Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
34
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2001
I was really looking forward to this book, and it was an enjoyable read. BUT these young jedi knights I had absolutly no clue who they were, and so anything that happened to them did not have the impact that it should have had, execpt maybe to the Solo kids. I would read it for that and the effect it has on their parents. I prefer reading about the older characters more anyway. Also in the middle it kept lagging and I actually got bored with the book. Maybe it was a little to long(definatly one you can't carry around with you). Still everything else was cool, and there are enough twists and character development in it to keep me satisfied. To conclude I can't wait for the next one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2003
Let me start by saying that if you are a follower of the NJO series, it will be a crime if you dont read this book. There are things that you will enjoy and others that will completely take the wind out of your sails.
All in all, the book is fantastic eventhough various events take place that I wish had'nt. Finally we'll see exactly how low things can go!
The book begins with a short trip back in time. It is a bit slow but necessary as it creates a nice bridge between previous books in the series. Dont be afraid of wasted pages though, with over 600 hundred of them, be prepared for an adventure of absolute epic preportions.
The majority of the book then centres around a young group of Jedi, led by Anakin Solo, who attempt a suicidal mission essential to the survival of all the Jedi. There is an enormous influx of new Jedi not yet seen in this series which is fantastic. We become reacquainted with characters such as Tenel Ka, Zekk and Lowbacca. On this mission, each member of this young team will face their own deamons, those of their team mates, and finally, those beyond contemplation.
Many will not like where they end up after this adventure. But I promise you this, you'll never forget how you got there! Read with a box of tissues!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2001
The New Jedi Order reaches an ever darker phase of the story arc, as the Yuuzhan Vong mount a devestating assault, on both the Jedi and Couruscant, with tragic consequences for the heroes, as another character joins Chewbacca in death. I am not going to spoil it for readers, but you have to wonder how are the New Republic going to survive?
With epic and horrific space battles, desperate hand to hand combat, sinister treachery, and mind blowing heroism, this is a highly recommended addition to the saga.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2001
After countless attacks by the Yuuzhan Vong which have gone unpunished, it fills me with pleasure to see the Jedi make a move. It's been a sickening time for the New Republic not knowing what to do and rapidly losing hope. Skywalker & Co must surely walk out trimphant at the end of this magnificent saga. The "New Jedi Order" series should be used for new SW films and forget about E2 which looks pretty flat. SG
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
Star by Star, by Troy Denning, begins the second half of the "New Jedi Order" series of Star Wars books, and is it a doozy. It's chock full of Star Wars goodness with so many characters running around that not even a scorecard would help keep them straight. There's lots of Jedi action, spaceship battles and characters going through the emotional ringer. While some scenes do drag a bit, overall this book is a great way to begin the home stretch.
First, let me say that I'm reviewing the paperback, which has Denning's novella Recovery included. This story has Leia recovering from her wounds inflicted on Duros in Balance Point. It also deals with the rift that's been killing her relationship with Han Solo since Chewbacca died. It's quite good, with just the right mix of starship combat and relationships, and the writing is great. It introduces a bunch of characters that will feature in Star by Star, so it is a preview of things to come. I'm just annoyed that I didn't check into this in advance and bought the e-book of Recovery before I knew better.
Anyway, Star by Star begins with Mara Jade Skywalker and Jaina Solo out to rescue two escaping Jedi from a planet overrun by the Yuuzhan Vong. But the freighter they are on is attacked by a new creature bred by the Vong, one that can sense the use of the Force and track anybody who uses it. This news is not welcomed by the Jedi, who are already under siege by New Republic governments who are afraid and want the Jedi to surrender to the Vong. Anakin and sixteen other Jedi (including his brother and sister) embark on a mission to end that threat once and for all. But not everybody will be coming back from that mission, and Anakin will struggle with that responsibility. Meanwhile, the Vong have Coruscant, the New Republic homeworld, in their sights, and even a fleet of Jedi pilots may not be enough to stop them. The rest of our heroes fight a desperate battle to preserve the Republic before it's wiped out.
I first became familiar with Denning from Tatooine's Ghost, a book that I fell in love with (though I no longer want to have his children). So I had faith that this would be a wonderful book, and I was not disappointed. After re-reading Recovery, I sat down and just let the events of Star by Star wash over me. Denning's writing style is exciting, even in the quieter moments. He has a handle on these characters that is simply wonderful, whether it's Mara's love and protectiveness of her new son, Luke's trying to juggle his love for their son and his responsibilities to all of the Jedi who are being hunted down, or the still healing relationship between Han and Leia. The latter two are back to their old selves, but the preceding events fully inform their new attitudes. One of the best examples of this is the constant discomfort Leia has in the co-pilot seat of the Millenium Falcon, a seat that's designed for Chewbacca's size, and her realization that she can't ask Han to change it because that would be like saying good-bye to him for good. The ending of the book, even as worlds are falling apart around them, resolves this in a wonderful way. Han has learned from Chewie's death, and he has to put what he's learned to good use in this one.
All of the characters we know and love are characterized very well here, from Anakin to Lando, and to the Jedi characters that were evidently introduced in the Young Jedi Knights books (which I haven't read, so they were all new to me). I did have trouble keeping all of the Jedi straight, though that might be because I wasn't familiar with them. Thank heavens for the list of characters at the beginning of the book! Even so, I was torn during Anakin's mission. While the Jedi were well-done, some were given short shrift because there were just so many of them. On the other hand, the mission wouldn't have been believable without all of them there, so it's a wash.
The plot itself is packed. This is a long book, very long for a Star Wars book. It didn't seem padded necessarily, but some of the scenes seemed to drag, especially the space combat scenes and the strike team scenes deep in the Vong worldship. Just a scene here or there, so it's tough to say that something should have been cut or shortened. While some of the scenes were slow, most of the combat sequences were extremely well done, almost up to Stackpole levels (and for those of you who don't know, that's a compliment). I could almost hear the Star Wars music going through some of them. Lots of explosions, ships venting atmosphere, jukes and jinks, all of these were included. It was nice seeing Luke in the cockpit of an X-Wing again. Denning describes this all so well that, even during the confusion of the battle, it was fairly easy to visualize everything that was happening.
Some momentous events happen in Star by Star. There are a few deaths of characters, including one major one (and another one that's not surprising in hindsight but also has the benefit of removing one of the more annoying characters). The book can be an emotional roller-coaster if you've invested yourself in the book series, so be prepared. It sets off events that will eventually wrap this series up nine books from now, and it's a great marker of the half-way point. If you're a Star Wars fan, this one is definitely a keeper.
David Roy
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
It begins with a great short story by Troy Denning that tells us is going on so you don't have to read the other books in the series (unless you want to). It takes place 27 years after Return Of The Jedi and during the Yuuzhan Vong War. The main characters are the Solo children (Jacen, Jaina and Anakin), Luke and Mara Jade Skywalker, Han and Leia Organa Solo.
I myself have Dyslexia and I find this book very easy to read, but it's not badly written.
This is a can't miss book for every Star Wars fan and for all how just like the movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2001
From everyone I have spoken to who has read this book, this is THE most controversial Star Wars book EVER! With the war progressing every closer to Coruscant the times are made every more electrifying for all of the normal characters. Although there are many shocks in this book, I won't be revealing them here, you'll just have to read it all the way through to find them out. Hvaing said that this book starts out very well, it moves at speed...and drops off for about 300 pages, then picks up again with monumental speed at the end. The author is skilled enough with his descriptions that you an see all that he is saying. It's just a shame that we will have to wait until feb 2002 for the next one, but Troy Denning has, in one book, won his place up there with Timothy Zahn and Kevin J. Anderson, I wonder what they would have Luke and the others do next?
Five stars is the best that i can give this book officially but all i can say is ... Wow!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2002
When you see the size of this book you know your going to be treated to an incredible adventure. It does not disappoint.
As the Vong keep marching their way through the galaxy they set their eyes on a glittering target of conquest. Meanwhile the jedi finally start to fight back and Anakin leads a task force, including his siblings, deep into enemy territory to destroy a fearsome new weapon. As Borssk Fey'lyas government begins to waver will the New Republic be able to hold out?
This book brings a return to the great space battles of old, and be prepared for shocks, because, as previous New Jedi Order books have proved, the characters we know and love are no longer indestructible...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 December 2004
THE STORY:
Twenty three years after 'Return of the Jedi', the war against the Yuuzhan Vong enters a more dangerous phase as the Jedi and New Republic search for weapons to use against their enemy and the Vong themselves begin their advance towards Coruscant.
WHAT'S GOOD:
This, as far as I know, is the longest Star Wars novel ever written and all those extra pages have allowed Denning to create a truly epic story spanning dozens of characters and places, as well as including two REALLY major events (one involving Coruscant and one involving Anakin Solo). The stories of all the characters featured so far in the NJO (as well as a host of new ones) are featured as the series regroups for a major push ahead. Of all the many great elements of the book, my favourite was the mission of the young Jedi, in which Anakin leads his siblings, their peers from the Young Jedi Knights and Junior Jedi Knights series and a group of new Jedi on an infiltration mission to save the entire Jedi Order from destruction. Anyway, I could sing this book's praises for ages, so I'll limit myself to saying: buy it, you won't be disappointed (depressed maybe...).
WHAT'S BAD:
Only the fact that the book is so gloomy. It doesn't really fit with the fairy-tale spirit of Star Wars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2004
I have read all the star wars books so i no what im sayin when i say this book (star by star) rocks!
there is so much story line crammed into one book but it still flows and is really tense and exiting.
I was pleased to see a long star wars book- hardly any are, if harry potter can have 600 pages why cant star wars?
the basic plot (without giving any thing away) is that these things called voxyen come along and they are good at killing jedi so the said jedi try 2 wipe them out.
This book is quite positive with just 1 sad bit at the end, also the writer concentrated more on han and leia- they are quite funny.
over all its a good book: good story line, lots of new characters. The ending isnt obvious and there are lots of twists and turns.
If you have read the previous jedi order books then it is a must buy. If not then it is quite a good stand alone book too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse