+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by smeggy67
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Vg+ disc. Posted each working day from UK.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Step Across The Border Soundtrack

Price: £19.18 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Soundtrack, 27 Jan 2003
"Please retry"
£14.91 £7.20
Vinyl, Import
"Please retry"
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
6 new from £14.91 2 used from £7.20

46F6728FA2E69FT7 NOW 97 out now
£19.18 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Fred Frith Store

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sparrow Song
  2. Voice Of America, Part III
  3. Selluloid Restaurant/The Old Man Puts Out The Fire
  4. After Dinner
  5. Houston Street
  6. Drum Factory
  7. Regardless Of Rain
  8. Candy Machine
  9. Romanisches Cafe
  10. The Border
  11. Nirvana Again
  12. Scottish Roppongi
  13. Norrgarden Nyvla
  14. Birds
  15. The As Usual Dance Towards The Other Flight To What Is Not, Part 3
  16. Williamsburg Bridge
  17. Same Old Me/Williamsburg Bridge Reprise
  18. The As Usual Dance Towards The Other Flight To What Is Not, Part 7
  19. Lost And Found
  20. Nine By Nine
  21. Evolution
  22. Union Square
  23. Morning Song
  24. Voice Of America, Part IV
  25. Too Much Too Little
  26. Too Late

Product description

Product description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

BBC Review

Written as a dance piece and recorded in December 1995 and January 1996, this collection of eleven tracks celebrates Frith's compositional and conceptual genius as much as his chops.

Playing all instruments (keyboards, guitars, violin) himself, and adding bits of vocal weirdness, sampling and processing, Frith favours odd sonic textures and combinations and subtle rhythmic variation rather than any display of virtuosity or even conventional playing.

Speaking of this dance commission, Frith has indicated that he set out to incorporate random events, i.e., accidents, into the compositions (hence the title), but the chance elements are always integrated into the overall concept or shape of the various selections, and there is nothing careless about Frith's results.

A number of sonic themes emerge as the music on this CD unfolds. Perhaps the most striking and consistent thread is Frith's use of short melodic progressions made up of harsh metallic shards, bursts and slashes of distorted and/or detuned guitar, particularly in "hit and run," "their blood is black and yellow" and "incoming."

These sounds are often fascinating in and of themselves, but are ultimately even more fascinating for the way they seemingly change order and duration each time around. Frith is a far more aggressive composer than Morton Feldman, and superficially not at all the same, but he has borrowed Feldman's trick of altering repetitive elements almost subliminally, so that the listener never gets lost, but is also never quite sure of his or her bearings.

On other tracks, and sometimes in conjunction with the slashing guitar progressions, Frith uses "random radio tuning" or sampled recordings of

demonstrations, and the stuttering, sputtering texts seem to be struggling for coherence as the listener tries to incorporate them into their larger musical frameworks. The short "gatto nero" is a particularly effective example of order trying to evolve out of chaos, and Frith adds a rather jaunty violin accompaniment during the last half of the piece, almost as if providing encouragement.

On several other tracks, Frith uses a kind of vocalese, i.e., mouth noises, in the manner of Jaap Blonk or Phil Minton (one of these tracks, "absinthe memories," is even dedicated to Minton), producing an uninterrupted series of hisses, pops, clicks, gargles, gasps, wheezes and snorts which suggest both a pure appreciation of sound shapes and textures, and a struggle for articulation and meaning.Too much of this might have turned into an endurance contest for the listener, but it works well in the overall mix.

Frith also makes good use of ambient, somewhat sepulchral organ drones throughout (usually in combination with other elements), and he throws the listener a substantial curve on "fooled again" (maybe that's the point of the song title?) which is an unexpectedly gorgeous Baroque-flavored composition played by what sounds like treated reverb guitar and/or violin.

It's fairly standard practice for dance companies to commission "new music" composers to write (and sometimes perform) material for dance performances, and nearly all such work has moments of purely musical interest. But none that I can remember leaves such a strong overall impression as this one. Accidental is a real tribute to Frith's imaginative faculties. --Bill Tilland

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: fred frith