Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
12
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2013
Given Christoper Booker's theory of Seven Basic Plots, it is difficult to tell a story that hasn't already been told. However, this book goes a little further in suggesting how existing stories can be adaped into new works. All writers need to be conscious of plagiarism, but basic ideas cannot be copyrighted and so a writer casting round for inspiration can start off with an unoriginal idea and develop the idea into his/her own story by creating different details. Very helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
A good purchase. Succinct and packed with ideas. However, I bought the kindle version and the publishers don't seem to understand e-publishing! It has the tiniest font you can imagine and I had to increase my kindle font size by three to read it; then if I read any of my other books I have to decrease it again. What a pain! Didn't they test it first? Other than that it's a good book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
As someone who is writing her first novel, I have struggled to be creative enough to keep my plot flowing. This book is full of tons of really good ideas for 'stealing' (actually adapting) ideas from existing storylines. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Some excellent ideas for using your own slant on existing plot ideas to generate completely new scenarios. I know there are many other books which tell you there's only a finite number of plots, but this is so much more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
This is well worth a look. As it is accepted that there are only so many plots anyway, the theme is not new, yet this title covers the subject thoroughly and entertainingly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Found this to be very easy to read with straight forward ideas and suggestions, everything you could need to get you started or to help you get past writers block .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Good overview of the main themes of plot and what he calls spicers they go with. Nice clear piece on where you stand with libel and ©.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
I am still reading this yet not far off the end so far found it very interesting and enlightening I would recommend it. From GHP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
An interesting read. It illustrates the old saying that there are no new stories, just the same basic stories recycled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
Very interesting and helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here