Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2001
Anybody who loves Captain Kirk will love this book. Who wouldn't - it's "straight from the horse's mouth", isn't it? Who better than William Shatner to tell us the continuing story of "What Kirk Did". At times you sigh because the short dramatic sentences at times in the book are a bit pretentious. But they're just what you want - admit it!! - in a book like this. You want to smirk and raise your eyebrows "..there he goes again .." but we love it! For all Captain Kirk fans who didn't for a moment believe he died in the film "Generations", the second Trilogy of books of his continuing adventures, of which this is the last part, was very welcome. This last book was very welcome if you read the first two - the suspense ...! However it was also not so welcome in that it leaves us wondering if there will be another ... how can their not be?! We want to believe Captain Kirk is immortal, and these books give us the chance to believe it's true. There's everything you could hope for in these books - old friends, TNG characters not always seeing eye-to-eye with our old heroes, new love for the irrisistable old chappie, Kirk pondering on the meaning and point of his life - and Captain Kirk just going boldly on. More, please! I don't know if it would appear to serious bookish Sci Fi fans, but I'm not one of them. And people who sneered at the Original Series when they were brought up on TNG with its deeper and more thoughtful and carefully crafted stories should not write off these books of William Shatner's as liable to be empty, flimsy and simplistic as some of the early t.v. shows were. Give them a go - you might be surprised. And enthralled like us die hard Kirk fans!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2004
What a wonderful book this is.Full of suspence,adventure,romance and deep set tragedy which is truly moving,given William Shatner's own personal loss.
i would say without doubt,this book is his best effort so far and certainly the best of the mirror trilogy.i read this in 6 hours flat and was enthralled from start to times this was a very brave book by Shatner as will be apparrent to the reader and very emotional.
the only reason i dont give it 5 stars is the unreal scenario between Kirk and his alter ego just never rang true to be and seemed to go off on the wrong tangent.
Don't let this put you off however,there is enough material here to keep everyone happy.must buy for any trek fans!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2000
This book is a very very good conclusion to the second trilogy by William Shatner, However they would have been better off making it two books instead of three but anyway, This book shows that William Shatner really knows Kirk and what motivates him. In a shocking twist Shatner even parallels his own life in the book! A must read for all die hard Star Trek fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
The ‘Shatnerverse’ Star Trek books are very enjoyable, although the 1st trilogy is easily the best. However, this is the weakest in the series.
The first one hundred pages are very exciting however, following on from Dark victory, but the story really ends at this point. After this, a new story starts which I struggled to follow or understand what was going on. This story wasn’t really engaging and although the ending was genuinely shocking but it didn't really make up for the rest of it.
Best stick to the novel as the audio various has been severely edited and is quite incoherent, although Shatner does his best to make it entertaining. I have noticed that the audio version’s cover only credits Shatner for reading it, not writing, suggesting my dissatisfaction is shared by the writers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
When I heard that Mr Shatner had written novels with both Captains i was suspicious of what might happen and how good this story could be. But i have been very happy with this story and the others in the series. The Story is excellently written and keeps you page turning right to the end. `Seeing` Kirk back in the same time as Pickard works very well. I recommend this book to all, but mostly to those who have followed Star Trek across all the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
great response time from buying to receiving
and no problems with the goods
would recommend no problems at all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 January 2005
During the Dominion War, Kirk has allied himself with his mirror counterpart Tiberius, in the hopes of finding aid for his dying wife. But Tiberius is far from altruistic and asks a terrible price in exchange for his help.
I enjoyed the reactions of Kirk's friends to his apparent alliance with the enemy, they made for an interesting study of Kirk's interpersonal relationships.
The book is largely boring, for starters, and when we Teilani's fate is revealed, we wonder why we even bothered reading the past two books. I disliked the handling of Kirk and Tiberius too. In 'Spectre', Shatner showed an excellent talent for writing his alter-ego's story, but here it's as if the talent's just abandoned him. The idea of Kirk being a traitor is daft, but not nearly so ridiculous as Tiberius miracle redemption at the end. All in all, a waste of time and money.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
A really excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
vry pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)