Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
179
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2006
I bought A Spy By Nature after loving The Spanish Game and wanting to know how exactly Alec Milius came to be living in Madrid. The events are paraphrased in Spanish Game, but all the detail is here! It's fascinating to see what sort of character Alec Milius was in his mid-twenties. much more cocksure, amoral, greedy and ambitious; it made me realise what a subtle job Cumming had done in the second book, ageing and maturing his hero. Spy By Nature isn't as clean and well strcutured as The Spanish Game but as a pyschological study of what happens to someone working in the spy business it's probably the best book of its kind that I've ever read. Strongly recommended.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2007
There are a lot of plaudits surrounding Charles Cumming at the moment, being hailed as the latest British spy novelist carrying forward the tradition shaped by greats such as Graham Greene, John le Carre and Len Deighton. In terms of a first spy novel, this is not of the calibre of The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, but there's enough promise in it to make you realise this is not your average thriller. Most writers of spy thrillers can be smart, clever and engaging (current examples such as Tom Bradby, Henry Porter), but few are able to really get to grips with the moral ambiguity of the world of espionage. As you read A Spy by Nature though, you can tell the difference. It reeks of moral ambiguity.

Much of it lies in the creation of the novel's anti-hero, Alec Milius. He is a fantastically flawed character; a man who is able to lie and talk his way out of any situation, amoral, and comfortable leading the double life of a spy. However, he is also greedy, ambitious, and is not good at telling himself to quit while he is ahead. Alec Milius has much in common with Patricia Highsmith's similar creation of Thomas Ripley - you get that same buzz reading Alec Milius trying to charm his way out of very sticky situations. As with Thomas Ripley, the trick Charles Cumming uses is to make Alec Milius normal enough that you relate to him. His frustrations are that of most young men; a feeling of unfulfilled potential, an ambition to do better, a certain brashness indicating a lack of maturity. It's very convincing. Without the flawed Alec Milius, this would be another run-of-the-mill thriller. Most spy thriller writers (excepting Greene, Le Carre and Deighton) make the mistake of making the main character un upstanding super-man, so thank goodness Charles Cumming resisted this.

I won't mention the plot in any detail, as other reviewers have already done this. There are some criticisms of this book by some of the other reviewers, some which are I think justified. The book does seem to come in two clear parts - the first part the MI6 recruitment, the second the MI5 industrial espionage shenanigans. The reviewer mentioning the ex-girlfriend as the blindingly obvious `Achilles heel' is also right - it's a little bit obvious, but somehow underplayed as well. I got the impression that Charles Cumming wasn't too sure how to finish the book.

But I think the plusses easily outweigh the minuses. And it's tantalising to read an author who truly understands that great spy fiction relies on moral ambiguity, not just a snappy plot to tell the story.
11 comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2005
This young author's entry into the well-explored MI5 / SIS genre is enjoyable but unsatisfying. Protagonist Alec Milius stumbles into corporate espionage because it seems like an adventurous alternative to his going-nowhere-fast proto-adult life. The bulk of the book suspensefully describes his descent into an isolated world of lies. While I saw certain plot developments coming hundreds of pages before Alec did, I kept reading for the deftly portrayed characters and thrillingly claustrophobic atmosphere. Eventually, Alec's undiminished love for an ex-girlfriend ends up costing him everything. Cumming convincingly portrays Alec's lonely existence, complete with realistic details of tradecraft and minor characters. However, "A Spy By Nature" has major structural problems. It feels as if the author completely revised the plot about a hundred pages in. Those first hundred or so pages (before Alec gets involved in corporate espionage) introduce us at considerable length to Alec's fellow interviewees at MI5. All of them are fascinating characters, and all but one of them promptly vanish, never to be referred to again. The plot then takes off in a completely new direction. Another and more serious flaw is that Alec's ex-girlfriend, who involuntarily brings about his downfall, doesn't appear once until about page 400, when it's finally time for her to walk across the stage, holding up a sign that says "Hero's Achilles Heel," and vanish again. All in all, this book was readable thanks to its pacy prose and snappy dialogue, but Cumming needs to work on organizing his material.
11 comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Well, it's not Le Carré, that's for sure. Marginally diverting, with an accurate description of the Civil Service Selection Board (CSSB or sisby as he calls it) procedure. But the plot moves slowly, so slowly in parts that you begin to lose enthusiasm for continuing. His later novels are better.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
I bought this book because of the comparisons with John Le Carre and Len Deighton. However I was very disappointed. I found it so boring I nearly didn't finish it. I did not like the main character at all so couldn't get excited about anything he did or said. Nothing like Le Carre or Deighton in my opinion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2012
A promising start which failed to deliver. Alec Milius is an ambitious young man hoping to move up in the world and become a spy, a job he feels he would be good at. He attends an interview in an unprepossessing building and somehow or another is recruited into the world of industrial espionage. The story follows his progress of lack of it through pages and pages of extremely boring almost non events until murder, mayhem and possibly double cross start to happen. Alec Milius is a particularly unlikeable character full of his own importance. The story drags on and on for so long that by the last hundred or so pages I started skipping great chunks. Not for me I am afraid.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
I bought this by accident when my finger drifted over the Kindle 'buy it with one click' tab. Having said that I was going to read this at some point on the strength of having read 'A Foreign Country'.

A Foreign Country was one of the best novels I have read in a while but sadly a Spy by Nature was not. A flawed unlikeable central character and a shallow and rather silly plot. Endless pages of unnecessary padding and several characters described in depth who never appear again.

Alex Millius as the central character is so hopeless that I will not be reading any more of these novels.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
I bought this book after reading other books by Charles Cumming. I cannot believe that this book is written by the same author, is it? I am over half way through the book and still haven't got the plot yet. If I don't give up reading this I may well have to give up living. Terrible book, main character is a bore and is made more boring by the tedious writing. It is almost at teenage level, although it may well put teenagers off reading altogether. Very dissapointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2008
The spy novel has always, to me, demanded a higher calling of prose than the traditional thriller. That higher plane of reasoning, above squeamishness, emotion and moral relativity, all that great game stuff - it's the SAS to Tom Clancy's reliable GI. Of the current generation of spy novelists it's hard to pick a winner. Henry Porter is unimpeachable on detail and realism but cannot apparently write an action sequence to save his noble Blair-bothering life. David Wolstencroft is at heart a scriptwriter and his books read like treatments. And Charles Cumming: perhaps the only British writer yet to equal the authority of American spy novelists such as David Ignatius and Olen Steinhauer. Others have noted flaws: his character Alec is full of weaknesses, secondary characters appear in detail and are then consigned to fates we the reader shall apparently never know, the ending has all the resolution of Sopranos's famous black out... the fact that a sequel exists may or may not make this forgivable but Cummings' skill is give to place inside the mind of a serial deceiver in a minute-by -minute sense. Yes, there is a sense that much of what's here is fleshing out a fairly straightforward and basic plot but at the same time, reading those sequences is gripping - it's only afterwards you realize that much of the significant details and observations are in fact insignificant red herrings that provide merely colour and character. A meeting in a restaurant takes up 40 odd pages for example - good prose but at the end of which you'll think `well so what?' Much later of course, you might think of Fortner's petulant outburst over his mint choc chip in a different light...
Cumming gives us an assured and interesting introduction to the Alec Milius story though readers may bear in mind is like a Chinese meal: it takes ages to prepare, goes down pretty quickly and you're hungry again half an hour later. But that doesn't mean it didn't taste great.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
If this is how any spy operates, it is hard to see how we could ever find out anything. This has to rate as the most boring spy story I have ever read. It was fairly obvious from early on that the 2 Americans were up to something and for our hero? to imagine there would be no consequences from his actions has to be naïve in the extreme. Not surprised that Charles Cumming left SIS if this was his attitude, or anything similar. Won't be buying any more of these books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse