Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
86
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£557.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2002
...Rutger Hauer plays a seriously on-the-edge cop who lives on coffee and chocolate (and BIG guns). Having had one partner disappear while searching for a grisly serial murderer who then vanished, he is given as a replacement one Dick Durkin when the murders start again 12 months later.
Dick is a clean living ex-college graduate who runs every morning, and then has sex with his girlfriend, (except Sunday, when he skips the run!)
Hauer's character was clawed by the killer, and this has created a link, where Hauer can 'sense' when and where the next murder is going to happen. It is this that has put him on the edge, and made him a laughing stock amongst fellow officers.
There are some great scenes, especially the 'conversion' of Dirkin to Hauer's point of view. This film has some laugh-out-loud bits, and also some jump to the ceiling bits as well. Also, watch for the cameo appearance of the late and very lamented Ian Dury.
This is a great film, only mildly spoiled by the SFX of the killer at the end of film shoot-out in an abandoned waterlogged underground train station. Probably Hauer's best film to date.
A little known film that deserves a much greater audience and appreciation than it has so far received. There was talk of a second film, but alas, that never went anywhere.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
PLOT...
In a futuristic London 2008, the rising sea levels mean that large areas are under water. Rutger Hauer plays a cop who previously lost his partner to some strange creature. Now the creature is back and its after him.

This is a great sci-fi classic with plenty of great looking scenery and sets, cool action mainly in the form of bloody shoot-outs, cool cast, Rutger Hauer was a great actor back in the 90's, also stars Kim Cattrall and the great Pete Postlethwaite in a small role, good soundtrack too, the movie has a hint of blade runner and alien and predator 2 all in one, great effects too, cool looking alien, certainly one to pick up, great to see these little gems getting new releases.

Blu-ray picture is 1080p HD looks good, a slight step up from previous releases.
Features include a short 4-min reel of deleted Japanese scenes.
Region B only, 91-mins, 1991.
Filmed entirely on location in London England.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
Great cult film from the 1980's ruined by very poor presentation on this disc. Appears to be a German version as only the German language soundtrack is 5:1 Dolby Digital, English is a rather quirky 2:0 DD. Picture transfer is awful, looks like VHS - I know it's a dark film but come on...

I've gone with three stars as the movie is still enjoyable, but it deserves far better than the transfer here.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2007
This film does not have the greatest story line ever, and it will never cause you to question your philosophy on life. What it does have is good characterization, good acting, lots of energy, a dry sense of humour, a big monster, big guns, a believable London going down for the third time, Neil Duncan loosing the plot and Ian Dury.

I have for many years classed it as my favourite film. The people are believeable, the monster suitably nasty, the necessary pseudo-science doesn't make you want to shoot the film's scientific adviser, and it is very rewatchable.

The only drawback is its title. The phrase Split Second has no bearing on the film in any way whatsoever. It should really have been called:

"Dick Dirkin and the Psychic Cop meet Satan".

...maybe then people would have heard of it!

NB I have yet to get my hands on the DVD release, so cannot comment on the DVD quality or content.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not quite unmitigated junk, but not far off. What might happen if you mixed Lethal Weapon and Alien together and took away 90% of both budgets.
The scenario is pretty decent; a monster stalking a semi-submerged future London; a traumatised, trigger-happy cop partnered with a college-boy detective; a series of gory murders which might be supernatural...
But none of this hangs together as the plot progresses. For instance, the killer sends the cops an ice-packed half-eaten human heart. Later in the movie, it's obvious that the killer couldn't possibly have popped into a Post Office to send a parcel. Victims are mercilessly ripped apart - or not, if they happen to be the hero's girlfriend, in which case she gets barely touched, or conveniently kidnapped.
Plot holes everywhere, dodgy script, dreadful effects, a monster which owes everything to HR Giger (but apprantly they couldn't afford the moving jaw).
Best watched very late at night, after a long drinking session.
3/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
I love the movie, but the picture quality is absolute garbage, it's on par with really cheap DVDs from the early 2000s. There's grain everywhere, details are non-existent. Deleted scenes (the only bonus there is) look worse than the worst VCDs I've seen! They look worse than most VHS tapes! I won't even metion there's no subtitles at all. I've paid almost 9 GBP for this. The worst blu-ray release ever.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
I had forgotten how much fun this movie is - I got into Rutger Hauer's movies after Bladerunner and was rarely disappointed. This one has elements of mad Max (my all time favorite movie), Alien, Lethal Weapon and a hint of Bladerunner but also has its tongue firmly in its cheek. Set in London of 2014(!), global warming, flooding, pollution - a dystopian nightmare with a genetic mutation eating bits of peoples' hearts. Good to see Ian Dury in a rare cameo. I like the way his ultra straight partner (Dick Durkin) becomes corrupted over teh course of the movie, ending up worse than the lead character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Made in 1991 & set in a flooded London in 2008 this is one of my favorite Rutger Hauer movies and have been waiting for years to get it on disc.Owned it for years on an old EIV video and watching again during the recent weather seemed to make it more effective.A little cheesy and dated now but still enjoyable.Made to cash in on the successful Preditor series this serial killer/creature feature still entertains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
One of my all time favourite films. I was put off at first by some of the reviews about the country of origin, but as I know this film very well from video days I bought it because I just had to see it again. Don't be put off by negative reviews, there is nothing wrong with the quality or sound and it certainly is not 'dubbed'. I call this film 'Bigger Guns' which I think is a better name/description for this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2015
I remember Split Second being a rather popular rental title in the early 90s and everyone seemed to have seen it but me. Even the reviews I read at the time were generally favorable despite the dubious plot synopsis. Now, all this time later when I had all but completely forgotten that the movie even exists, I gave it a go. It's not good.

Set in a future 2008 London this is not a city permanently haloed by TV choppers circling the HSBC building capturing footage to illustrate the recent banking crisis to half-witted viewers. No, this is a gloomier alternate London that has no financial district and has been flooded by global warming and torrential rain. Rats thrive in the shadows, decay and despair have stained every backdrop, and a serial killer is stalking the streets. Tough cop Harley Stone (Rutger Hauer, slumming it as usual) has a vendetta with said killer after the death of his partner but uses a new-found psychic connection to his advantage. His new, goofball partner immerses himself in occult research and tries to deliver expository dialogue on the nature of the killer but it's all a load of codswallop.

Split Second tries to present itself as a low-budget hybrid of Blade Runner and Predator 2 but instead is more like Friday the 13th crossed with Alien. The final "reveal" of the killer is very disappointing and makes no sense whatsoever. Not only does it look like it was made out of bin liners and paste but its physicality does not fit with anything that it has done throughout the movie. And why is it wearing a helmet? Even the tagline makes no sense. "He's seen the future and now he has to kill it." Say what???

The filmmakers have no clue what this thing is supposed to be. Extra terrestrial? Mutant? Demon? Devil? All of the above and none of the above? It's never defined, it doesn't add up. They chuck a smearing of hokum into the exposition hoping that some of it will work but it simply doesn't. Fast and Furious creator Gary Scott Thompson is the man behind the script but it's obvious that London was not the original location (perhaps New York as it is liable to flooding in the future) and has merely but cut-and-pasted despite localisation issues (UK cops are not armed with guns).

The movie has some satisfyingly rough edges, particularly in the overlit and grainy cinematography that will remind of other British horror films of the same vintage such as Hellraiser or Paperhouse. Kim Cattrall shows us her pleasing breasts a few times, and the cheap synth score (by no one you've ever heard of) fits the grimy atmosphere. There are a couple of nice aerial shots of a London long gone but that's it for establishing the location.

Since the climax was helmed by a completely different director I can't shake the notion that there was some behind-the-scenes trouble. The ending is so disappointing and rushed but I was still sort of glad that it was over. Split Second squanders the potential of the setting and theme and is never all it could be.

The Blu-ray looks pretty awful in 1.78:1 1080p, but I am sure it is still the best the film has ever looked. The grainy photography and bright, white lighting make it difficult to master this film in a decent way and there are many scenes that lack HD detail. The LPCM 2.0 sound is better than expected. The only extras are the deleted scenes in a quality worse than long-play VHS.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)