Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
Spy - Series 1-2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 November 2015
So well written and so very well acted. This series is actually quite funny and even appealed to "she who must be obeyed. "She" normally lacks much for a sense of, but is caught off guard and laughs frequently .
In the story, a divorced father in a go nowhere job goes for an interview and ends up inadvertently hired as an Mi-5 agent. The father has a intelligent 10 year old boy (Marcus) who is quite smart, but is caught in a custody battle between his pill addicted mom and his dad, who can only report publically that he is a civil service agent, and appears to have great disdain for having to spend time with his father. On-going competition here. The ex-wife is unable to contain her disdain for her ex husband throughout the series and constantly refers to upcoming court hearings, "make a note for." The father's new supervisor is a psychopathic crazy that feels others need to be killed in order to keep the Mi-5 status secret.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2015
These are very funny episodes. The acting is superb, the storyline is surreally bonkers and the humour is satisfyingly laugh- out-loud. Did I mention that it was funny? It is so good that, having watched all of the first dvd, I am rationing myself with the second. I simply don't want it to end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Silly but entertaining. I think seasons 1 was much better. The son is brilliant and the boss hilarious. I won't watch it again but feel not regret buying it. Have given my copy to Oxfam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2015
Family thought this was the most amusing series we have seen for a very long time, though you need to get used to it. I wasn't sure at first. If you like Yonderland and Horrible Histories you will probably enjoy this too. Robert Linsey is magnificent. Pity there was only two series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2014
I really liked this series on the TV so decided to purchase on DVD.... good laugh - amusing situations, strong characters and good one liners that stick in you mind to produce a chuckle whenever you remember them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
Brilliantly funny series, with a fantastic cast (Robert Lindsay is genius casting in this)!

Shame there aren't more series, but the two we have are perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Brilliant - such an underrated series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
I have watched both series of this programme and find it to be one of the funniest sitcoms on the TV for a long time. Robert Lindsay is brilliant as are all the other characters.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this MI5 spoof. Robert Lindsay is perfect as The Examiner. Darren Boyd plays the long suffering father of Marcus (a child with similar qualities to salt in a wound) wonderfully. All around a fun cast to spend an evening with.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2015
This is so funny. Robert Lindsay is excellent, although I wonder how his character got the job in MI5 :) There are some really bizzarre charactets apart from him too, and the top two must be the social workers in both season. I would have loved a season 3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)