Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2006
After enjoying parts one and two of this trilogy it is good to be able to say that the final part didn't disappoint. Troy Denning has provided an exciting story that has touched upon some crucial questions for the Jedi of this time period and in this novel we see that the Dark Nest events have been useful both in terms of how the Jedi use their powers as peacekeepers and their evolving relationship with the Galactic goverment. The Luke/Raynar/Lomi Plo duel while not as epic as I would have hoped for was very good in fact in keeping with the smaller scale of the Dark Nest storyline, plus it was good to see Kyle Katarn (now a Jedi Master) in action again in a number of scenes. This combined with Troy Dennings ability to inject some much needed dramatic tension into the cast of characters that while well loved and iconic were in danger of becoming too safe and boring made this book and the trilogy one of my favourites.
One complaint is that there are some things that after the conclusion of the trilogys main plotline are left somewhat unresolved. This is slightly annoying but as these novels are the last of the New Jedi Order era and the next books will be the first of the Legacy era with a new series of books and comics it has in my opinion found a good balance between setting up the future while telling a cracking good story that doesn't rely on the worn out New Republic Vs Empire formula.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2006
The first book in the series (Joiner King) introduced us to a new enemy in the form of a swarm of bugs under the control of a demented Jedi. The second book (Unseen Queen) explored the psyche of such an enemy and how a manipulative Force-wielder could control the subconcious of the nest. This looked like building to a powerful finale in book three, where great deeds would be needed and where major revalations regarding the future of the Jedi would be made. Sadly, this was not managed. The final confrontation between Luke (why by the way now appears to be in command of powers so excessive that he could single-handedly have taken out Darths Vader and Sidious with a mere wave of his hand) and Raynar and Lomi was very poorly done, and I was left wondering why, if it was such an apparently easy task, he had not undertaken it earlier and saved everyone the stress. Too many unresolved plot points - is Jagged Fel alive?, what happened to the link between Jaina and Zekk?, what consequence is there for Jacen now that he has decided to use his anger to fuel his power?, what happens now that Luke knows C3PO and R2D2 were involved with his parents fates? Too many things left hanging.....not accustomed to this from the Star Wars books...pretty disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2007
This series started off well with an interesting and plausible concept incorporating minor characters from the NJO series. When an insect colony absorbs a Jedi into its hive mind it learns the value of caring for the individual. The unforeseen consequence soon threatens the known universe - population explosion and territorial expansion of the insect hive.

Author Troy Denning comes up with intriguing twists for all the major characters, but except for Leia finally becoming a Jedi Knight, the series ends without resolving any of the issues that Denning creates, making for a very unsatisfying conclusion to a tale that could have been told in one long novel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
I am a big star was fan have been for years, I have past on my love for star wars to my sisters little boy like my mother did for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Big fan of many Star Wars books and Troy Denning is the best writer of Star Wars the Dark Nest trilogy is a brilliant read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
Well as you might guess from the covers, these three books focus more upon the three main Star Wars characters Han Luke and Leia, but still keeping the essential NJO characters like Jacen, Jaina etc in the story. Not giving alot away, these books are mainly about an insect race from the unknown regions and getting the Jedi council back on form, as well as keeping the younger Jedi Knights behaving well. Classic end of the galaxy sort of stuff, four stars because the ending seemed to come in two parts, not being climatic enough for my particular liking. It manages to carry on from the end of the war with the Yuuzhan Vong pretty well too, with being set five years after virtually elimating the possibility of cleanup storylines.
Overall, Troy Denning, Well done, it made for some good reading
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2006
This is a good finalie to the thrilling Dark Nest Books.

Suggest this trilogy for even the most amature of Star Wars fans (Like Me) This trilog of books will make you want more and more, I couldnt put any of these books down...

5/5
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2005
In Star Wars Dark Nest III: The Swarm War we have the dramatic conclusion to the Dark Nest trilogy where the Killik Crisis and the split in the Jedi Order are dealt with. Both of these situations had been left on a cliffhanger from The Unseen Queen and both in my opinion are nicely resolved in The Swarm War, even though some things are left deliberately open as to lead into the Legacy of The Force series. However this was not detrimental to my enjoyment of the book or the trilogy overall.

The return of Luke Skywalker to the Jedi Order after being out of contact during The Unseen Queen sees him deal with how the half Jedi/half Galactic Alliance Advisory Council had been used by the Chief of State Cal Omas to drive a wedge in the Order. Luke's actions result in him taking sole leadership of the Order for the duration of the Killik crisis and after its conclusion there is the prospect of an all Jedi Council with a lot more authority over the Order to be seen in future books unlike the less formal Masters' Councils seen earlier in the Trilogy. The resolution of the Killik Crisis is a satisfying plan that calls for great acts of courage from all in the Jedi Order and in the Galactic Federation of Free Alliances military.

The Swarm War as with the first two entries of the trilogy has very good depictions of both the major characters and the smaller bit parts. The action is of a high level of quality with some excellent confrontations for Luke, Leia, Han and Co. to endure and there were also some very funny moments scattered throughout the book. Particularly the parts involving Jedi Master Saba Sebatyne. There were also as with the first two installements a number of instances when events from Revenge of the Sith are revealed to the Skywalker/Solos and as has been the case before these are woven into the Killik storyline and in my opinion do not come across as forced. I found The Swarm War and the Dark Nest trilogy in general to be an excellent adventure in the post Yuuzhan Vong War galaxy showing the Jedi regain some of their much needed moral centre as well as wetting my appetite tremendously for the Legacy of The Force series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2008
The Swarm War, the final book in the Dark Nest Trilogy and it certainly delivers in my view a satisfying conclusion to the Killiks storyline. The issues of the Jedi Orders leadership structure is sorted out in this book also as well as a significant amount of work laid down for the direction of Jacen Solo. Plus who can ignore the epic coolness of Squib assassins sent to take out Jedi Knight Jaina Solo in the middle of a battle between the Chiss and the Killik nests.

This book takes place almost straight away after book 2 The Unseen Queen. The complex questions and choices that is the signature of this trilogy remain and continue to be a fascinating and refreshing part of the storyline. From the actions of the Galactic Alliances leader Cal Omas to the villains tactics to avoid getting beaten by Luke Skywalker The Swarm War is full of unusual and well thought out ways to tell a valuable story. In addition the Killiks actually stand out for me as a really great example of an alien species with a truly ALIEN mindset and for that Troy Denning deserves a big well done.

Overall the book and in fact the whole trilogy is one of my favorite Star Wars stories ever. It is exciting, funny and all the things that make Star Wars so popular and also its builds on and uses the huge expanded Universe mythos to create a great all round novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2007
This series started off well with an interesting and plausible concept incorporating minor characters from the NJO series. When an insect colony absorbs a Jedi into its hive mind it learns the value of caring for the individual. The unforeseen consequence soon threatens the known universe - population explosion and territorial expansion of the insect hive.

Author Troy Denning comes up with intriguing twists for all the major characters, but except for Leia finally becoming a Jedi Knight, the series ends without resolving any of the issues that Denning creates, making for a very unsatisfying conclusion to a tale that could have been told in one long novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse