disastrous consequences. He really has his work cut out one day, when his master creates yet another dangerous monster which he needs to try and turn peaceful with his cleverly concocted potions. And if that is not enough, there is also a knock on the door from the director of a travelling circus, called Freakfinder, on the hunt for ever more 'weird and terrifying' creatures for his monstrous show. How is Stitch Head going to save the day, the castle, the monsters, his creator and himself?

The style of the novel appeals to a sense of humour and manages to tuck on the heart strings at the same time. Each chapter starts with a witty rhyme, foreshadowing some of the events to follow. The language is richly enhanced by dialogue, alliteration, similes and a wide range of invented words (so typical of all of Guy Bass's work), making the events truly come to live and challenging young minds' sense for words.

The illustrations are enhancing the Gothic style with each page designed like an 'old' document, frayed edges, scorched, crumpled and cracked pages, perfect for the genre. The chapter openings are designed like novels of the 18th or 19th century, again reminding of the Frankenstein theme. However, there are also echoes of Tim Burton's Coraline or the film '9' in this, lending the entire story a special 'charm' and excitement.

I am reading this to my reading advanced 6 year old who loves fantasy and mystery stories and all other books by Guy Bass. But it is probably aimed more at 9 and over but adults will most definitely see the appeal in it too. So give it a try; you will not regret it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Stitch Head is a new gothic children's novel similar in style to The Raven Mysteries and Undead Ed, and is the first book by Guy Bass that I've read. It's funny and kooky, while at the same time heartfelt without being mushy. It's also full of monsters, castles and mad scientists - what more could you want?!

Stitch Head is about a tiny boy who was Professor Erasmus's first ever creation. Erasmus makes all kinds of monsters with multiple limbs or missing eyes, and he does all this within the walls of Castle Grotteskew in the town of Grubbers Nubbin (population: 665). Poor little Stitch Head has been forgotten by the professor, so spends all his time roaming the castle ensuring that no new monsters eat anyone. Nothing changes for him until Fulbert Freakfinder's Travelling Carnival of Unnatural Wonders arrives in town and offers to make him unforgettable. Things don't go quite to plan, though, and Stitch Head finds himself on a very big adventure for a boy his size!

I loved this book right from page one. Stitch Head is a character right up my street: he's flawed, tiny and very, very brave. I felt really sorry for him and his loneliness within Castle Grotteskew, and I was glad when he made friends with a new creation called Creature. Over the course of this book, Stitch Head realises how important friendship is and how forty years of being a cobweb magnet doesn't mean he can't go out and almost-live. Aww!

My favourite children's illustrator, Pete Williamson, is a huge part of this book, and he makes Stitch Head and the other characters and settings come alive. He's made Stitch Head look like a cute, tiny boy that gets clothing tips from Dennis the Menace, while Castle Grotteskew looks super gothic as it looms over the town. He and Guy Bass make a great team, so much so that I'm very much looking forward to the next Stitch Head book. This series is definitely one for fans of The Raven Mysteries and Scream Street - it's dark, monstrous fun!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Wonderful characters and plot. A must read for children and grown-ups alike. Laugh out loud and emotive, you will read this in one sitting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
It is really sad that Stitch head doesn't have a friend yet but at the end his master, makes a mad creation that tries to wreck the place up. Fortunately for professor E (Stitch heads master), Stitch head cures the monster and it becomes his friend.
I found this book really exciting, and because there are only two books so far I'd like to introduce a book of my own called "Stitch head meets another friend" where Stitch head meets an identical friend from a different dimension.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Brilliant granddaughter would love more on kindle soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
Stitch Head is a scaryish book. The enemy is called Freakfinder and Stitch Head's friend is called The Creature. The aim of the story is Freakfinder trying to takeover castle Gotteskew and capture Stitch Head's professor. The thing I think they could improve on is giving the story a better ending.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse