Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Double Loop Vinyl Coated|Change
Price:£10.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2014
I bought this cable as a replacement for my Kryptonite cable that came with my lock. The only thing I use it for is to secure the quick release wheels on my bike.

I have a major grievance with this cable. I'll be honest, it's a massive pain in the ***. It's very tightly coiled - if you straighten it out, it coils back into the position in the photo. This makes it considerably more difficult to use the cable. It's so tightly coiled that to get it stretched out is difficult and it actively makes it harder to pass the cable between the spokes. You'll get it halfway through and you'll be trying to hold both ends of the cable with one hand and the lock with the other.. and it snags against the spokes.. AGHH.. and you can completely forget about doing the trick where you thread the thread the eyelet though another eyelet. Far more trouble than it's worth on this cable. Ignore my advice at your peril.

On the plus side, it's thicker than the Kryptonite, it does the job, and it's easy to store. I'd rather have it than no cable. But if you are planning to use it for the same thing as me, save yourself a TON of headache and just get something else.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Good replacement for what originally came with my Magnum lock, please be aware this on its own is not sufficient to protect a bike, it is simply a way to deter thieves from taking your front wheel.

In conjunction with a Sold Secure lock, I would recommend wrapping this around your front wheel and frame, then around something which is solidly in the ground, put one of the loops through the opening on the other loop and pull it to your sold secure lock, then put your Sold Secure lock through that loop to secure your front wheel to your frame.

This will not stop the best of thieves, but will put off any opportunists.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
This cable is great. It is very thick and the plastic coating has withstood use as a bike cable. It is plenty long enough for most uses including through both bike wheels and the frame. It can be a bit awkward when trying to pull it out straight but the fact that it coils itself means that it is easy to transport. It doesn't have a lock with it but you can be sure that the cable wont be the weak part of any assembly. When someone tried to cut the cable they only managed to cut through the outer coating and not the cable.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
I am quite pleased with this Cable so far, it springs back after use which is handy, feels very sturdy and You can put it through the spokes in the wheels quite easily And wraparound things, I got a nice strong Lock to go with it, Very versatile It arrived quickly very pleased that the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
Bought this for about £10. I use it to extend the reach of my d lock for my new motorbike. I have to say it seems well made and for the price is great though it is not quite as chunky and secure as I had thought from the pictures. The length is just right though to allow for securing my bike to street furniture where possible. I would recommend it for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Order two of these steel cables arrived when they said they would. - They appear to be heavy weight and I guess the test will be if anyone tries to cut or force them. Hopefully that will not be the case.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This Vinyl Coated Steel Cable is very strong which gives you the confort in using for increasing of your personal staff security. Recomand to everybody.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
very pleased with this purchase would recommend it to anyone, this was bought as i needed to extend away from my present ground anchor,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Well made, very sturdy and it looks impressive strong. I am using it quite a bit to secure Thule Base and I am very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
This is a strong chain.
I'm using it to keep my bicycle secured on my back yard.
Fits perfectly my U-Lock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)