Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2014
Reading this book massively boosted confidence in myself to achieve my dreams, to follow my instincts and helped me learn that age and experience is never guaranteed to beat passion and drive.

Ian is a truly exceptional writer, relating experiences and learnings throughout his remarkable career to 6 essential pieces of advice that every single reader can gain something from. Refreshingly, Ian also talks about any mistakes along the way giving you a true, honest insight into a brilliant creative career. In addition there are plenty of interesting insights and stories from leading figures and brilliant innovators showing just how important the principals talked about in Spark For The Fire are.

Unlike other books written on similar topics this is an easy, inspiring read. Whether you are looking for progress in your job, following a dream or simply looking for inspiration, reading this will help you at some point in your career. Every single time you find yourself in doubt or in times of uncertainty, refer back to Spark For The Fire. Remember the 6 essential rules explained by Ian and you can not go wrong.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
I really recommend this book to anyone who needs a good dose of inspiration and motivation in their career (or anyone who wants to kickstart a career), whether they're in a creative industry or not.

Taken as a whole the book is an uplifting read, but there's also many handy tips and ideas to apply personally and professionally to help push yourself and to help you reconsider your self-worth and desires.

Hopefully Ian will publish more in the future!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I'm like a lot of people these days who buy books and let them collect dust. However, Spark for the Fire became one of those rare books I actually managed to read, cover to cover, and a book I will always keep.

I've never turned the corners down in a book before but this book made me do just that... 15 times! I found some pages to be so inspirational that I had to turn the corners down so I could come back at any time to get that inspiration hit again.

Something I was impressed about the most was the knowledge and writing style of the author, way before his years. Anyone would think you were reading something written by one of the industry's legends... I was consistently blown away by the words of wisdom and thought-provoking words of Ian Wharton, let alone those written by contributions from other top people in the industry.

So, when you next go on holiday, leave your social media world and email behind, get a copy of this book and read it whilst travelling or even on the beach. This is what I did and I returned from holiday buzzing and sparked with renewed energy to make even better things happen in my digital world.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
One of the most inspiring reads this year.

Lucky enough to see Ian at BLAB in Manchester a few years back, his talk inspired me to better myself as a creative and led to me producing my first short film. Years later, Spark for the Fire has done it again.

With insight from Ian's personal/professional journey and accompanied with the wise words from some of the industry's leading creatives, Spark for the Fire shows how having a youthful and fearless approach to creativity can be the most important thing.

Ian's passion for all things creative is infectious, and I am motivated now more than ever to take my career to the next level.

A thoroughly enjoyable and quick read, I cannot recommend this book enough!

Dare to fail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This is a quick, easy and inspiring read for anyone who wants to re-/ignite their creativity. Ian is an expert in his field who interviewed his peers in order to relay some fantastic stories, as well as advice. I read the book in one sitting and loved every bit of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
After reading this book I've never felt more enthusiastic about pressing ahead in the creative field with a new working attitude that anything is possible. I really enjoyed the thought-provoking quotes from inspirational minds of our past and present. The honest account of Ian's professional hurdles and triumphs faced over his career gives great substance to his core messages.

Ian flips traditional logic on its head and throw's innovative ideas right at you which are incredibly refreshing to read. This is a deeply motivating book that any young or experienced creative will benefit from.

Get inspired and read this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
What a small little treasure.

This is without a doubt one of the most inspiring and thought provoking things I have read recently. You can read it in 1-2 sessions as it is quite small and it is worth going over certain parts again. It is quite thought provoking and might as well help you move out of that stagnant position or push you to ask yourself if what you are doing is worth it or if you should fight for your passion. Lovely bits about work ethic, play at work, being a polymath and pushing yourself.

The interviews add a lot to the book without distracting from the narrative of the author. Recommended +++
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Very easy to read, massively inspiring and above all - encouraging. Spark for the fire is a great book for those who are passionate about what they do and who are hungry to push things forward. We live in very exciting times when the opportunity to share and do great things is huge, and Ian's book helps you realise that all you have to do is take it and run with it. Packed with industry insights, fascinating anecdotes and great advice, this book should be on the shelves of all creatives - both young and old.

Read it again and again, it will always give you something fresh to spur you on to great things. Loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
An inspiring read for anyone starting off or wanting to boost their career to the next level. This book is full of great tips and advice that's usable in day to day life that will ultimately lead to a more creative outlook on your career. Especially the more creative roles where taking a risk could make or break a deal.
Ian Wharton teaches you that mistakes are OK and just like Google and their software Google Wave -that failed miserably- but they learnt from their mistakes and in the process of development had pushed the boundaries of computer science to a new level.
In Chapter 1 he teaches you to 'Embrace the Ridiculous' with the help of a childhood anecdote from his teens where his imagination ran wild and he had nothing holding him back and not a worry in the world. He was asked to do something creative with an owl so rather than ask questions, he just went and got a man who had a couple of owls to see what would happen. It was his first job with two owls, a guy with some camera equipment and a blue screen. They filmed the owl for awhile and used the blue screen to superimpose it onto a website, the owl would sit in the top corner of the website and only every now and again slightly move, making the visitor wonder if it did more or if their eyes were playing tricks on them. In the end they would hang around for a little longer, just to see. In its first month the site had 50,000 unique hits and to top it off the site won a few awards.

Favourite Quotes

"Your choices should never, ever just be about the money. If they are, things are bound to end in tears." - Ian Wharton
"Be cavalier; dare to fail" - Ian Wharton
"Because whats worse than failure, is failure without learning" - Adam Bird
"Perfectionism can stifle creativity" - Nick Park
"Never try to be the best. Instead, try to be second best"- Fashion Designer Paul Smith
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This is a must have addition for every single creative graduate out there (or anyone in-fact looking to re-ignite their career).
Keep it in your bag, make notes, highlight sections, fold corners, this is a book to inspire and be used, not just read.

I've read this book multiple times already and still hearing the humble beginnings of some of the big names in the creative industry, and of course along with Ian's current journey, makes me realise once more that anything is possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)