Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
34
4.8 out of 5 stars
Stalemate (The Red Gambit Series Book 3)
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


on 9 June 2015
THE BOOKS BRING TO LIGTH, WHAT MAY OF HAPPEN IN 1946, IT MAY ONE DAY HAPPEN
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
A stunning and all action continuity from where 'Breakthrough' left off? This latest volume takes the reader into devastating and intrigue fuelled battle of epic proportions that leaves you breathless as the chapters unfold? Some scenes left me with my fingers trembling as I turned the pages, such was the intensity of the action! The 'Red Gambit' series has been my find of the decade as far as reading goes and well done to the author for maintaing a very real and engaging storyline.

As this series has developed and the characters have come to the fore, the author weaves an extremely well considered story that leaves you stunned with some of the twists and turns that come along. Stalemate was brilliant to put it simply and once again takes you on a roller coaster of a ride through the battlefields, foxholes and HQ's of war torn Europe where East clashes with West.

Move over Mr Clancy there's a new 'Storm' in town and I can't wait for the next continuation of what has been an excellent read from this author!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
From the opening chapter to the closing sentence, the action is non stop. This is the 3rd book in the series and the pace is unrelenting. The battle scenes are second to none, though some people (not me) may find them disturbing. Anyone who loves a good war book will love this. The best thing is that there are 3 more books to come in the series. My only question is when is Otto Skorzeny going to appear.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Just like the previous books in the series, this was a great fun and entertaining read. The pacing is excellent and the action sequences well crafted.

It seems strange to mention 'research' when you are commenting on AH - however, I really do appreciate when authors take the time to get their facts right.

Looking forward to part 4.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
This book was so good that I bought part three straight away and read them both through. Gee is a great action writer though sometimes his historical/strategic perspective lets him down. The big hole in the Red Gambit series plot is the USSR/Japan alliance which would never have happened - Stalin spent most of the war criticising Mao's lack of zeal in fighting the Japanese who were a totally spent force by 1945. It would have taken more than a few knackered Panther tanks to revive their fortunes.

The European action is however blisteringly realistic.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Love this series. Looking forward to the next one, all too real. I love alternative history, this in my humble opinion ranks with the best. Yes there are small mistakes etc but as an avid reader on Kindle I have seen much worse. If you like this try "England Expects (Empires Lost)" or "The Whale Has Wings". So many good alternative history books to read! Fine author and so much detail in his books, will be patiently waiting for the next installment.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I chose a 5 star rating because this book hits all the buttons for this genre, fast well paced action excellent battle scenario's, not too much time wasted on anything but the action.
It's pretty much what I have always been looking for, I read the first three books in the series straight through and I was gutted the 4th and 5th were not available.
I hope the author gets the support to examine other scenario's
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
I got the first book in the series (Opening Moves) and once I started reading it had to get the others published so far.

The book in the 3rd in a series about a Soviet invasion of Europa at the end of the Second World War. This one deals with a major Russian offensive and how the Allies deal with it. The book is well thought out & I d=found it really enjoyable from start to finish
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Another excellent slice of alternative history goodness from Mr Gee. The writing is sharper and the novel is improved for having fewer and shorter diversions from the main action. The only request I would make is to reduce the number of deaths by burning, whether by flamethrower, napalm, alcohol, petrol, diesel etc etc. Can't wait for the next instalment.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Great book can't wait for the next book in the series. The fighting scenes are very good and the storylines keep you reading
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse