Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 2 January 2013
Do not buy this product! Sony have decided not to tell customers that you must be over 18 to subscribe to the PS Plus. Only master account holders can use the code and download games. So if you bought a PS Vita for your underage child they cannot use it to access the store.

Remember, the PS Vita can only be registered to one user only at a time. So if your underage child has a PS Vita, they have to reset the system and sign in as a master account holder in the name of an adult before they can access PS Plus, which kind of defeats the object of having subaccounts attached to a master. In other words you need to be over 18 to own a PS Vita and use it without restriction.

No other console or handheld has this type of restriction. It's like Sony is letting you have a PS Vita on licence, even though you bought and paid for it with your own money. You cannot log into the same account on two different devices at the same time so if you have a PS3 and a Vita and are logged in. You cannot use the PS3 and PS Vita simultaneously.

The Vita itself is an illogical piece of kit, so powerful and versatile, but restrictive in allowing other users to use it. Just imagine if you had to swap sim cards before allowing your friend to use your mobile. This is Digital Rights Management gone mad. Sony got their fingers burnt by the hackers but they are alienating their paying customers with this paranoid obsession with only allowing one user per device.

Just imagine if everything in life was controlled by Sony. Want to take a Cab? Sorry, someone already used it today, your're gonna have to walk home. Family holiday? forget it, only one person can board the plane and he's the pilot! The Matrix is here and Sony is Mr Smith.

If you have a PS3 and you are over 18 then you can subscribe to PSN Plus and get the benefits. But if you have a handheld and are under 18 then don't let Sony rip you off. It's bad enough with the proprietary memory that is 5 times the price of an equivalent SD card, but this, this is the type of company policy that makes you wonder if they are deliberately trying to destroy the company. The company who were the market leaders 10 years ago with the playstation 2. Now losing marketshare daily to Microsoft Xbox and now I will not be recommending the Vita to anyone when they can get a tablet or smartphone with no restrictions on who can use it or what apps/games you can put on it. How the mighty have fallen, good luck to the Japanese getting out of the recession with their major companies in meltdown.
1111 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
I was very happy, thinking i bought PSN for 1 year. So now i can play online yes, actually no.
Because when i redeem the code, and put in the probably place. Shows up message saying " the code must be not valid ".

Ps: the DVD case came broked in the corner part, for me its ok. Cause its not a game case. But is one more thing showing the poor service i recived.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
I've had Playstation Plus now for 3 months and it's already made up what it cost many times over just in terms of the Instant Game Collection. This is a collection of games that you can build up each month as more and more games are released at 100% discount for members. So far there have been quality titles like Uncharted 3, Battlefield 3, Spec Ops: The Line, Mafia II, Need For Speed: Most Wanted and so on. In September, Assassins Creed 3 and Jak and Daxter HD Trilogy will be arriving on PS+. I just regret not having the time to play them all.

Given how your subscription extends to all devices, you can get Vita games as well with PS4 games coming at launch meaning one subscription would potentially do 3 consoles.

A few things to note:-
- If you let your subscription lapse, you loose access to your instant game collection. That said, resubscribing will renew that access and the games you had before will still be there. So in reality, you are renting the games for the period of the subscription.
- Games have to be "purchased" even though they are 100% discounted. If you don't purchase them and the games leave the Instant Game Collection, you won't be able to get them again. Buy them and pause the download and you'll have them in the future to download and enjoy.

Playstation Plus also gets you additional discounts on purchases on the PSN store so if you buy lots on there, do give it some consideration. This can include items already discounted in a sale.

There is a feature to trial full games for a short period of time (I think it's an hour by could be mistaken) after which time you have the option to buy the game or delete it from the harddrive. I haven't tried this facility myself and the list is fairly limited I have to say.

One final note. Playstation plus isn't required to play online on the PS3 but will be for the PS4.

I hope this review has been informative.
22 Comments| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2013
Playstation Plus is a great way to get some top games for the PS3 as well as some of the smaller, fun games for 'free' (ie. in the cost of the subscription). A major advantage of PS+ is that it also automatically backs up your game saves online and downloads and installs the latest updates for you, saving you all that tedious waiting around when you just want to get on with playing!

This product comes as a scratchcard in a PS3 case. You simply scratch to reveal the number then go to the Playstation store to enter it and start/renew your PS+ subscription. I bought it from Amazon when it had 25% off, saving me a tenner, so it was great value for money. Definitely a worthwhile investment for a year's gaming at less than the cost of a typical game. Just bear in mind that the 'free' games you download through PS+ are only yours for as long as you are a subscriber, so you will need to buy or renew every year (look out for special offers!). If your subscription lapses, once you renew you will again be able to access the games you got previously (just make sure you renew on the same Playstation account).
33 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2017
is a rip off
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2016
12 Months Playstation plus Membership for £46.99?
It's £39.99 through the Playstation itself

If you like a deal similar to this, then I have a great one which is going to leave you requiring fresh trousers...
You send me £20 and I will send you three nice crisp £5 notes
Now don't get hypocritical and think one is better than the other, tell it to your nurse
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
The great thing about PlaySation games when they first went online was that you require no subscription-with only a few exceptions they were free to play online. Now need PlayStation Plus if you want to play PlayStation games online. Presumably you're supposed to be attracted to it because you get a usually old or crappy game free every month and have a huge back catalogue of games available to you, for a price. t's just about to go up in price, no idea why, I guess Sony are struggling. I'd buy an Xbox instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2014
Don't use your credit cards. Once you put your cards details it will be there forever and if you do want to remove your card details you have to put new card details to remove old one. How cunning is that?
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2014
If you are used to the PS3 version do NOT be fooled by this.

I had seen the games on the PS3 market so I was really excited to see what was on offer. Not much is the long and short answer. There are no big games cheap and very little DLC unless you're a fan of Call of Duty / Killzone type games.

I'm not naive and realist there aren't that many games out for the PS4 yet and realized the choice was going to be limited. Sony have made little to NO effort to compensate with some appalling examples of overpricing. For instance, when I can buy a second hand version of Killzone for £30 cheaper (from a retailer with a money back guarantee) than it is on here it looks like a very cynical excuse to use customers for every penny they can.

There are a few indie titles but no big discounts on any of them. Really hoping that they release something decent soon as I'm feeling very ripped off at the moment.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2017
My son was happy to renew his membership for Crimbo, just a bit expensive which is why it looses stars, after I bought this I saw the same exact one in a certain shop for £39
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 21 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)