Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £1.49
includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Staying Away at Christmas (Short Story) by [Fforde, Katie]
Kindle App Ad

Staying Away at Christmas (Short Story) Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 182 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£1.49

Length: 49 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 378 KB
  • Print Length: 49 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone Digital (6 Dec. 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00AILBHLW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 182 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #64,664 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
This is a short but sweet Christmas read focussing on two families that end up booked into the same cottage for Christmas. It's classic Katie Fforde with lovely characters and a hint of romance. The story takes place at Christmas with lots of traditional Christmas elements to it and it definitely left me with a warm festive glow. I really hope Katie decides to revisit these characters in a future full length novel as I 'd love to know more about them and what happens next!
Comment 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I have all Katie Fforde's books and have read them all several times. Her books are warm, funny, and flow beautifully, so when I saw this short story was available to download, I had to have it. I'm not going to write about the plot but its a real treat - particularly for fans of Katie or Christmas stories.

For me there's only one downside. I would far, far rather pay £2.99 for a physical book (even though it would only be tiny), than 84p for a download.
Comment 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a short little chirstmas story and I loved it. The characters are lovely and the christmas scene is set lovely with a bit of romance thrown in. I do hope that Katie does a follow up book on the two characters as it would be nice to see how things pan out between them.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I thought the story was ok, but not one of Katie's best, and I'm a big fan. The printing/editing was bad. When turning pages, there seemed to be jumps in some sentences and others where bits were repeated, which I found a bit off putting.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I enjoyed reading this immensely. I liked the characters and the story was soft and easy to read. The situation could have been impossible but the characters made it work out well.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Staying Away at Christmas is a typical Katie Fforde book. Almost like the first chapter of a full length book. Very enjoyable more s o than other short stories by similar authors.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This eBook short is about two families, Miranda's and Anthony's. Both single parent families with their parents trying to give their kids the perfect Christmas. But when both families turn out to have rented the same cottage for the holiday season the perfect Christmas they had both envisaged seems further from perfect than what they would have had, had they stayed at home.

This is an endearing short story where the tale of two families will warm your heart as they all embrace the new way to celebrate Christmas. Miranda, single mum and her two daughters are off to the cottage with a car stuffed with food and gifts. Anthony and his son and daughter, are off to the cottage to get out from the scrutiny and overbearing kindness of Anthony's sister.

I instantly liked Miranda, but wasn't so sure about Anthony. I kind of felt like he looked down on Miranda and was a bit of an arrogant, I'm Mr Right-All-The-Time sod at the start. Once his heart softened a little as his children gets to know Miranda's he seems to lose some of his hard exterior.

This is a lovely little Christmas story that will fill you with the Christmassy warm,fuzzy familial feeling just in time for the festivities!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Thie plot was fairly predictable but for a piece of light reading it was ideal .Katie Ffloyd always provides a good read.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover