Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
159
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2017
This is one of the finest film's that i have ever seen. Infact, i watch it regularly.

Julia Jentsch should have won an 'Oscar' for her performance. I put it down to British/American prejudice against non-English speaking film's.

Also, i was very impressed by the performance of Andre Hennicke, as: Roland Freisler. The ranting, raving, carpet-chewing, former Communist.

My only gripe about this film is the portrayal of her time in detention. The Gestapo are, almost, portrayed as: Dixon of Dock Green. From what I understand, Ms Scholl was treated brutally. She attended 'Court', bearing sign's of her injuries.

For the record, the Gestapo was made up of former street-thug's. They were real warrior's when it came to tormenting disabled folk, the elderly, and women. However, I doubt if many of these fella's even had the gut's to go out by themselves, on a Friday night, and buy themselves a pint.

The world is full of fascist's but, these day's, they don't wear a swastika on their arm...

Don't let anyone tell you how to think, dress, and speak.

The inner/outer beauty of Sophie Scholl is perfectly portrayed, by: Julia Jentsch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
In German with English subtitles - this is a classic. This is hard to watch at times and being so heartbreaking is certainly not for children to watch. It is the brutal truth of what happened for those of the White Rose resistance, who tried to stand up to the 3rd Reich. The acting is simply brilliant, from the measured interrogation at the other side of a desk, to the dramatic court scenes, it is compelling, to the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2017
Such bravery from youngsters again st the nazi regime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
LOVE THE MOVIE MUST SEE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Very dissapointed thought this would have at least have English subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
A1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Pointient
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
First class film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2008
This film was not what I was expecting. It spends its whole 115 minute running time concerned generally with the arrest, interrogation and aftermath of Sophie Scholl and her brother Hans. I went into it expecting more information on the background of the group, more on their rise but this doesn't happen (subsequently found out there is another film on this in German called The White Rose). I'm not saying this makes the film any worse - it probably makes it better.

Sophie is brilliantly portrayed; the second hour is most definitely more gripping and suspenseful. Once the proper interrogation occurs and Sophie stands to her morals you see the horrors of the Nazi belief and those who fell so deeply into the Hitler way of belief. The way Sophie stands up to her interrogators shows the true power of the movie and that even in the most darkest times there were people who stood up for Freedom at all costs.
I certainly believe the end and aftermath raise the movie and how it makes you feel about it, from a good movie to a very powerful, visionary one.

I've only recently discovered my interest in WWII based film and Sophie Scholl added a different angle to the viewing, from the German perspective about normal German youth's anti-Hitler beliefs and what happened to them. This film certainly makes good viewing for people interested in WWII but I'd be hard pressed to recommend it to anyone looking for a more conventional movie. People with a legal or history background will find this movie well worth watching. If you arrive here directly after watching Downfall, enjoy but be prepared that this is a different experience.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)