Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£21.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2002
Season 2 of Star Trek: The Next Generation improves on the first series by introducing occasionally stronger character based shows and situations. While Tasha Yar is missed, and to a lesser extent Doctor Crusher, we're introduced to 2 new characters. Dr. Pulaski and Guinan. Personally I always enjoyed Pulaski shows, she was one of the only characters that brought a bit of conflict into the programme. There was never enough coming and going of new blood into the Star Trek series (either in front or behind the camera). Guinan (and the new location for her "Ten Forward" - a great setting for comedy/social moments) added more life and mystery into the show. It was a shame she wasn't able to appear in more episodes in the later parts of the series (she does have a cameo role in Star Trek Nemesis).
The episodes themselves were extremely varied. Due to the writer's strike, the season was cut short to 22 episodes rather than the full 26 ending with the appalling "bottle show", 'Shades of Grey' (Plot summary: Riker in a coma and Deanna "looking worried" while Pulaski puts copious L.E.Ds on his forehead). "The Royale" was also truly terrible. There were some storming episodes though, the best being "Q Who." This episode had everything: Q, the introduction of the Borg, Guinan, great special effects and a superb score by Ron Jones. Other great episodes were "Contagion" and "Time Squared"
This box set has everything you could wish for (that's why I'm giving it 5 stars): remastered picture and Dolby Digital sound, one hour of new interviews and documentaries, and some really awesome DVD menus. Although seasons 1 and 2 aren't the best you can't really miss these, they are great foundation episodes with the DVD box sets given the care and attention they deserve.
Episode list:
The Child
Where Silence Has Lease
Elementary, Dear Data
The Outrageous Okona
Loud as a Whisper
The Schizoid Man
Unnatural Selection
A Matter of Honor
The Measure of a Man
The Dauphin
The Royale
Time Squared
The Icarus Factor
Pen Pals
Q Who?
Samaritan Snare
Up The Long Ladder
The Emissary
Peak Performance
Shades of Gray
0Comment| 114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
In some ways season 2 is an easy target and you often hear more lazy reviewers revelling in criticising it. Having to contend with a The Writers Guild strike, the introduction of the less likeable Doctor Kate Polaski and containing Shades of Gray which is undeniably the worst episode of The Next Generation bar none it is unfortunately encumbered. However whilst watching season 2 you start to encounter episodes that show the writers are starting to hit their stride and are getting much better at writing tight stories and developing the characters, which becomes a more consistent hallmark of the following seasons. Episodes like Where Silence Has Lease, The Measure of a Man, Q Who and others really are excellent (admittedly mixed in with a few duffers).

As mentioned in other reviews the picture quality is more variable in this season 2 release compared with season 1, it should still be stressed however that even when the picture quality is at its worst it is still miles better than the DVD releases. The first episode The Child as well as not being a particularly strong story also has the misfortunate of being one of the worst offenders, the picture can go from heavy grain, to perfect 1080p picture quality to overtly smooth within a few moments from cut to cut, on one of the extras it is mentioned that they experimented more with different types of film stock when filming season 2 and I don't know if that has anything to do with it, but sometimes especially in The Child the sudden shift in picture quality can be jarring. I should point out that this is more the exception than the rule, but you need to be aware that it exists.

One of the many reasons I am treasuring these blu ray releases is that the extra picture clarity really lets you appreciate what amazing actors the main cast are. You can suddenly see with more clarity subtle looks and gestures which were lost on the fuzzy standard definition programmes which almost makes it feel like you're watching a new episode and can really see a cast that is acting it's socks off and giving it 110%, which is no clearer than Patrick Stewart's performance in The Measure of a Man, that man oozes talent. Nagilum looks truly terrifying in high definition, and when Data (with perfect comedy timing) rips up his wrapping paper in The Measure of a Man you can see that the actors playing Wesley and Troi are laughing for real at what has just occurred (which I'd never picked up on before in SD), and it's touches like that that really make releases like this special.

For me the positives of what this blu-ray transfer offers far outweighs the negatives, but you just need to go into this purchase aware that there are negatives there... especially if you're paying full price.

Another worthy TNG release although as mentioned in other reviews I hope CBS learn their lessons from this release to really set the standard on the hallmark season 3 which everyone will be waiting for.
33 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
When I read the earliest reviews of this set, I was disappointed beyond words. I'd been looking forward to it ever so much, but it was obviously catastrophically awful. After putting the final disc back in the box, though, I have to say that I enjoyed these BDs even more than Season 1's.

It's true that the picture quality is sometimes a notch down on the earlier collection's. But the only conspicuous difference is that grain appears a bit more often, and that when it does show up, it's a bit heavier. But there are only a few minutes in the entire season when it's prominent enough to be noticeable. I don't think anyone could deny that the discs are hugely better than the TNG DVDs.

On the plus side, the average standard of the stories is, of course, much, much better than in the first box. The Borg; Guinan; Moriarty; Riker seconded to the Klingons; I'm sure you remember how many gems this season sparkled with. And what seals the deal is the excellence of the extras. Two extended versions of The Measure of a Man, commentaries, deleted scenes, a non-VHS-quality gag reel and about two and a half hours of new HD interviews. The cast and other interviewees are far more open and relaxed than in the old DVD featurettes - also included here - and their anecdotes and revelations are as entertaining as the episodes themselves. Their long sofa chat is one of the most enjoyable special features that I've ever seen.

The pasting that this collection took from its fiercest critics was so severe that I almost decided not to try it at all. I'm very glad that I changed my mind. I'd imagine that most fans of the show would get an enormous amount of fun out of it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 September 2012
Well it's finally here and all the concerns about a repeat of the problems experienced with the first season release can be addressed.

The first season of the restored high definition version of Star Trek: The Next Generation (ST: TNG) is a triumph Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 1 [Blu-ray][Region Free]; yes there were the well documented `technical issues' but putting them to one side surely nobody who has seen any of it can deny the stunning visual and audio quality.

I grew up watching the series on television and subsequently spent a small fortune buying them all on VHS and DVD Star Trek the Next Generation: the Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD], but the huge improvements in these new Blu-ray versions completely justifies purchasing them once more in my opinion.

I'll start with a quick season overview before moving on to details of the set itself.

The second season of ST: TNG ran from 1988 to 1989, and due to his growing popularity following transmission of the first season, Lieutenant Commander Data played an increasingly central role, much as Lieutenant Commander Spock did from the original series. Many of the best episodes centred around the wonderful character that Brent Spiner bought to life, such as "The Measure of a Man", "Elementary, Dear Data" and "Pen Pals".

Lieutenant Geordi La Forge (LeVar Burton) was promoted to chief engineer, he had frequently shown his technical knowledge as the first season went on and this felt like a very natural progression for the character; I suppose I must not forget to mention young Wesley Crusher (Wil Wheaton), yes he was there and in my opinion he was just as annoying!

The beard made its first appearance on Commander Riker (Jonathan Frakes), and Lieutenant Worf (Michael Dorn) reacquainted himself with K'Ehleyr, who would one day provide Worf with his son Alexander.

The fantastic Diana Muldaur came on board as a replacement for Gates McFadden and played the ships new chief medical officer Dr. Katherine Pulaski, I think she was a great addition and it's a shame her character only stayed for the one year, it would have been most interesting to see how her character could have evolved.

The Enterprise's beautiful counselor, Deanna Troi (Marina Sirtis), continued to be an underused character although she does have some memorable moments with her mother Lwaxana, played brilliantly throughout the season by original series veteran Majel Barrett.

And last, but most certainly not least, we have the peerless Patrick Stewart in his role of Jean-Luc Picard; he built on his work from the first season and further convinced us of his superb leadership qualities, at the same time showing us that along with his intelligence and wisdom he was also an incredibly brave and courageous warrior.

We were once again treated to an appearance from Q (John DeLancie), and we had our first meetings with Whoopi Goldberg as Guinan and the Borg, really showing what the show was capable of producing.

The full list of 22 episodes featured on this Blu-ray box set are:

1. The Child
2. Where Silence Has Lease
3. Elementary, Dear Data
4. The Outrageous Okona
5. Loud as a Whisper
6. The Schizoid Man
7. Unnatural Selection
8. A Matter of Honor
9. The Measure of a Man
10. The Dauphin
11. Contagion
12. The Royale
13. Time Squared
14. The Icarus Factor
15. Pen Pals
16. Q Who
17. Samaritan Snare
18. Up the Long Ladder
19. Manhunt
20. The Emissary
21. Peak Performance
22. Shades of Gray

This was the shortest season of ST: TNG, with all other seasons having 3 or 4 more episodes, and this was due to a writers strike at the time in America.

This is the season that the show really started to take shape; yes, the first season certainly had its moments and laid down many of the important foundations that led to the show's success, but it could be a bit 'hit and miss' with respect to the quality of episodes and several of the stories were copies of ones from the original series.

The second season is far more consistent, it has a much more cinematic feel to it, and it includes some episodes that can stand proudly with the best from the entire cannon; The Measure of a Man, Time Squared and Q Who spring to mind and there is also Peak Performance, one of my personal all-time favourites.

This set is 5 discs, the first season having 6, with the discs having a combination of between three and five episodes and extra material.

The extras featured are largely in line with those in the first season collection, and there are also some really fascinating additions:

1. Episodic Promos
2. 1988 On-Air Season Two Promo
3. Energized! Season Two Tech Update (HD)
4. 1988 Reading Rainbows segment with LeVar Burton
5. 2012 Reading Rainbow iTunes Promo (HD)
6. Archival Mission Log: Departmental Briefing Year Two: Production
7. The Measure of a Man (HD Extended Version)
8. Audio Commentary on 'The Measure of a Man' with Melinda Snodgrass and Mike & Denise Okuda
9. The Measure of a Man (Hybrid Extended Version)
10. Gag Reel
11. Archival Mission Log: Inside Starfleet Archives: Penny Juday - Star Trek Coordinator
12. Archival Mission Log: Selected Crew Analysis Year Two
13. Archival Mission Log: Departmental Analysis Year Two: Memorable Missions
14. Deleted Scenes: The Icarus Factor, Up The Long Ladder
15. Audio Commentary on 'Q Who' with Dan Curry, Rob Bowman and Mike & Denise Okuda
16. REUNIFICATION: 25 Years after Star Trek: The Next Generation (HD)
17. MAKING IT SO: Continuing Star Trek: The Next Generation (HD)
18. Archival Mission Log: Mission Overview Year Two

The extras on this season two set really are excellent, with the two main features running to nearly two and a half hours long.

For me though the most intriguing extra is an extended HD version of the episode 'The Measure of a Man', considered by many to be one of the very best episodes of Star Trek ever.

This is the first time it has ever been made available and is actually a first cut of the episode, featuring deleted scenes and alternative camera angles that were thought lost; it has been found, cleaned up, reconstructed in high definition and has even had new two new visual effects added to integrate the original and the new material.

I would say that although this new version of the episode is probably no better than the original, which is no bad thing, as a long time fan who has seen the episode countless times it is really fascinating seeing it in this new cut.

Both the extended version and the original "network" cut of the episode are included in this Season 2 Blu-ray box set, so you will be able to compare and decide for yourself which one you think is best!

The featurette entitled `REUNIFICATION: 25 Years After Star Trek: The Next Generation' has been specially produced for this set; it features all the main cast members sitting round having a chat about their memories and experiences; it is just over an hour long and it really is fantastic, it is great fun and the cast clearly enjoy the reunion! It reminded me a lot of the excellent featurette 'The Captains Summit' available on the Star Trek Movie Boxset Star Trek: Films 1-10 Remastered Special Edition Box Set [Blu-ray] [2009].

The picture quality is once again simply stunning; but, BUT...... not consistently so.

My initial thoughts were that this second season is as much of a triumph as the preceding one, and for large parts it is.

The textures on the fabrics and other surfaces look almost good enough to touch, the detail on faces and hair also make you realise just how poor the VHS and DVD versions are, and the special effects shots do look far sharper.

However, following on from comments from other reviewers I have looked at the season in more detail and also compared it directly to the Season One (S1) release and I have to admit that some of the criticisms are correct.

On closer examination the effects shots just aren't as impressive as they are in S1, some scenes have varying degree's of clarity and the more I have watched the more I notice a 'fuzziness' with the black areas on screen.

I think the problem for me was that it's been a while since I watched the S1 Blu-ray and I have never before seen footage from S2 on a Blu-ray (I had seen footage prior to release but this was via the internet), so on initial viewing it does look tremendous; it's not until one casts a more critical eye over it that it's inconsistencies are apparent.

I would have thought that the advantage with the second season is that much of the original material has actually been preserved better than that from the first season and so the HD image should be even more astonishing; my thinking therefore followed that the team responsible for its remastering should have had an 'easier' job of things?

I have heard rumours that the team that worked on S2 were different from those who worked on S1; if this is indeed the case I hope this problem is corrected for S3.

Fortunately the sound is once more brilliant, 7.1 DTS-HD in English, and it is such a strange experience hearing these episodes in this way having spent years listening to them in just stereo, there are sounds I never noticed before and it gives me more of an appreciation for just how much detail the makers of the show went into.

The audio is also available in English Stereo Surround, French Mono, German Mono, Italian Mono, Japanese Mono and Spanish Mono.

There are subtitles provided in English for the Hearing Impaired, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Spanish and Swedish.

In summary ST:TNG is a landmark television series and season two was when things really started to 'click'; there are two ways to look at this release in my opinion.

Is it as impressive as the S1 release? No it isn't; there are inconsistencies in the transfer and it overall has less of the 'wow' factor.

Is it the best the S2 has ever looked? YES! Despite the aformentioned inconsistencies it still does look amazing at times and that coupled with the remastered audio makes the viewing experience a fantastic one.

I would say that if someone is having doubts over the purchase because of criticisms then they should try and watch an episode from this set and compare it to the same one on DVD; the difference will speak for itself.

When I first reviewed this set I gave it 5 stars, but having taken on board others concerns and then rewatching it and comparing to the previous season I have decided to lower my score to 4.

Ideally I would probably give the set 3 1/2, but this is not possible; the set is better than a 3 in my opinion so thus the 4!

Roll on Season Three!
1515 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
I have bought these Italian imports (makes me laff we are all European)
coz they are around £10 cheaper, than a box with some English writing on,
quality is just the same, all authorised by paramount.
Don't be ripped off for English things, if it is cheaper in any other country, buy it, the language is still in the original, English....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Only three stars as I am disappointed by the set as a whole. The package was purchased to complete the seven series' set as I have already own the series on VHS. The DVD discs all appear to be OK, but, so far, I have only previewed them and not yet watched the full discs (only arrived three days ago). This is an old set, having been released some time ago. However, despite a cellophane covering, I found the box slightly (finger)marked and scuffed, with no corresponding cellophane damage. On opening the box I found the booklet was missing. Not a major disaster, so far, but very annoying for something advertised as 'New', which it clearly isn't. I will miss the episode listing, whilst limited, I found it useful in the other boxsets. As for the episodes themselves, all show a willingness to develop the characters and storylines well, although some are better than others. For science fiction aficionados, this is a 'must have' boxset of DVDs, shame about the rest of the package.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Here, spread over six discs in four plastic cases that are inside one bigger cardboard box, are all twenty two forty three minute long [approx.] episodes of the second season of Star Trek: the Next Generation.

This show doesn't really click till it's third season. But this one is an improvement on the first, as all those involved steadily get used to it and find what works and what doesn't.

Jonathan Frakes gains a beard, loosens up a lot, and suddenly Riker becomes a three dimensional character.

The show starts to let you see something that would become a great strength. Characters interacting when not on duty. This is helped by the introduction of ship's bar Ten-Forward, which is run - in occasional appearances - by Whoopi Goldberg as enigmatic alien lady Guinan.

Doctor Crusher is no longer on board, and the ship's Doctor is now Diana Muldaur - twice a guest star in original series episodes - as Dr. Katherine Pulaski. A more veteran and stern lady than Crusher. They were going for a female McCoy here, and she has the occasional clash with the captain. But the character rarely gets the chance to shine and too often has little to do. Her attitude to Data being good characterisation but not something that makes her sympathetic.

These episodes have, like season one, also dated a fair bit. But as a whole, it's a stronger season. And a show that's getting there.

The episodes are as follows:

The child: Troi gets pregnant immaculately. The resulting child lives and learns rather quickly all about humanity. It does make for an interesting first contact idea if you can get past the alien impregnation aspect, but perhaps doesn't entirely succeed.

Where silence has lease: is also alien learning about humanity when the ship is trapped by a powerful being. This is an episode done on the cheap, as they sometimes had to be, but it does have a solid idea at it's heart.

Elementary, Dear Data: sees Data learning about deduction and accidentally creating a powerful holographic foe. An episode with some cloying moments but good style and a good antagonist.

The outrageous okona: sees a charming roguish trader landing the crew into a diplomatic struggle whilst data tries to learn about humour. This episode thinks it's funny. Whilst it has some good ideas, that makes it annoying.

Loud as a whisper: A mute alien diplomat with a unique way of communicating has a crisis when that method is dealt a blow. An original idea, but whether it succeeds or not is a matter of individual opinion.

The schizoid Man; another data showcase when a dying man puts his mind into Data's body. How it works depends on how much you like the character.

Unnatural selection: Pulaski finally gets something to do in a reasonably involving race against time when she contracts a disease.

A matter of honor: Riker spends time on a Klingon ship. And learns about them. Good solid star trek.

The measure of a man: this is also good solid star trek as data is put on trial to determine whether he's a man or a machine.

The dauphin: Wesley's in love with an alien girl and her bodyguard doesn't like it. An irksome episode that really doesn't know how to end with a very anti climatic last few moments.

Contagion: The Enterprise faces an alien computer virus and the Romulans. An episode that has dated a bit, but is still a pretty good race against time.

The Royale: Worf Data and Riker are trapped in a strange place on a strange world. An episode that just about comes off.

Time squared: Picard from the future appears, unable to tell the crew why they're going to die. Time travel stories were still fresh ideas at this point in the run, so this one still stands up well.

The Icarus factor: Riker and Worf both have personal dilemmas. None of which are that interesting.

Pen Pals: Data befriends an alien girl whilst Wesley has to run an away team. Solid science fiction.

Q who?: Q returns and shows Picard what humanity isn't ready for. The Borg. This episode pushes the season up to four stars. The Borg would later get overused. But in their first showing, they and Q pack all the menace you could possibly need.

Samaritan Snare: Has Geordi trapped by unusual aliens in an interesting main story. With an average B plot involving Picard and Wesley and medical matters.

Up the long ladder: Sterotypical Irish colonists and cloning issues in an episode with good ideas but embarrassing moments. And the weakest resolution to an opening scene ever.

Manhunt: Deanna's mother is back. In another comedy episode that thinks it's really funny. And thus isn't.

The Emissary: Worf has to deal with a former lover and Klingons in suspended animation. Both storylines are decent drama.

Peak Performance: War games are interrupted by the Ferengi. The morals of the tale are overplayed but it's pretty watchable.

Shades of Grey: a writer's strike left the season with just twenty two episodes. And with no scripts and writers one of the producers had to come up with a clip show to finish the season. Some clip shows can be good. This one is bad. Cheap and tired and with a painfully annoying 'funny' final scene. Even the producer who wrote it later said it was rubbish. Worst episode ever!

The season has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English French German Italian Spanish.

Subtitles: English Danish Dutch French German Italian Norwegian Spanish Swedish.

Disc six contains five features, all of which run from twelve to seventeen minutes.

Mission overview year two.
Selected crew analysis.
Memorable missions.

These, as with season one, look at the season and the crew and give anecdotes about the episodes using footage from the time and interviews done during production and in later years. All are quite interesting as retrospectives.

The fifth feature is Starfleet archives, which is a trip round the Star Trek vault at paramount which holds items from the show and movies. And is well worth a watch.

This season isn't quite as up to speed as the later ones. But it belongs in your collection. And you will come back to it more than season one.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first season of "Star Trek: The Next Generation" was a complete mess. So the next season had to be much better, right?

Well, yes and no. "Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2" was a definite improvement, especially since it lost much of the stifling smugness of the debut season... but it still wasn't terribly good, especially since it disposed with the likable Dr. Crusher in favor of the prickly sneering Dr. Pulaski. It has some truly classic, beautifully-written episodes ("Q Who," "Elementary Dear Data"), but it also suffers from some staggeringly awful ones ("Up The Long Ladder," "The Outrageous Okona").

Since Dr. Crusher has vanished without a trace (don't worry, she comes back), the Enterprise welcomes a new doctor, Dr. Pulaski (Diana Muldaur), who turns out to be obnoxious, condescending, demanding and picks on Data (Brent Spiner) for fun. She also arrives just in time for Deanna Troi (Marina Sirtis) to inexplicably become pregnant, after being essentially raped by a ball of energy. Much drama ensues.

Among the other adventures the crew has: Geordi (Levar Burton) accidentally creates a self-aware hologram; a deaf ambassador is left helpless when his assistants are killed; a dying scientist wants Data to help him achieve immortality; an aging virus threatens Pulaski's life; a destructive computer virus runs rampant through the ship; Data befriends a young child from a self-destructing world; a future version of Picard is found adrift, having survived the Enterprise's destruction; and Riker gets jabbed by a toxic thorn that triggers a clip show.

There are some staggeringly awful episodes in this season, such as "The Outrageous Okona" ("If you put funny teeth in your mouth, and jump around like an idiot... that is considered funny") or "Up The Long Ladder" (a ham-handed and irrational sermon on abortion, rife with grotesque Irish stereotypes). The show hadn't yet fully shaken off that first-season ridiculousness and preachiness, even though the quality of the overall season is substantially better.

... and yet, it also contains some staggeringly excellent classics, such as "The Measure of a Man" (in which Data must fight for his rights as an individual, rather than a piece of property) and "Q Who" (Q throws the Enterprise across the galaxy, warning them of a terrifying alien threat that is coming for them).

In other words, the second season of "Star Trek: The Next Generation" tended to seesaw wildly in quality, swinging between the sublime and the ridiculous. One thing was certainly improved -- there was greater depth and intelligence in these stories, and an increased awareness that moral and ethical issues do not (and should not) have an easy answer. Even the trickster Q reveals that he has more dimension and depth. Yes, there are some lapses (Riker killing his clones in "Up The Long Ladder"), but most of the time we have deeper examinations of the Prime Directive, the nature of artificial life, and so on.

Most of the other episodes are... okay. Neither brilliant nor staggeringly bad, they have the Enterprise crew embarking on some solid one-off episodes that puts them up against Klingon sleepers, a computer virus, diplomatic problems, and so on.

It also succeeds in making the characters much more likable -- Picard has softened considerably into a more paternal figure, Riker's youth is explored somewhat, and we see more of what shaped Worf into the Klingon he is today. But the greatest development is to Data -- he continues to branch out with the eagerness of a child, from the idea of having a "grandfather" to his continuing interest in Sherlock Holmes. And of course, he ceases to be just the token android, and instead must present himself as a sentient individual with rights.

And of course, there is Pulaski. I can only assume that the writers thought she would be like Leonard McCoy from the original series, with her prickliness, irreverence and aversion to transporters. But her traits are so exaggerated that she just seems condescending and demanding, without any warmth or redeeming characteristics. And her almost-obsessive picking on Data is like watching someone repeatedly kicking a child.

"Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2" is a vast improvement on the first season, but it was not yet the brilliant show it would later become. It's certainly worth watching, but some of the episodes should definitely be skipped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Fist of all: I'm not rating the show quality here. This rating and review pertains to the Blu-ray Disc release and its masterful accomplishment in image and sound quality, and overall presentation of said show.

Season one had already dazed me with its astounding re-mastering of ST:TNG. I never thought such amount of image detail could exist. It was like being blind all my life and suddenly starting to see. There's no better reason for BD to exist than to bring to life old recordings previously only available in "standard definition". This is the new "standard".

That said, they seem to have gone into further pains with the release of Season 2: there are more extras, more interviews and original content, such as deleted scenes, alternative cuts, and audio commentary (there's at least one episode per disc with alternative audio track with technical commentary, something that Season 1 was really missing). As with Season 1, all the original extra content previously released for the DVDs is here too.

I hope Season 3 comes with even more stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
ive probably been spoilt by season 3 and 4 which i bought at Christmas, within the first couple of minutes of "The Child", it is evident that this is a rush job. I was a bit disappointed but after a while you do forget about the picture quality. It goes from good to bad quite often, more so the bridge scenes. I would still recommend it as it is a good season, and sounds absolutely superb...Also it didnt come with the cardboard slipcase but Amazon are replacing it for me....recommended..but after watching other seasons, you will notice the poor quality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse