Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2014
Ask yourself...Do you like the Cover Photo ?? If Yes !! You will love the Book :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2008
The joy of this book can be summed up by two pictures:

The first is on page 141. It is of a Ford Cortina MK3 taking part in a World Sportscar Championship race in South Africa. Such oddity and charm sums up many of the pictures used. There are many images of the expected star cars and players of the decade such as Porsche, Alfa, Matra, but also many of the small teams that entered odd-ball contraptions and threw themselves up against the manufacturing giants at the highest level.

The second is a full page shot of what you eventually work out to be the iconic Gulf Porsche 917 car. It takes a while to identify them because they are pictured in a grotty garage workshop, stripped of their iconic pale blue and orange bodywork and being worked on by dirty overalled mechanics. It's a shot you can stare at for a long time, taking in the detail and atmosphere.

There are plenty of action shots and the captions, long and very informative about not just the image, but also the context, are well written and detailed enough for all but the most fussy rivet counters. Each year has a season summary and overall it's a book to dip in and out of regularly and never grow tired of.

I am a big fan of this series of books and this era of sportscar racing is also a personal favourite so the risk of disappointment was high. I need not have worried - it is a great book.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
This is a superb book. It gives you a year by year account of this wonderful decade for Sports Car racing. It does not just focus on Ferrari and Porsche but all the teams including Matra, Lola, Alfaromeo, Renault etc. The book is laid out with colour photos on every single page with approx half a page of writing giving a description referring to the photos, with a nice Foreword by Alain De Cadenet. There is not a lot of writing - for those who prefer pages of text then you may prefer something different but for me this is a lovely coffee table book. The photos are of very good quality and most of which I have never seen before, and I have seen plenty of this era. This book also documents races form all over the globe too, not just Le Mans and England.

I would recommend it to anybody who is a fan of 1970s Sports Car racing and great value for money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
This book is very good at reviewing the photographic history/recording pictorial reference of Sportscar Racing in the 1970's. It also complements the other books by Paul Parker for 1950-59 and 1960-69.

These are possibly essential read for those interested in both photographic images and benefit of the annual recording of Sportscar Racing through the years of each decade.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
As always a fantastic Photographic view of another decade of Sports Car Racing...
Unfortunatly for me it was neither a surprise or disapointment, that the Car's of the period, let it down.
There are an awful lot of what I would call 'Souped-up' Saloon Car's rather than Sports cars.
As someone who want's reference photo's for Slot-Car modelling, there are some really great photo's, especially
of car's being worked on / patched up in the pits.
I wasn't expecting too much from this book, as it's not a decade I'm interested in. I was however disapointed to see
exactly what sort of car's were being raced during this period.
If you have not bought a book in this series, don't start with this one. 1960's is the best / most interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
This is a fantastic book with beautiful photographs capturing the essence of this era.
What takes it the extra mile are the well written headers which are quite comprehensive in detail explaining the circumstances around each picture.
In a way this makes it almost read like a book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Not being an english native speaker, I may not have the right words to describe this book, but it is definitely superb. First, the photos are just beautiful; second, they make you discover a not well known but fascinating part of motorsport: sports cars of the seventies. Just great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
As all of Paul Parker's books on Sports Cars. This is very good with great unpublished photos and with people being identified. Its a great blast for the memory banks .This book completes the two earlier decades of 'Sports Car Racing in Camera' books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
This is the third volume of the excellent Sports Car Racing in Camera series and an absolute must for enthusiasts interested in the early post war
period of sports car racing. The format is excellent, instead of a history of each ten year period illustrated by photos, the whole book consists of photographs together with lengthy informative captions often running to more than twenty or thirty lines which then allows a reader to follow the development and successes off particular cars and teams, also Paul Parker has managed to source some of the best photographs taken with many of them in colour and the best ones in full page format. I have the first three volumes, my particular area of interest, and they are among my favourite books - well done Paul !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Bought as listed, new .found dust jacket scuffed ,and grey paper that is glued to inner of front board,ripped and creased.The book content quality ,photos etc are superb.l will be returning this copy for replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)