Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 May 2015
Wish these stock cubes weren't so expensive -- but I still buy buy them because they are soooooooooo tasty! The last batch I bought from Amazon were all well within their use-by date, which is important as they seem to lose a bit of their potency if you keep them way past their date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 September 2013
I have been using Star cubes for about 30 years, and to be able to get them from Amazon is terrific, I usually have to either buy in bulk on holidays, or get parcels sent over from Italy.

These ai Funghi Porcini Stock Cubes are perfect for so many things, especially mushroom risotto and perfect for soups and stews.

Star Stock Cubes will be found in the majority of Italian kitchens, and nothing I have tried in the UK comes close.

Heartily recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2013
They are not strong in the familiar porcini fragrance but a nice strong mushroom flavour with them. If you like mushrooms you'll like these.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2013
a stock cube that tastes of mushroom. Fry some mushrooms in a really healthy oil. Then fry some onion shedded or sliced but in butter (it makes the difference) add with mushroom stock from this cube and then blend everything together- if soup not thick enough you did not use enough mushroom - at least 500-750g of mushroom to one or two onions- enjoy

ps I usually drop in a chicken stock cube as well, that really makes the "mushroom" soup special
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2014
I used this product to produce a mushroom risotto, wow - it was delicious, the flavour of porcini in this product is absolutely beautiful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2014
So flexible with bags of flavour. Add half a cube to any stock and it brings out the flavour, and don't get me started on making a mushroom risotto. Excellent product good balance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2014
These stock cubes are just sensational. I consider them an essential for mushroom risotto and mushroom soup. I would not be without them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
These are superb! Bought some wild dried mushrooms and couldn't afford the Porcini so bought these stock cubes instead. Made a mushroom Risotto using dried woodland mushrooms and these stock cubes. The result was spectacular.Wonderful depth of flavor, these are going to be one of my store cupboard favorites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2014
If you want to make porcini risotto this ensures you get all the flavour. Put your dried porcini mushrooms in soak in stock before hand or just use normal mushrooms but either way adds that additional level of flavour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2014
It wasn't quite the same as actually rehydrating real dried porcini, but it did taste good. I'll use these in a pinch and perhaps add flavor with mushroom trimmings. Still, not a bad deal on Amazon so worth a buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)