Sources: The Sleeping Bag... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sources: The Sleeping Bag Records Anthology

Box Set, Remastered

Price: £19.87 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, Original recording remastered, 17 Jul 2015
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Frequently bought together

  • Sources: The Sleeping Bag Records Anthology
  • +
  • Sources: The Fresh Records Anthology
Total price: £35.76
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (17 July 2015)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Box set, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Harmless
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 164,830 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Week End - Class Action featuring Chris Wiltshire
  2. Clean On Your Bean #1 - Dinosaur L
  3. Somebody New - Jamaica Girls
  4. Chill Pill - Sound Of JHS 126 Brooklyn
  5. Tiger Stripes - Felix
  6. In The Corn Belt - Dinosaur L
  7. Treehouse/School Bell - Indian Ocean
  8. Radio Rhythm (S - I
  9. 5 Minutes - Bonzo Goes To Washington
  10. Your Life - Konk
  11. Go Bang! - Dinosaur L

Disc: 2

  1. Come Into My Life - Joyce Sims
  2. Fresh Is The Word - Mantronix with MC Tee
  3. Let's Dub - Nocera
  4. The Mighty Hard Rocker - Cash Money & Marvelous
  5. Ladies - Mantronix
  6. Cumin' Up - Too Badd
  7. Johnny The Fox - Tricky Tee
  8. With Or Without You - Ann
  9. Comin' In The House - Mikey D & The LA Posse
  10. It's Alright Now - Solid Posse
  11. Bassline - Mantronix
  12. Just Waiting For You - Ann
  13. All & All - Joyce Sims
  14. Who Is It? - Mantronix

Disc: 3

  1. Jump Back - Dhar Braxton
  2. I Can't Wait - Kariya
  3. I Can't Wait For Too Long - Joe Church
  4. What Am I Gonna Do - Tafuri
  5. Come Back Lover - Richard Valentine
  6. Happiness - Nicole
  7. Stay With You - Dubb Clubb
  8. Summertime Summertime - Nocera
  9. Tell Me That You Like It - Chocolette
  10. Open Up Your Heart - Raiana Paige
  11. Don't Play Me Raw - Ecstasy
  12. Let Me Love You For Tonight - Kariya

Product description

Product Description

Sources is a brand new series which will examine the output of a number of extremely influential independent U.S. labels throughout the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s. In an age where corporate anonymity reigns supreme and music is being treated like aural wallpaper, the Sources series will go back to a time when record labels really meant something via their A&R policies, their ground-breaking releases, their everyday modus-operandi and their general philosophies. What made these operations unique? How did they manage to compete with the major companies? How did they protect their artist rosters? What sort of people ran these operations and how did they manage to survive in the cut-throat music business?

Bill Brewster, co-founder of the influential DJ History website and forum and author of the acclaimed “Last Night A D.J. Saved My Life” will be compiling and writing the sleeve notes for the series. The first six releases will concentrate on 6 New York independent labels which have each been massively influential in the evolvement of Dance Music over the last 30+ years – Easy Street, Fresh, Sleeping Bag, Sam, Streetwise and P&P.

Each 3 x CD package will be full of lovingly re-mastered original 12” mixes as selected by Bill. These will include many tracks which have never made it to CD before and you can be sure that a variety of ‘secret weapons’ will emerge from each of these packages! All notes and scans will be included in a 16 page colour booklet which fits beautifully within the 3CD superior digipack.

The third Sources package comes from one perhaps one of the most radical of the New York underground independent labels in several different areas - Avant-Garde, Dance, Hip-Hop/Rap and Freestyle, so welcome to the one and only Sleeping Bag Records from New York. Founded in 1981 by the Avante-Garde musician Arthur Russell together with Will Socolov and Juggy Gayles, the label kicked off with the seminal “Go Bang!” by Dinosaur L aka Arthur Russell and quickly established itself with further dancefloor smashes from Class Action, the Jamaica Girls and Konk among others. However undoubtedly one of Sleeping Bag’s most significant signings would turn out to be producer extraordinaire Kurtis Mantronik, who, with rapper MC Tee under the name Mantronix, would produce many of the most cutting-edge Hip-Hip/Rap and Electro classics of the 1980s including “Needle To The Groove”, “Ladies”, “Bassline” and “Who Is It”, all of which are included here as well as producing a brace of international smash hits for Joyce Sims including the electro-funk masterpiece “(You Are My) All & All” and the super-slinky “Come Into My Life”.

Sleeping Bag would remain at the forefront of dance music culture with numerous other significant dance-floor smashes from the likes of Tricky Tee, Felix, Nocera, Dhar Braxton and Kariya’s brilliant “Let Me Love For Tonight” among many others. In many ways Sleeping Bag exemplified the perfect New York independent label of the 1980s with its shrewd A&R philosophy and an interesting balance of staff who were divided between old music industry veterans together with a brace of young keen new inductees who kept the label close to the streets – a winning combination all round.

Out of all the labels featured in the Sources series, Sleeping Bag was the most consistently successful in its era and was undoubtedly the label which was the most hardwired into the sensibilities of the times. This is the most comprehensive anthology available of one of the greatest independent record labels of the 1980s."

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 4.3 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
johnny blaze
5.0 out of 5 starsAwesome cd love every track
25 January 2016 - Published on
Verified Purchase
DJ Shamrock
3.0 out of 5 starsNot good for DJs
29 October 2016 - Published on
6 people found this helpful.
George L. Stevens
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
5 November 2015 - Published on
Verified Purchase
Chris Landsberg
5.0 out of 5 stars1980s NYC Dance Floor Dominance
25 July 2016 - Published on
2 people found this helpful.