Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2012
I agree with the other reviews here. This is an excellent book, and in my opinion the best one of the Voyager relaunch so far. Be warned, once you start reading, you won't be able to put it down!
Credit to Kirsten Beyer for being so spot on with her characterisations, you can 'hear' Q, Janeway and the rest and really feel its those characters we've come to know and love.
SPOILERS
The return of Janeway would seem an impossible task without seeming like a gimick, but here its made epic and wondrous, touching and with the huge stakes at players involved, utterly plausible..
The last few years have been hard on the Voyager family, and at the end of this novel, you really feel the family is together again, ready to face all sorts of new adventures.
Throw in the new characters (Cambridge is a particular favourite)and a whole quadrant that may or may not be finally rid of the Borg and it looks like an exciting time ahead in the Delta Quadrant!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
Kirsten Beyer's fourth post-Destiny Voyager novel picks up on a number of threads that have been hanging over the series for some time, most specifically the mystery surrounding fleet commander Afsarah Eden's past.

It's another great novel and one that's very tightly focussed on the characters. I wasn't too impressed by aspects of the previous novel, but the 'mumsyness' has been toned down with this one and although it is heavily emotion-fuelled there is a much better balance with the narrative.

Some readers may find aspects of the plot disappointing, however I thought they were well executed and delivered the intended results without feeling like a deus ex machina. Beyer explores a number of concepts from the TV series in a new light and in places this makes the story feel a little like those in the Typhon Pact arc.

Overall, another excellent novel in this series that Beyer certainly excels at writing. It does feel like a turning point in the ongoing narrative but I hope the publishers keep the author for a few more episodes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
Well this book was brilliant and I couldn,t put it down. I was very dismayed at the death of captain Janeway and couldn,t understand how it fitted into the voyager theme. She should never have been killed of in the first place. But in saying that I have enjoyed the trips and stories of voyager specially with them going back into the delta quadrant. This book gave us a good insight into captain eden. It really explained captain Eden past and what she was though it was also sad. And into Q Janeways godson. And it tied up loose ends like tom and B,lanna, Seven and Cambridge. I loved having kes in the story can,t say I was surprised that she helped to save Janeway. It was a exciting and emotional journey for voyager and the reader. I can,t wait to see what will happen next and to see Janeway and chakotay move on to the next chapter of there lives. Highly recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
Beyer took on one heck of a challenge with The Eternal Tide - not only was she tasked with handling the return of a major character, she also had to guide Voyager and the rest of the Delta Quadrant fleet through a seemingly insurmountable, multiverse level catastrophe. With her usual sensitivity and creativity not only did she succeed with flair, she also created one of the best Trek books in recent years.

The Eternal Tide has some problems: the first third of the book drags in places, some of the dialogue seems unnatural and there is some repetition. Despite this I found it a truly compelling and satisfying read, and somewhat surprisingly, genuinely moving.

In many ways, the novel feels like the third part of Voyager's final episode: 'Endgame'. A lot of loose ends are tied up, the price of Admiral Janeway's decision to cheat the timeline is finally paid in full, and the evolution of some characters such as Tom Paris is given more time and energy.

This is a must read for all Voyager fans, even for those not familiar with the earlier books in the series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
This book is about time. They should never have 'killed off' Janeways character in the first place. It was a poor judgement decision by the publishers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
Voyager books haven't always done justice to the series but this one really nails it. Dispute the outlandish plot the story really works and the authors warning of just go with it isn't necessary as once you start reading you're hooked. It reunites some of the best characters and easily engages the imagination. I was left questioned whether the level of destruction was necessary and almost grieving for the missed opportunities of the lost ships and crews. The book ends on a happy note but with questions about the shape of the future missions, lets hope there is a suitable sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
The first Voyager book I've read, but unfortunately not the first in this particular series. It therefore refers to events and characters from previous stories I knew nothing about so found them difficult to u understand the relevance. Conversations with several characters all named Q take a while to make sense. While I enjoyed reading about the events on board ship I found the plot regarding the existence of the Q and OMega continuums hard going. I' like to read more of the series though but in the right order. Wonder if the kindle guys could come up.With a 2of 4 3of 4 note Tec. Or would that be too Borg like?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Star trek has a tendency not to let its hero's rest in peace, be it Kirk, Spock or Janeway. So it's not a surprise that a return would be engineered again. As for the future nature abhors a vacuum so no Borg means everything else must change. I haven't read much star trek I didn't like so I look forward to the continuing voyages of Enterprise, Deep Space 9 and Voyager.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
This is, in parts, excellent writing. I particularly liked the sudden realisation by a key character in the final chapter - a redefining of what 'home' means to the original Voyager crew.
There are also some truly moving moments of connection, and the mental distress and grief of a lead character in the opening chapters is very well drawn.
All of this clashes terribly with the faults in this book. Firsrly, there are way too many characters - further confused by the fact that three of them all share the same name (or should I say the same letter - the only slight clue I will offer in this review).
Ths primary fault with this book is just that - too much of everything ! There is way too much plot for any one book, with a daunting number of plot twists which ultimately dull you to the impact of each 'cliffhanger'.
I alaso very much doubt that anyone, possibly including the author, could understand the plot! Many times, it appears that the author finds herself stuck down a meandering alley, only to throw in yet more equally incomprehensible plot, coupled with a chunk of technobabble, to worm her way out of it. Failing that, there is always the omnipotent omnipresence who allows the author to completely alter the plot, leaving the reader feeling slightly cheated for having been led down such a blind alley in the first place.
The opening chapters promise much but the confusion of ships, planets, characters and plots makes the main core of the book impossible to follow. i suspect the writer failed to plot thoroughly before starting to write the central storyline and got caught up in a confusion of her own making.
It is a great pity that the main chunk of the book primarily focuses on a poorly drawn character who is not original to the tv series: a big mistake, I feel.
The welcome re-introduction of a female character from a much-loved episode promises so much, but her appearance is wasted as her plotline is swept aside for a much weaker one. Those scenes are visual, alive, and prickle with emotion but lead us down yet another blind alley, to suddenly be trampled on by the thundering hurricane of a rambling incomprehensible central storyline.
Such potential here, so much promise, some beautiful lines...all betrayed by a lumbering and ill-considered central plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
Received my paperback copy on 1 Sep and finished it on 3 Sep without a break! Not being at all scientific, I will have to re-read it more slowly to absorb all the technical details, but what a great story and definitely the best so far by Kirsten. The door has now been thrown open for a few more in the same or similar vein.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here