Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £1.49
includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

A Step In Time by [Barrett, Kerry]
Kindle App Ad

A Step In Time Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 33 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£1.49

Length: 336 pages Word Wise: Enabled

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1939 KB
  • Print Length: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Carina (19 Oct. 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B013L2OJLE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 33 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #22,039 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a funny and romantic story but it's too predictable and short
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Nice enough An easy read, with nice predictable characters, I was actually surprised at how "smooth" everything went. The basis were there to make it more interesting, but in fact the plot just calmly plodded along.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
This was a really enjoyable, funny read. It features a show based on Strictly Come Dancing which is currently on TV, making it extremely relevant.

Amy Lavender is instantly recognisable as being similar to more than a few 'celebrities' over the years. She makes a mistake, one which is caught on camera, and suffers professionally as a result. In order to try and gain her 'celebrity' status once more she is forced to take part in reality tv.

In order to achieve her goals Amy has to do things she really shouldn't, and at the same time learn to dance when she has two left feet. Misunderstandings ensue and she finds herself doubting her own decisions. But are they her decisions, or ones she has been forced to make?

I loved the character of Cora, Amy's upstairs neighbour. When Amy meets Cora she instantly bonds with her. Cora is able to help Amy in ways she couldn't have imagined. And, in a way, Amy repays that favour to Cora right at the end of the story.

The story becomes something more than Amy's as we begin to learn more about Cora's early life and what brought her to make the decisions which dictated how her life ended up. Cora's story is my favourite part of the book. Don't get me wrong, the book as a whole is a great read, Amy's antics are very funny, and her story is a good one. But Cora's story helped make this book, for me at least, what it is.

I recommend this book to fans of Strictly, and also to anyone who wants a feel good story with so much more depth to it than some I have read.

Many thanks to Netgalley and Carina for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
A Step in Time is a funny, heartwarming read. It is perfect for fans of Strictly Come Dancing and for anyone who loves a sweet romance with main characters that you'll want as your best friends and / or dance teachers. The story made me laugh, cry and want to put on my dancing shoes!

Kerry Barrett is a seriously talented writer with a lovely, warm author voice and the ability to completely immerse the reader in her engaging prose.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I absolutely love this book. Set in London against a Strictly backdrop it is as gorgeous as a perfectly performed American Smooth. This book literally has it all. What started out as a quick peek lasted a lot longer because I was hooked from the first page and couldn't put it down. This is a book about living life to the full, following your dreams and being true to yourself whilst empathising with others.

Just like Amy there is far more to this book than glitter and sparkle. Another story runs throughout the book; Cora's story. Cora now in her nineties lost the man she loved at the end of war. It is the combination of both of these stories set against the Strictly glitter and glamour which gives it depth and makes this book so magical.

On the outside Amy seems to have it all. A buffed boyfriend, celebrating lifestyle and a good part in a soap. Amy has always loved acting but as she finds herself drawn more and more into the celebrity lifestyle she loses contact with her dream of being a serious actress. I really liked Amy she was so easy to emphasise with. Amy has two left feet but when she loses both her boyfriend and her job she accepts a place on Strictly. With no job and nowhere to live she acquires a low rent apartment agreeing to keep an eye on the old lady upstairs. Amy is walking disaster but there is more to Amy than meets the eye. Partnered with the equally buffed Patrick a love triangle of sorts emerges.

This is my first Kerry Bennet but it is so well written with a great plot, easy dialogue and well developed characters that I will be looking for more by this author.

There aren't enough stars for this fun, deeper than expected witty and relaxing read.
Highly recommended.

(Review copy gratefully received from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.)
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The second I saw the stunning cover for this book revealed, I knew it would be one I wanted to read. My first thoughts of the title were of the Mary Poppins song "Step In Time" but thankfully I didn't have it running in my head as I read this.

A Step in Time is definitely a book for fans of Strictly Come Dancing, or other ballroom dance TV shows, and even if you aren't, like me, I was still able to enjoy the story, and wished I knew more about the various ballroom dances, to picture them fully as I read this.

After a public brawl with the reality TV star seen kissing Amy's almost fiancee, Amy is in public disgrace, and her soap opera drops her, and all the endorsements she had start drying up. Amy's only option according to her agent Babs, is to take part and preferably win a reality TV competition.

The problem is the only one that Babs can get Amy on is Strictly Stars Dancing, and Amy has two left feet. Added to the fact there may have been a slight incident with her dance partner the night before they are paired up, and Amy is off to a rocky start to repair her career.

Although Amy's story is light hearted and fun and by itself would have made an enjoyable book, but possibly lacking substance.. we are also treated to Cora's story. Cora is the older lady in the apartment above the one Amy has to move into. Amy has agreed to keep an eye on Cora, but if anything its the other way around, as Cora takes Amy under her wing.

In turn we learn about Cora, and her war time romance, which is really bittersweet. Cora is an elegant and wonderful character and also used to teach dance, so helps Amy a lot.

I really enjoyed seeing Amy's interactions with Cora, Patrick her dance partner, Matty the ex-boyfriend, as well as Cora's best friend.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover