Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
179
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2008
It is a real shame. No, I'm not talking about the 'demise of Oasis', but I'm talking about this album. The shame is that it is so underrated as an Oasis album. It doesn't deserve the amount of criticism it received when released.

The thing is with this album is that it is much better than Be Here Now. Although the singles of that album were the best thing about it, the rest of the songs were devoid of any inspiration. However, many of the songs tackle Noel coming off drugs, the big comedown on the heydays in the nineties and even one about Liam's son.

There's no 'Live Forever' or 'Don't Look Back In Anger'. Don't expect any of these sort of stadium anthems because your not going to get any. The lead single 'Go Let It Out' is probably the nearest thing to the big anthem on this album. But that's the thing. The album is not about big anthems. Instead, psychedelia is brought to the fold, and while initially many of the songs may seem dull, give them time because they grow on you. The production is absolutely brilliant and not over produced like Be Here Now. The lyrics are probably the best Oasis have come up with. 'Gas Panic' is genius and is one of the best things I've ever heard from Oasis. Yes, 'Little James' has pretty uninspired lyrics but only for part of it and it is a sweet tune, not the disaster that I'd heard people say it was.

To be honest, there are two songs that are missable. Ironically, it's the two rockers 'Put Your Money Where Yer Mouth Is' and 'I Can See A Liar'. Lyrically dull and musically dull aswell, it is certainly not something that would make it on to 'Definitely Maybe'.

The songs don't hit you like the ones on 'Morning Glory', but they are more slow and hypnotic ones. You can't casually listen to this album, you need to give it its full attention, and if you do that, them I'm sure you'll find the brilliance that I found in it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
Despite the critics to this album, the tracks are extremely catchy once you have heard them a few times. The true oasis fan will appreciate this album, but it probily wont appeal to the commercial audience.Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Read bad things about this album...but I got it because I'm a bit of a completist...and I wanted all the Oasis studio albums...but to be honest, I ended up listening to it all the way through and ended up liking it...the first half of the album is quite stellar really...the second half fizzles out really...but as is the case with many Oasis albums...or many albums in general...standout songs for me...would be Go Let It Out, Gas Panic!, Who Feels Love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2003
The album kicks off with possibly the most original Oasis track ever written. 'Fuckin In The Bushes' opening drumbeat means that the album starts off with a bang, aided by some angry shouting, typical of the Gallaghers rock 'n' roll attitude. The lead guitars in the chorus are very effective and the rhythms are excellent. This is a blatent mission statement from Oasis showing that they mean business. The only downside of this track is that the production work is a little shabby, on the one hand making it more ragged and aggressive, but on the other hand taking away some of the quality of the track. However, overall this is another fantastic opening album track from Oasis.
Number 1 single 'Go Let It Out' follows and, whilst it's not the best Oasis single ever released, it is still a great track. Not as powerful as 'D'you Know What I Mean?' but still having the feel-good charm of 'Roll With It' and 'Shakermaker' and containing a classic "ugh" from Liam after the 1st chorus, 'Go Let It Out' builds up so much that it explodes with an crescendo of Liam's amazing vocal and another of Noels fantastic solo's. It may not be 'Live Forever' but don't underestimate 'Go Let It Out', it's a brilliant track.
So far so good. 'Who Feels Love?' is a fantastic psychadelic George Harrison style track. Very spiritual in lyrical content and nice use of backwards guitars. Again, not quite up to the standard of former glories, but we can't keep comparing everything Oasis do to the 'Definitely Maybe' and 'Morning Glory' days. Although it was maybe a bit too bland for radio airplay as a single, this is still a solid track.
'Put Yer Money Where Yer Mouth Is' is the first of the "weaker" tracks. Having read some reviews, this is classed as an "up-tempo rocker", which is true, but for those expecting 'Headshrinker' or 'Bring It On Down', you will be disapointed. The lyrics are the fundamental flaw but to be honest the music isn't that great either. To be honest, there are worse songs out there. However, for me this track doesn't cut the ice.
One thing worth noticing about 'Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants' is the contrast of lyrical quality. 'Where Did It All Go Wrong?', 'Who Feels Love?', 'Sunday Morning Call' and especially 'Gas Panic!' are fine examples of the excellent lyrics Noel is able to write. However, songs such as 'Put Yer Money Where Yer Mouth Is', 'Little James' and 'I Can See A Liar' suffer somewhat from bad lyrics. Liams 'Little James' is possibly the most tragic of these 3 as the 1st and 3rd verses are beautiful, very reflective and touching from Liam. Personally, in my opinion I think that the "nursery-rhyme-like" 2nd verse lets the song down though. However, Liam isn't stupid, he knew what he was writing and he probably intended for it to sound somewhat innocent and childlike to link in with the twinkling piano and choir. They almost pulled it off, and part of me respects them for it. However, the other half of me can't help feeling a little bit dissapointed that such a huge rock 'n' roll band are writing lyrics such as this. Lyrics aside the vocals are superb and the music is near perfect, although by the end of the album those church-choir effects are a little annoying, as they appear again in 'Sunday Morning Call'.
'Gas Panic!' is dark, sinister and cold and sounds like a more emphatic and glorified version of 'Fade-In Out' (one of 'Be Here Now's finest tracks). The claustrauphobic acoustic intro erupts into a grandious of rock, with lyrics crafted by Noel about the paranoia of cocaine psychosis, the perennial aftershock to the cocaine theme of 1995's title track 'Morning Glory' ("My family don't seem so familiar and my enemies all know my name"). The harmonica enhanced guitar solo is the icing on the cake. Best track on the album.
Close behind in second place is the classic 'Where Did It All Go Wrong?'. Noels vocal is the best since 'Talk Tonight' and 'Don't Look Back In Anger'. Again, brilliant lyrics and a great ending of guitars. Very powerful.
'Sunday Morning Call' is another Oasis great, although the previous track seems a more attractive proposition as a single release. The beauty of the lines "it's ok, it's alright" and the imensely powerful outro of "Will It Ever Work Out Right?", dealing with similar themes as 'Where Did It All Go Wrong?' Another beautifully crafted track.
'I Can See A Liar' is, musically, a classic Oasis rocker with a riff and guitar solo to rival some tracks from 'Definitely Maybe' and has another strong vocal from Liam. However, once again the lyrics falter. But could you really imagine Liam singing deep, thoughtful and meaningful lyrics to such a raucous tune?
'Roll It Over' is the most disappointing track on the album for me. While the verses are slightly emotive, the bridge is awful and the chorus a bit of a non-event. Some compare it to 'The Masterplan' and 'Champagne Supernova', a huge exagerration in my opinion, relying to heavily on Beatles licks, and with poor lyrics for the bridge and chorus.
A mixed bag, generally good though. Tracks 6, 7 and 8 deal with some of the problems the band has face, mainly the rock 'n' roll lifestyle and the come down off drugs. These are possibly the most personal tracks Noel has ever written. He seems to be getting a lot off his chest which, while not as good as the first 2 albums, makes this Oasis' most important album. It allows the band to put the past mistakes and drrug problems behind them, the parting with Bonehead and Guigsy is cast aside and this acts as a transition between the old Oasis line-up and the new one. Not brilliant, patchy in places, but when its good, its very, very good.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
Not sure why this got bad reviews I love it! Gas Panic is a tune. Couple of weak tracks on it but has some great songs too. Sunday Morning Call, Go Let it Out, Put your Money Where your Mouth is and Where did all go Wrong are stand out tracks for me.... along with Gas Panic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2000
This is quite an enjoyable album although not as good as Masterplan - has some good tracks on them and is still definitely one of my most planned albums I have. If you are a fan or even an occasional fan of Oasis music then get this album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 March 2010
The great thing about Oasis & Blur is that they both did their best albums AFTER the peak of the fame. I can see why people rate Definitely Maybe &(What's The Story) Morning Glory as peerless, but I honestly think that this album (like Blur) shows a band who have polished their sound & have yet to lose their creative brilliance.

Starting off with 'F*ckin' in the Bushes' (as featured in Snatch - Two Disc Set [DVD] [2000]), the album quickly shows that it is different from normal Oasis albums in daring to have a song without the two Gallagher brothers. 'Instrumentals' can be pretentious & boring (e.g. the start of 'Shine on You Crazy Diamond' by Pink Floyd), but this track is raw & different to many others (especially with the choruses created by a mellotron machine...)

'Go Let It Out' is similar to but better than 'Roll with It' in being the stereotypical single. Not my favourite song, but still better than many of their others & not a T-Rex chord in sight!

'Who feels Love' is what NME called 'a Beta Band rip-off'. Despite this, I found it better & more accessible that the Beta Band's stuff & since the Beta Band lost their muse, it serves as an interesting time capsule.

'Put Yer Money Where Yer Mouth is' is my favourite track. So raw that it could skin a cat at 50 paces & yet barely known. Why on Earth wasn't this the single?

'Little James' is appallingly lame. Liam Gallagher did better later on, but this song grates every time you hear "I wrote this song for you and your mum/ & that's all". It begs the question: why press it at all?

'Gas Panic!' is a confessional track unlike any other in Oasis' repertoir. Dealing with Noel's cocaine problems (yet oddly sung by Liam), I found this to be Oasis' most moving song (even above 'Acquiesce').

'Where did It All go Wrong?' was one of two tracks the critics liked & I kind of agree (although I think the critics ire at Oasis got the better of them for the first half of the album...)

'Sunday Morning Call' is the second one the critics liked. I see their point as it is powerfully soulful. Not my favourite, but beats what most other bands put on their albums.

'I Can See a Liar', along with 'Little James' grates a little as it sounds like its taken off the Beatles (though I can't place which song). Still, this is the only track that sounds ripped off & Oasis' previous 3 albums had far more teeth-grindingly cliched tracks.

'Roll it Over' is a good send off. Although it doesn't sound much at first, it does grow on you & lacks the annoying lines of 'Champagne Supernova' (e.g. "Slowly walking down the hall/ faster than a Cannon Ball"), or the non-existent send-off of Definitely Maybe.
So, all in all, I thought this was an excellent Oasis album, with a minimum of ripped-off rubbish & plenty of spirit & soul.

I understand that most won't agree with me, but I think that is due to the common perception that what is most popular is best. I disagree & find this album to be a diamond sadly lost beneath a sea of critical malaise following the death of 90's Brit Pop...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2006
Come on, this album is oustanding - its way better than the crappy "Heathen Chemistry" that was ruined by Liams awful atrocious love songs "Better Man" and the gay "Songbird". I want Oasis to rock! they're a rock band afterall not some poppy two chord song shite.

At least the so called awful Liam penned song "Little James" has some artistic integrity to it for crying out loud.

This album is so underated its not funny, and the fact that people are calling the pathetically flop "Don't Beleive the Truth" as a return to form is ridiculous - because that album is sad and - of course it contains more god awful love songs from Liam Gallaghar - "Love Like A Bomb your turning me on!" Yeah - state the ovious why don't you, why can't you use metaphors or something that does'nt sound so cheesy.

Of course Oasis used some background electronic swirls and sounds on this album but so what - who ever said different has to be bad!

Any way songs!!! Alright - the songs!

1. F*ckin in the Bushes - this is a great way to start the album - its an intrumental with weird voices too, its great.

2. Go Let It Out - great song, best on the album, like the start and then the guitar solo at the end.

3. Who feels love - sounds even better live.

4. Put yer money where your mouth is - Noel said he wanted to develop this song more, but that does'nt stop it from being great. I like the bit at the end where Noel sings "Watcha mouth Heayeahhh! Watcha Mouth".

5. Little James - Great song by Liam.

6. Gas Panic - now this is outstanding, this is the song Supersonic on acid!!

7. Where did it all go wrong - Another genius song by Noel, its a big thumbs up from me, absolute highlight.

8. Sunday Morning Call - Very Good stuff, was a single, never gets played live!!

9. I can see a liar - people say this song is trite - I tell you what, go to YOU TUBE and watch the David Letterman performance of this - its LOUD !!

10. Champagne Supernova - Great closer, Chamagne Supernovas cousin.

So all in all, the last great Oasis album where they actually did something exciting with the music, not like Heathen Chemistry and the latest catastrophe where everythings limited to three chords and no guitar solos!????

Get It!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2000
The problem with this record is that people want to like it too much, to believe Oasis are back above the herd again. The record is a step forward, with a new heavier sound; it does have its moments; and when they play the best songs live in the summer it'll blow you away. But Liam sounds like he's trying too hard, and his voice is almost a parody of the soaring snarl it once was. Some parts of the album aren't epic, simply cringe-making: the dreary "Who feels love" and the dismal "Little James" rear their ugly heads here.
Let's start with the good news. "F**kin' in the bushes" is hilarious, the sound of a band enjoying themselves again. "Sunday morning call" is lovely, and will be played to death when it's released. "Gas panic", "Put yer money where your mouth is", "Where did it all go wrong", and "Roll it over" are all fine too, infinitely better than most of the dross you'll hear this year. But there are some disasters : "Who feels love" goes on, and on, and on, much like the bloated "All around the world"; and if Liam had submitted "Little James" to a record company under a different name, he'd have been run out of town. Plus, Noel still can't pick his best songs: "Let's all make believe" pisses all over most of this album, and while they could afford to put classics on B-sides once, they can't anymore.
Overall then, there's more good than bad: it is different, the tour will be incendiary and when they do the next album with a fully functioning band rather than two plodders, it'll be something special. But for now, this is still only a glimpse of what they can do. Let's hope the next stage comes sooner rather than later.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
Too short...to self indulgent and to dreary and dark to be a good Oasis record this.

The positive? You won't need to listen to it much.

That doesn't mean this record doesn't have potential. But Lets all make believe, One Way Road, Carry Us All, Full On might of made better album tracks than b sides.

You could of replaced any of those with Put yer money, Little James, Where did it all go wrong and I can see a Liar.

And I am sure many songs didn't make it, which won't be seen till a remaster happens. Preferably by Owen Morris....its a shame they dropped him after the third album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)