Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
18
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2001
I just finished with his Liverpool days and felt I needed to review now. As a Liverpool fan, I was very disturbed to read his views about the Liverpool board. Tommy Smith loses all my respect too and revelations on Phil Thompson are no surprise. I felt for Souness as he described his operation experiences and beyond, but all the time, I felt that his excuses for his failures as manager at Liverpool were those of a paranoid man. At Rangers, he was a target of hate, but was given more than most mangers to spend at will at building an average team that never did well in Europe...he never did explain that. But at Liverpool, he was an idol who threw away all the respect that he earned as a player by making many poor buys. He never explains his tactics, his training regime and the changes at Anfield, and so he still leaves himself open to criticism. Blaming everyone around him is poor management, and maybe that is what we really learn about him. He was simply a man that did not know how to manage players never mind a club that demanded success every week. The book is full of excuses and Souness does not realize that he is the reason for his own problems.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2002
graeme souness tells all in this no hold bars autobiography.starting with his time in glasgow and the pressure to be the best in scotland.he goes on to admit his own faults at liverpool with only a f.a.cup to his name.the most interesting part is the way he describes the passion of the turkish fans while managing galatasaray.a must for all football fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2000
Graeme Souness has tried to be honest with his appraisal of his managerial career. But, it left the reader wanting more information particularly as to what happened at Liverpool and Southampton. Graeme,is a determined man and this comes through in his book. He was quite frank about his heart problems and how he encountered his initial problems at Rangers. I feel Rangers are benefitting from his managerial approach and style to this day. He admits that he could have been less hasty in his decisions at Liverpool , but the club have benefitted with the emergence og Redknapp and Fowler.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Graeme Souness has tried to be honest with his appraisal of his managerial career. But, it left the reader wanting more information particularly as to what happened at Liverpool and Southampton. Graeme,is a determined man and this comes through in his book. He was quite frank about his heart problems and how he encountered his initial problems at Rangers. I feel Rangers are benefitting from his managerial approach and style to this day. He admits that he could have been less hasty in his decisions at Liverpool , but the club have benefitted with the emergence of Redknapp and Fowler.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Always seemed to be someone else fault, never seemed to take responsibility for results (apart from Rangers where he was successful), very disappointing as I thought he was a great player.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
This is quite a good read even if it was written some time ago. Very revealing about GRFC particularly in the light of developments in recent years !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
A great indepth look at a true football man and a gentleman.well wotth the money and book in great condition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2007
Graeme Souness the management years covers his spell as player manager at Rangers,his troubled spell as boss at Liverpool and also his time spent at Galatasaray,Southampton,his six games in charge at Torino and finaly Benfica.
When reading this book you get the impression it was written in the main to explain his reasons why he wasn't a success as manager of Liverpool and to appologise for selling his story about his heart problems to The Sun,a newspaper dispised on Merseyside,an act unforgiven by the same Liverpool supporters whom idolised his during his time there as a player.
If i am honest,i was expecting Souness to dish the dirt a little more than he does but he does fight back against Phil Thompson and Tommy Smith,former team mates whom publicaly slated him both behind his back and in the press,and he admits that he didn't get the backing of the more senior pros at Anfield,which obviously dissapointed him.
The book is filled with other chapters of less interest like a chapter on his best mate Phil Boersma,Alex Ferguson,Glassgow and the press.
Still a decent read all the same but doesn't quite possess the same bite as one of his famous tackles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2000
The management years is an excellent book, and a must for all Blackburn fans they can now see what makes our new man Graeme Souness tick, it changed my opinions of him anyway. As to the comment above about being a little more informative, Graeme does state that if he is to detailed he faces liable charges. But all in all an excellent book well worth buying
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
Very good read, giving insight into a complex character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse