The Sound Doctor (1972-19... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Sound Doctor (1972-1978)

4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

Price: £15.65 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 5 Nov 2012
£10.41 £18.23
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
16 new from £10.41 1 used from £18.23

Amazon's Lee Perry And the Sufferers Store

Frequently bought together

  • The Sound Doctor (1972-1978)
  • +
  • Return of Sound System Scratch: More
Total price: £28.89
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (5 Nov. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Pressure Sounds
  • ASIN: B009DTTE7Y
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  Vinyl |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 201,495 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Oppression - Delroy Butler
  2. Army of Love - Junior Byles (Previously unreleased)
  3. Wam-Pam-Pa-Do - Dillinger
  4. Sound Doctor - Bobby Floyd
  5. Doctor Skank - Young Dellinger
  6. Horny Train - The Upsetters (Exclusive Dub Plate Mix)
  7. Do Good - Al Maytone
  8. Different Experience - Brother Roy
  9. Smiling Faces - Tinga Stewart
  10. Smiling version - Hux Brown Group
  11. Be Prepared - Keith Poppin
  12. 006 - U Roy
  13. Key Card - Lee & Jimmy
  14. Domino Game - The Upsetters
  15. Message To The Nation - Tony Fearon
  16. Dub Message - The Upsetters
  17. Water your Garden - The Flames
  18. Standing On The Hill - Chenley Duffus
  19. Start Over - The Gatherers
  20. Its Impossible - The Ethiopians
  21. Grandfather Land - Jah T
  22. King of Kings - Pat Francis
  23. King of Kings Version - The Upsetters
  24. To Hell and Back - Count Stocky & The Upsetters

Product description

Product Description

24 track single CD

About the Artist

In 1972 Scratch publicly declared his ambition to build a studio where the 'Sufferers' could record, by late 1973 The Black Ark was open for business. Sound Doctor documents Scratch's recording of the sufferers as he and his Black Ark studio became the heartbeat of Rasta and rebel culture in Kingston: and the sufferers its flowing blood. '006' captures U Roy in his first flush of creativity as he rides Perry's 'Auntie LuLu' (Junior Byles) rhythm featuring Augustus Pablo's melodica. Its UK issue was marred by overdubs from Trojan, whilst the original JA issue surfaced on the Sun, Moon & Stars 'Black Art Records' imprint, marking the opening of his studio. Our set features this original Jamaican mix. Mento star Count Sticky, who had recorded for Scratch in 1969, talks over the rhythm that became known as 'Pharaoh Hiding' (Junior Byles again) on 'To Hell & Back' where he gives the latest street slang 'Live It Up, Give It Up, Shake It Up and Mash it Up' a thorough work out. Interesting for Sticky to get a writing credit on the 'Pharaoh Hiding' label, so perhaps it's originally his rhythm? Following the departure of Bob, Bunny & Peter aka the Wailers from the Perry production house it was Junior Byles who provided Scratch with his biggest sellers in the early 1970's, so it was no surprise that he turned to Byles again when Chris Blackwell wanted an artist album project for his Island label. Unfortunately by the mid 1970's Byles' mental health was deteriorating and the project fell apart, with 'Army of Love' one of the few fragments of what might have been. It's a paean to an aspiration of 'Peace & Love' that was brutally suppressed in a hail of gun fire as the decade progressed. The song is from the same seed that Bob Marley nurtured on the international stage. A triptych of rare sides give us unknown cuts on what became one of the 1980's favourite rhythms 'Pressure and Slide' taking it's title from the Tennor's original Studio 1 track but that actually originated as Busters 'Shaking Up Orange Street'. The horns lick on 'Pressure and Slide' seems to have been borrowed from 'Ain't that loving you' by Johnny Taylor. It's rumoured that Bobby Floyd moved into Gospel music - hence the rarity of his reggae material. Dillinger's two toasts include the highly elusive 'Wham Pam Pa Do' revealed at last! It has previously only surfaced as the misleading label of a record that is actually The Gatherers 'Words' track. 'Sound Doctor' finds Dillinger in fine 'On top of Blue Mountain Peak' - form and Perry's take on Pressure & Slide is rocking: we could not find a version though - shame! Probably recorded at Dynamics, as the Black Ark neared completion. The backbone of this set is Perry's cuts with all manner of Kingston sufferer's: ranging from Rasta stalwart Pat 'Jah Lion' Francis, to the unknown 'Jah T' via a 'whose who' of Kingston's brethren. Much of the life blood of Kingston ghettos flows in a similar vein to Al Maytones 'Do Good'. It sets the tone in delivering a moral message, whilst borrowing from the folk saying 'Once a man, twice a child' (actually one of Shakespeare's). Al's country reggae vocal style is given a more urban feel by Perry. Likewise Keith Poppin's 'Be Prepared' asks a moral question underlined by his plaintive tones: 'How long are you prepared to live this reckless life'. Whilst Shenley's 'Standing on the Hill' takes an observational stance on life: 'from my watch tower I'm sure I see the power of the rich - over the poor'. Mr. Duffus was very popular in Jamaica but was never really successful elsewhere. Tony Fearon's 'Message to the Nation' sees 'my brothers on the street looking for something to eat'. Perry had publicly stated that he was driven by the need of the Sufferers to record their music. The Black Ark was to become the spiritual centre for such artists.

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 3 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

23 February 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
28 August 2017
Format: Audio CD
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
19 November 2012
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on 4.6 out of 5 stars 5 reviews
Comment Man
5.0 out of 5 starsBasically a collection of Black Ark singles
22 November 2012 - Published on
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful.
Stuart Jefferson
20 November 2012 - Published on
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
8 August 2017 - Published on
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
4.0 out of 5 starsFour Stars
8 March 2016 - Published on
Verified Purchase
C. Johnsen
5.0 out of 5 starsGems From The Black Ark Years
12 October 2013 - Published on
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?