Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 February 2013
This is a great book. I got this as i gave away my older "How to draw the Marvel way". I had hoped that this book would be a suitable replacement. It is not!. This book is great if you already have some talent but if you are just starting out i would advise getting "How to draw the Marvel way" first as there are more practical lessons on drawing and anatomy! Put the two books together and you are sorted! ;]
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2016
Just a rubbish introduction to the basics of figure drawing and perspective in a wide book that sticks out from your book shelf - which was non accidental, somewhat reflects Stan lees wide ego. Not at all in depth, you can basically just Google all this stuff as a brief introduction to comic art. If you're a kid interested in comic art this book would be adequite however if you want a deeper inisight into comic art you're not going to find it here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 28 December 2010
Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics is a starter guide to drawing comics aimed at beginners.

It introduces the world of comics and what you need to create them. It covers the basic topics like drawing, storytelling, finding work, etc. There are lots of useful comic creation tips discussed, complimented by examples from popular artists like Jack Kirby, Neal Adams, Frank Cho and the likes.

This isn't a technical book so there aren't any how-to or step-by-step tutorials. When you finish the book, you'll know what it takes to create comics but you'll have to get other comic drawing books to learn the technical skills. Most of the chapters introduced in this book are actually subjects that already have whole books devoted to them.

This book is recommended to beginners who have absolutely no prior knowledge on creating comics. That said, if you're past that stage, you should skip this and get books devoted to specific subjects.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
Stan Lee states in his introduction, in his inimitable style, that he only writes a 'how to draw comics book' every 30 years. He is of course a writer not an artist but thats not important right now. And it is those additional elements, 30 years worth of development in comics creation, that make this book interesting. 'How to draw comics the marvel way' has excellent chapters on drawing faces, anatomy and perspective. All these are the crucial elements of comics drawing. This book skirts over drawing faces, hands, and anatomy. Which is pretty disappointing, it doesn't add anything. Similarly its chapters on lettering and colouring are pretty weak - see the DC Comics guides for far more concise and relevant info.

The really interesting parts of this book, and I write as someone who has an ever growing pile of 'how to draw' books, are the parts on fore shortening and perspective in panels. Clear and interesting points. It's also notable for showing how to use 'Google sketch up' to plan panels, which is very nice too. The other strong point to this books are the examples of how NOT to do it. There are some lovely examples of comic art in varying styles. There are also some quite ropey ones too, which I suppose gives hope to the budding comic artist in a funny way.

I would say a worthwhile addition to the collector of these books. And also a great introduction. There is an extensive reading list included which covers all the great works in this field. It just seems like there are few missed opportunities to add to the great foundation 'How to draw comics the marvel way' provides.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
This is a book which discusses how to draw comics. While there a few drawings to follow, it is a book 'about' rather than a book on 'how' to. It is interesting as it tells you the different elements and explains the process and the roles. This is not a drawing book in the sense of tutorials but a book about how the drawing process in comics works. Well done another great book from Stan Lee. (And another one to suggest to my learners when I teach graphics narrative).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
ive been trying to improve my drawing for years , i dont have time for lessons due to work, most people who write books on "how to" aren't necessarily good writers or teachers, alot of books on drawing tend to over clutter with the text rather than the how to.

stan lee has proven him self a great writer and His skill glides you through the stages you need to master, however it is up to you to recognise which parts of your drawing you need to work on, and that might mean you'll have do your own research out side of the book as the detail is adequate but kept simple in order to get you drawing rather than keep you reading

, but that's really what will make you a better artist and this book helps you identify the stages of becoming a good comic book artist, its up to you to work on each stage and revisit them until your happy with them. Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Bought for my son. He liked it and has used some of the drawings to help draw his own. Very satisfied
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
A good book, with detail in areas such as, the history of comics, terminology, types of comic, the process of and jobs within making a comic, digital drawing, and basic shapes, but it could have done with more step by step figures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
A great book for my Granson's Christmas stocking filler. He was delighted on the morning and has had many happy hours drawing from this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
I bought this book for my boyfriends 11 year old brother, who loves Marvel comic characters, for Christmas. I wanted to get him a gift that would allow him to be creative rather than him playing video games all the time. He absolutely loved the book however I was hoping it would have a lot more step by step guides to drawing some of his favourite characters, but instead only had basic drawing techniques and mostly just talked about how marvel characters were designed and created. Maybe ideal for 12yrs +
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)