Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2012
Bought this to indulge in a bit of nostalgia after my wife saw a couple of late night repeats on a satellite channel and got hooked. We watched the whole box set in no time - St Elsewhere is still as good as ever. I would put it in the same category as Hill St Blues for era and watchability with some story lines confined to one episode and others used as a continuing thread.
Great series :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
i only watched the pilot and from that realised how OLD it was! The picture and sound were very wobbly but I'm not blaming anyone including AMAZON for that, just its age! The script was so old fashioned and frankly disappointing and I'm afraid not very enjoyable for me to watch. This is the first bad choice of TV series I've made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
old series but one of my favourites, takes me back!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
enjoyed this originally on the television would like the complete series to be issued on d v d soon please
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The nickname given to St. Eligius, a crumbling hospital in a tough part of Boston - its staff dedicated, exhausted, vulnerable.

Groundbreaking in 1982, the series attracted critical acclaim and a modest but loyal following. Although it now seems dated after the "ER" documentary style and adrenalin, there is still much to reward the viewer. In fact many may prefer to be spared the gory operations and the soapy excesses so rampant in current medical dramas.

Emphasis is very much on the patients and those tending them. Particularly impressive are Ed Flanders as Chief of Staff Westphall and Norman Lloyd as Administrator Auschlander. (He is a liver specialist now dying of liver cancer, but determined to be cheerful and active to the end.) The two represent the show's heart and humanity.

Here are chances to see Denzel Washington and David Morse before films took over, to catch glimpses of faces now famous - Ray Liotta as a patient, Tim Robbins chilling as an unrepentant young bomber.

22 fifty minute episodes. Much action and humour (although a few of the "comic" sub-plots are truly dire). One major irritation: most of the episodes are preceded by a few seconds of spoiler highlights.

A "must buy" for those with fond memories. Newcomers should also find much to please.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
What a show this was. The Hill Street Blues of the medical world, it had a great cast and storylines, and if you're into that sort of thing, a ton of of in-jokes, hidden references, and crossovers with other TV series, even ones that have been made since St. Elsewhere finished. And possibly the most unexpected series ending ever (or the biggest cop-out... you decide!)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2007
I always loved St. Elsewhere!! I bought season one a while ago. And I hope so much, that they will release the other seasons (2-6) too.
It's so long ago (almost 11 years now) since I saw the show on TV here.

EDIT August 2013:
OMG!! So many years later and still no other DVDs were released... It's a shame. This show was so great, all the seasons should come out on DVD!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2009
No problems with the lip sync but the five CD set was advertised as "complete first series" which it wasn't. There were 20 episodes in all. Main problem I found was that sub plots weren't followed to conclusion like Chandler's trial. You had to conclude he won because he was still there at the end, but the trial itself must have been a riveting episode and I was sorry it was just left in the air.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Fantastic trip down memory lane - still holds up after all these years. Remember why I fell in love with Denzel Washington!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
... always loved this programme and it is a joy to be able to watch it again! Am delighted to have purchased this item :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)