Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2013
Provides confirmation of Christianity for the 21st century without the jargon of earlier generations. I would recommend it to those moving from the anachronistic literal interpretation of texts and seeking a clear expression of the more than literal meaning of the faith. It more than met my expectations as it was not only a good read but will be a useful resource to refer to when needing to refresh and clarify my thinking on particular biblical words and terms. It will also be useful for those who draw their understanding of Christianity from Dawkins or the secular press to enable them to understand that there are those unholding the essence of Christianity who do not now and have not for the past half century held literal interpretations left over from the Victorian era. Borg brings 21st century scholarship and applies it to the ordinary reader's understanding for the 21st century.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
I found it difficult to put this book down and read it in less than a week. Borg takes fundamentalist, ill informed, simplistic and literalist beliefs and clears away chaff leaving good healthy wheat. A friend of mine, who attends the nice but THE BIBLE IS TRUE IN ONE SENSE ONLY AND THAT IS LITERAL AND WRITTEN PERSONALLY BY GOD SO YOU MUST NOT USE YOUR BRAIN kind of church and has been wondering how much longer she can keep going, felt herself let out of a metaphorical prison after reading it. There was one chapter where I didn't totally go along with Borg but in the main it was everything I learned whilst studying for a degree but put in a very straightforward manner. If you are tired of the miserable sinners approach to Christianity and want a read which gives alternative ways to the wonderful rich theology of the Bible do give it a go. All the words that are used without thought of their original meaning and which can make church services either opaque or depressing are explained in a scholarly but simple, caring way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Borg writes well and aims to rediscover the basic meanings of some of the key words of the Christian faith. He does it very well and prompted a good many plaudits from me, anyway. Not that I always agreed with him (notably in his treatment of "righteous" and "righteousness." But this book is instructive and valuable in attempting to move back to original meanings. most of the time it prompts in the reader a heartfelt "thank goodness for that."

Very much worth reading - and keeping on the bookshelf.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Intruiging and readable walk through Borg's definition / discussions on various Christian terms and ideas. Worth a read. If you are a literalist right wing Believer in BIblical inerrancy you might find it challenging. For the rest of us it's a great addition to the canon of helpful texts that allow us to hold onto faith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
A down to earth approach to terms that the church has got so used to using that most have forgotten what they really mean - so how they be communicated to those who dont understand the terms ... well, here is the answer - ready 'Speaking Christian' - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
looking at those words we use and misuse so often in our Christian faith - and that confuse people outside the church so much - a down to earth and very thought provoking assessment of what we really mean by what we say. Won't appeal to those whose mind is already set in concrete, but for those prepared to think this is good find
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
The book examines traditional Christian terminology and challenges 'accepted' meanings - it is similar to much of Borg's writing in its thesis that the Christian life is not primarily about believing the literal truth of a set of propositional statments, but about entering into a relationship with that to which the Christian tradition points - God, the risen living Christ, and the Spirit. To believe in God is to trust in and belove God. Borg offers an attractive and compelling theology for those who struggle with seeing Chrstianity as about a requirement and effort of the intellect to believe the factual truth of a set of statements that one may find difficult to embrace; he may appeal less to those who see his message as eroding central 'truths'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
The late great Marcus Borg at his best. Read it and recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This book explains what Christianity is really about, and helps to dispel some common misconceptions. Worth reading if you think religion is just old hat for superstitious idiots.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
If you have grown tired and frustrated with the 'heaven and hell' framework that much of mainline Christianity bases its biblical understanding on, then this book is for you. I have never accepted a 'literal-factual' interpretation of Scripture but have struggled to articulate an alternative understanding of my Christian lifestyle. This book has liberated me from these constraints and will liberate you too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)