Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2009
Firstly, a little about me. I am a forty-something who has always had the idea of setting up his own business. Over the last 20 years I've never put any of my ideas into practice, but due to circumstances, i am now in a position to pursue my dream of working from home. Hence the reason for investing in this book, and yes, `investing' IS the correct word.

I obviously jumped straight to chapter 24, which is basically the section for people like me who want to work from home, but not sure what to do. It has over 50 home-based business ideas, each one having addresses or websites for more information. I found this extremely helpful and it gave me 2 ideas which i will be looking into in more depth.

As for the rest of the book, it covers everything you will need to know about running a business from home, from the initial idea, to obtaining funding, the set-up, along with all the everyday practicalities.

It is not a book that says, `DO IT..Set up a business..You won't fail'. It is obvious that the author has been through the process of setting up a business and he warns of pitfalls and mistakes that could be made, or the drawbacks of doing things a certain way, but the advice he does give is very impressive and makes a lot of sense.

The book covers many topics including:

The benefits of working from home (and the drawbacks)

Market research

Your business name and image

Raising finance

Tax, National Insurance & VAT

Book-keeping

How to get free publicity

Many, many other topics are also covered.

The book is an easy read on a difficult subject and contains plenty of informative information. The examples and checklists are great and all the additional information to be found from the various websites and companies suggested are an invaluable resource.

If you are thinking of starting a home based business, whether you know exactly what you will do, or not, i reckon that this book is a fantastic place to start. I definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2009
I LIKED this book. It's clearly set out, with easy to understand information in an order that makes sense. And it pulls no punches in warning of the dangers of not doing things properly.

With chapters on 'requirements for success' and 'a few drawbacks', it doesn't paint an unremittingly too bright a picture for the wannabe home-based entrepreneur and has excellent chapters on the nitty-gritty stuff like tax, national insurance and VAT, as well as how to price your services.

For the aspiring freelance writer, there's also plenty of food for thought, even if the 'how to get free publicity' chapter may be teaching your granny to suck eggs!

I'm not always a fan of the sort of 'free PR' advice to be found in various business resources, but was impressed by the realistic tone of the guidance included here.

As someone who has expanded a home-based business to move into offices and now work with colleagues, I'd have liked to have seen more about this aspect of working for yourself. Perhaps this could be a starting point for a further volume.

But even in this chapter, the winning tone of the writer is persuasive. There's a chatty and warm feeling to the advice on offer - like having a handy, more knowledgeable and supportive friend there with you as you chart your course through red tape and inevitable problems.

Author Matthew Thomas describes himself as a writer and consultant - working from home of course. It would have been nice to know more about him, but even without this personal touch, his advice is obviously steeped in real-life experience and still rings true.

Another area I'd like to see explored more would be the social networking aspect of marketing a business as times are changing so fast. Perhaps a book isn't the best vehicle for in-depth guidance as it would date so quickly.

But as most of the advice is evergreen - and particularly relevant in the current economic climate - I'd say overall this is a great resource for anyone starting out in business, however lofty or modest their ambitions are.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
I was keen to read this new book by Nick Daws, as I had found many of his writing courses useful and compelling in my own career development.

I had a second reason as well, as my husband is looking at leaving behind the security of 26 years' military life and is considering becoming self-employed.

Chapter One looks at the pros and cons of starting your own business - this is highly thought-provoking in itself. In Chapter 2 you will find exercises to check whether you have the necessary strengths and qualities to be your own boss. These will establish whether you are truly ready to go from employed to self-employed status. There is also a checklist to see if you have the support needed from family and friends. These are subjects not often thought about when planning a new business.

Many non-fiction books can be dry, even dull. We have all had to wade through such books for necessary learning, even though there was no pleasure in reading them. I am pleased to tell you that Nick Daws' style of writing is not like this. It is as though he is there in the room coaching you, and it is a pleasure to read and learn from him.

The book takes you from the basic principles of self-employment to setting up your own business. Finance is covered in detail, including how to work out what to charge for your product or service. This is invaluable information (with examples), as it is an area where many new businesses go wrong.

The book goes on to cover such matters as what equipment you might need for your home office, insurance, business rates and planning permission. Basic bookkeeping, VAT and National Insurance are all explained as well, in easy-to-grasp, jargon-free English.

The book discusses sources of further advice and support, and what to do if you're thinking of expanding. Finally, it lists over 50 home-based-business ideas, including advice on where to get additional information and training (if required) to get started in each of them.

Having read, learned from and enjoyed Start Your Own Home-Based Business, I can confirm that in my view if you are thinking of working for yourself in a home-based business, this book is essential reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2009
I've been a home-based entrepreneur since 1987 when a friend recommended this book to me. I took a look at it to be polite, thinking I had nothing new to learn.

I was wrong!

This book is not just a good and solid introduction that touches all the key points for first-timers, it also comes with 50 or so home-based business profiles which offer a range of biz-opp ideas that will make you money.

What did it teach me?

As someone who's been doing this for 22 years now, I thought I knew it all. But Matthew's advice on how to get free publicity was a real eye-opener. I followed his advice for a new email service I'd been offering and within just a few days had several hundred members signed up.

Thanks Matthew!

And that's why I am happy to recommend this book - quite frankly, it tells you all you need to know to set up your own home-based business, and a whole lot more.

Iain Maitland
[]
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
What impressed me most about this book was its thoroughness. From the moment you get the idea of working from home, author Nick Daws covers everything: the possible highs and lows, pros and cons.

You will find advice on every aspect of the home-based business enterprise from the very moment you first come up with the idea to the day you think about expanding. There are exercises which will help you decide whether or not you're "the right stuff". And in case you get the impression that this volume is for beginners, I already run my own business from home, and on the first questionnaire, looking for a score of 70 or over, I rated only 62, which indicated aspects that I need to work on.

There are sections on choosing the type of business, which again requires some self-analysis, and there is plenty of advice on those difficult early days when doubts may creep in, when family may jostle with business for your attention, when income is likely to be less stable than you're used to.

Nothing is left to chance. Pricing, assessing competition, sales and marketing (not the same thing) judging your advertising needs and generating free publicity are all covered in detail, and there are also chapters on bookkeeping, tax, VAT and insurance liabilities, the ever-present need for insurance cover, and for those considering expanding and employing others, there are chapters which highlight the pluses and minuses.

Too many people set out on the small business trail filled with optimism, but with their eyes wide shut. With "Start Your Own Home Based Business" you can take the first step armed with a reliable source of knowledge.

And as if all that is not enough, the book concludes with buried résumés of the most popular types of home based business, from alternative and complementary therapies to Website Design to Writing, each one with tagged with the contact details of professional organisations in that field.

If you're considering running a small business from home, full or part time, then this book is a must-have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
For those thinking of working from home Nick Daws' "Start Your Own Home-Based Business" is an invaluable guide. The author himself has gone through the process of successfully setting up a business using his home as an office, and he makes readers aware of possible pitfalls and how to avoid them. Written in easy to follow chapters it offers useful tips, guidelines and contact details which are not easy to find elsewhere, and can save readers valuable time they would otherwise have to spend on searching out this information from a welter of diversely-distributed sources. Whether you need to know the ins and outs of writing a business-plan or even need help in deciding what business might best suit you, there is some sound advice within these pages.

The reader is taken through all the stages of establishing a new business from market research and strategy through to selling and keeping accounts. There are more than 50 home-based business profiles with appropriate addresses for further help and guidance. So even if you don't know what kind of a business might work for you there is plenty to fire your imagination. Start Your Own Home-Based Business explores what essential procedures a new home-based business needs to adopt in order to get up-and-running. Guidance is given to help readers assess their suitability for achieving their aspirations, or even helping them to determine whether working from home is really their best course of action. It takes a realistic approach - not the `get rich quick' pipedream approach of some commercial books of the genre - and is therefore a worthy addition to your bookshelves. If your aim is to have a levelheaded business which provides you with an attainable income within the confines of your own home, this is the book for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
If you're thinking of starting a home-based business in the UK, you'll find this book indispensable! It is packed full of useful guidelines - everything from choosing your business idea to negotiating the everyday practicalities of starting and running an enterprise from home. There are handy checklists throughout and plenty of informative examples. The book covers market research, marketing, bookkeeping, income tax, and much more. The chapter on raising finance is particularly helpful and there is a useful bonus chapter that profiles over 50 viable home-based business opportunities. The book also contains contacts for further information, thus providing an essential resource. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
This book is well written and provided great information and advice. When you are about to start a Business or thinking of starting one then it is always best to get enough information as possible, and I thought this book done just that.Start Your Own Home-based Business
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Well written, thorough, easy to read. This book gives you really useful information, guidelines and advice on starting your own business. I can highly recommend it, even if you've already started a business; there's lots you can learn from what Mr Daws shares with you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
A Very simple and clearly laid out book on starting your own home based business. The Author Nick Daws has worked from home for over 20 years and he has never regretted it. Nick shows you the advantages and disadvantages of starting your own home based business. However he also tells you what you need to not juts survive but thrive. With the recent economic meltdown and recession. Now is the ideal time to start your own business from home. Whether its part time to give you an additional income? or fulltime where you can eventually overtake your JOB!!!!. Useful for everyone, whether your are employed,unemployed,retired,student!!!! I have read it over several times!!! Highly Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here