Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Standing Tall
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 August 2004
I'm writing this review nearly a year after the release of this album....since then alot has happend to Kym Marsh's career...she released a a further single called 'sentimental' that charted at 35..and she was consequently dropped in January this year by her record label...To my knowledge she has now quit music and is currently in The west end in 'Saturday night fever'.
I have to say..after hearing this album when i bought it a year ago... i thought it was going to make Kym a solo atar in her own right! Having had a No.2 hit with her 1st single 'Cry a No.10 hit with Come on Over, and a No.9 Album - their seemed their was plently of steam left in her career. November 2003 came and Sentimental was released after a very weak promo campaign and charted at that very low position..So what went wrong? It seems as if Sentimental fell into the 'nice category' and didnt attract new fans+with the bad PR about her and Jack Ryders tempoary split..it made Sentimeantal flop.
Even though i knew it was a flop, there was so many much better songs that could have been released and turned her ailing career round! The title track is so fantastic she should have released it far sooner - it sounds like oasis crossed with Natalie Imbuglia, and i think could've been a huge hit. But not only that song but the utterly contagious 'Shine on Me'! It is beyond me why any record company management couldn't see this was probably the next best song after 'Cry'.- and in my opinion a top 5 hit, that should have been the third single. Even though those were the highlights, the album fits so well together that you can listen to it from beginning to end without skipping- and their are no fillers-In any case it was a pop travesty that with such an assured debut that Kym didn't at least get a 2nd album, she was a victim of a cut throat industry..I think this album is a must buy..if not just to hear the unreleased singles..that are fantastic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2003
After Kym Marsh quit Hear'say she spent time recording her album, and has now had two hit singles, 'Cry' and 'Come on Over'. Now the long-awaited album is released, and it is full of 15 Pop Anthems and Mind Blowing Ballads.
Starting off with 'Cry', the number 2 hit, this song is a sure favourite, and an acoustic based song, with a natural storyline in it. Kym follows 'Cry' with 'Come on Over' her second Uk top 10 hit, which is more upbeat, poppy, and fun to listen to.
Next is the rocky 'Sentimental' which is probably the best song on the album. This mature sounding song should be a single. With a lot of cool guitars, and Kym showing that she doesn't need to show off to create a perfect song for the album, this is great. The spoken verses in 'I think its gonna rain today' create a different sounding song to any other on album, and the chorus has a very catchy melody.
'After Goodbye' is the ultimate Pop Ballad - amazing. Kym shows her big range in this song, and the song is definitely one to remember, being a good choice for a single. 'The Girl I used to be' is a bit like 'Cry'. Starting acoustically, and building into a nice pop feel, this song is great, and is easy to listen to.
Near to the middle of the album now, but does the album go downhill? No! 'Standing Tall', the album title track sounds really good, and it could be a huge Pop anthem. Kym's voice shines through the song, and some guitar solos sound awesome! 'Cross Every River' uses just Acoustic Guitars, and Strings. It has a memorable, melodic tune, and Kym, again uses her voice without showing off, to create a strong, meaningful song.
Kym co-wrote 'Glow' and this is a bouncy, summery, pop tune, showing Kym Marsh to her best. 'Live Forever' uses a well-known melody from 'Knocking on Heavens Door', and sounds good. The song itself is not quite as good as some songs on the album, but certainly not disappointing.
'Shine on me' is an anthem, and stands out as being one of the best songs. Carrying an ultimate melody, whilst Kym Marsh sings to her best, 'Shine on me' is amazing. Kym Marsh co-wrote the acoustic song 'Because of you' and it is about what she feels for her children. One word for this song, - Angelic. Her voice sounds amazing, and everything goes into it.
'Here comes Heaven' is a nice pop tune, which reminds me of Emma Bunton. 'Tempted' is a guitar-based song, and is another highlight of the album. Non of the songs have let the album down yet, but what about he last song?
'Don't break my Heart' is a roof-raising ballad. It might be a cover, but Kym really makes it her own. She sounds very strong, and puts everything into it, belting some very long notes, and sounding her best - the perfect way to end an amazing album.
The Tracks all go from strength to strength and Kym Marsh proves that she is better than Hear'say, and has a truly amazing voice. She should have a long career, and this album is a great way to start it off. Well Done Kym.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2008
Kym Marsh's album. Where do you go?
Kym's a sexy woman, with deeply alluring rough edges. She grew up on a rough housing estate; worked for Ann Summers(!); started celeb-life fat in horrific Hear'say, and finished up marrying a failed soap actor ~ as well as regularly appearing in a famous soap opera herself. Quite a journey for one still quite young. Quite some pages written on...

So what about her album? What about the review?
Well in a review context: it has a few good songs and quite a lot of bad ones. 'Come On Over' is the star; solid acoustic strumming and Kym's seductive vocal make it a winner. 'Sentimental' also works quite well; Kym showing a range and an uncharacteristic lack of fear of doing something a bit different.
About a third of the way in, though, it starts getting bogged down by dreary ballads and predictable pap. 'After Goodbye' is weak, so too 'Here Comes Heaven', and the rest of 'Standing Tall' is sort of fair-to-middlin' with the exception of 'Cry' which is a mouldy stinkhorn.

A wholly predictable 3-star album. Over-produced to death, and not letting us see enough of Kym, battling valiantly against the double threat, real on the horizon, of the solo careers of Emma Bunton and, (gasp!) the Wicked Witch of the West, Mylene Klass.
She needn't have worried, neither did much better, but it must've hurt that they were so much posher.

Kym's living proof that winning one of these 'X-Factor' type reality shows doesn't automatically mean oblivion.
Cowell (Robson and Jerome, Clive Dunn, Bobby Bland and the Blandells etc), and new chimp at the tea party, Piers Morgan, must be dreaming of a success like Kym's. Unfortunately, as their 'sponsored' artiste's belt out yet another rancid cover version, they're merely making provision for their REAL positions in life as plumbers, driving instructors and shop-assistants.
After a mercifully brief tenure as showbiz royalty, they will deservedly disappear into the ether of gaseous has-beens. Cowell and Osbourne already bickering like children about the next monumental loser.

Kym's above all that. She's doing just fine on Britain's biggest, bestest drama series. She's looking good, and viewing figures are steady. Her and her extremely lucky husband have been through a bad patch (what is it with these celebrities!?) but are sorted (but for how long!?). She's even made up with Mylene, all the bitching and vileness long forgotten in a welter of sisterhood, leg-waxing and girly kisses.

'Standing Tall' is a warning to all those wannabes, huddled against the rain outside an antiseptic theatre, getting prodded til they're bruised by their parents and friends. A definite aura of the abattoir about them as they're herded into those terrible rooms, to be cruelly ridiculed and slighted by people who have no more discernable talent than they do - except being able to 'discover' joke novelty acts.
Dignity and self-respect are better than (this kind of) fame. It is literally..the fame of defeat.

Kym stood tall and prevailed, but she's looking down (under fabulously long anthracite eyelashes!) at the thousands who fell along the way.
Probably the most appropriate album title ever....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2004
Kym Marsh is so great and her debut album, Stand Tall is a brilliant effort!!! I absolutely loved this album from the first time I ever heard it at my friend's house and went out to buy it the next day!! My fave song on the album is "Sentimental"! What a nice love song! I cry everytime I hear it! Kym has definitely just got better and better since Popstars and I can't imagine her ever being in a band like Hear'say now because musically she is so mature! I just think her voice is great and it can only be compared to Tina Turner's or Whitney Houston's!!!! What a powerful singer! Go girl! Keep churnin out brill albums!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2003
Well we've all heard or seen the headlines of Kym Marsh. We've all formed opinions about her and her previous band of manufactured popstars.
I was all set to rubbish this album after her Hearsay attempt, but I thought I'd give it a listen.
My conclusion was summed up by a friend of mine who heard this playing in my car. "That's sounds good, who is it???"
Forget it's Kym Marsh, buy this album because it's actually really good.
I don't think this album will provide many single hits but listening to it as an album really works.
"Well done Kym" good effort.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2003
I was not a Fan of Hear'Say so i never really known about Kym Marsh then but when i heard her debut Single 'Cry' I Loved it got it when it came out, the same with 'Come on Over'.
Then i herd her Debut Album 'Standing Tall' was coming out i pre ordered so i got when it came out All The Tracks are mixed with Country, Rock Music i would highly recommend this Album who likes There Pop with a bit of Rock and Country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2003
GO KYM! It's your birthday! We're gonna party to your CD like it's your birthday!......or not. Despite the brilliance of Cry and the slightly mid-tempo ballad Come On Over the majority of tracks are rather slow,but who said that was a bad thing ......... Best Track: Cry...Worst Track:It's Gonna Rain Today. A good point is that it's not the sort of album that sounds the same all the way through, that after one listen you shove it to the back of your bedroom.It's a mixture of rock-tinted pop and slick soul with a touch of hot r'n'b to go along with the marvel of Marsh's music.For all her young fans my advice is to save up their pocket money up and buy this on Amazon.co.uk . Adults who like her,sit back,relax and listen to some very good music. After a month this CD'll be hot after being played so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2003
GO KYM! It's your birthday! We're gonna party to your CD like it's your birthday!......or not. Despite the brilliance of Cry and the slightly mid-tempo ballad Come On Over the majority of tracks are rather slow,but who said that was a bad thing ......... Best Track: Cry...Worst Track:It's Gonna Rain Today. A good point is that it's not the sort of album that sounds the same all the way through, that after one listen you shove it to the back of your bedroom.It's a mixture of rock-tinted pop and slick soul with a touch of hot r'n'b to go along with the marvel of Marsh's music.For all her young fans my advice is to save up their pocket money up and buy this on Amazon.co.uk . Adults who like her,sit back,relax and listen to some very good music. After a month this CD'll be hot after being played so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2003
I never really liked Hear'Say when i herd of them from Popstars, but when i herd Kym Marsh's first single 'Cry' i was blown away, I Loved the Song and her Voice reminded me of Natalie Imbruglia's - Torn.
Then i herd 'Come On Over' I thought this Song is one of the best i herd in a long time, I Loved it defintley the best Song on the Album.
I also like Senimental, After Goodbye, Standing Tall, Glow, Tempted and Don't Break My Heart.
I Just bought The Album and i love it, All of Kym's Songs on the Album are Brilliant.
I would recommended this album too anyone who loves There Pop with a bit of a twist with Country, Rock.
Well Done Kym you're debut Album 'Standing Tall' is Amazing and Brilliant i hope to hear more Music like this from you in the Future. xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2004
well wot can i say a well worth the money! kym has a fantastic album and its so filled with brill songs and her voice is out standing, even though i had all her singles before, the album its worth it! a mix of happy and some ballads, overall a really good ,easy listening and fun album! if your a fan you will love it, im still a fan! always will be and ive heard she has a new record contract so im sure kym will be back soon! my fav tracks are 'think its gonna rain today', 'shine on me', 'after goodbye', 'standing tall', 'cry','comr on over','sentimental' and 'Glow'<one of best on album! buy buy buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)