Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 July 2012
Arrived within estimated time. Well packed. Looks a tiny bit daunting when you first look at it (unless you're a 15 year old, in which case you'll wonder what I'm on about).... but in practice it's easy to use and you might not even use most of the features it has. Picks up speakers in a hall when they use a microphone to talk, not sure yet how well it would pick up without one. Certainly OK for personal notes or close by recording. Replay using the built in speaker is OK but not as good as using headphones or the computer speakers, which are excellent. Easy to download the computer software and to use the programme that it employs. Instructions are easy to use on the computer...the brief paper notes are OK but quite basic. Haven't found out how good the battery life is, but there are two (AAA), where the Olympus recorders only have one, so is probably better.

Might be worth considering the FM radio model as, for little extra cost, you get a radio and could record stuff off the radio when you're away from home... (no need to miss any Archers episodes). This one has the clip on microphone which might be handy and is only a few pounds more than the model without it so you can put the recorder in your pocket and still record conversations.

Recommended.

EDIT 16th September 2012 Just to note that I've used it in a large room and it records very well indeed. Even quiet or distant speakers can be heard. The transfer on to a computer and then on to email (if desired) is very straightforward and easy to do. I bought the cheap telephone pickup on Amazon and it works perfectly...records a call very clearly. This is it here... http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000L1OZG8/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00

Remains recommended.
88 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
This product is Fantastic!.Clear concise easy to operate, very compact, i would suggest buying with the lapel Microphone. It does exactly what it says-on- the -Tin! Brilliant-John Gaunt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
It has been very helpful and still working okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
I like this because it is a turn-on-and-go device. I use to voice record audio for videos with an external lavalier mic or a headset mic - it has 'plug-in power' on the external mic socket of 2.5V for those types of electret mics, oor you can use it handheld into the internal mic. Both work well.

It is AGC ( automatic gain control ) so you don't need to fiddle about with mic levels This is why I like it - just turn it on, plug in external mic and record. No hassle.

The downside is that playback volume is truly useless via the so-called internal speaker. It has a volume limiter which keeps the playback volume low - even with headphones connected it's pretty low.

To be realistic, you need to download the mp3 files from the recorder and play it back in an external device and/or edit them as necessary in external software. This is no problem for me because I do this anyway for the purpose I use this recorder for.

If you are looking for a device to play back your audio well, as well as record it, this is DEFINATELY not the recorder to buy as the playback volume is truly awfully low.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
I was surprised by the quality of the recording and the sensitivity of the mic. It was much better than I'd anticipated. Great product!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2012
What a brilliant little piece of kit. I bought it for recording the talks I give and was so impressed with the results. Best of all, the separate microphone was able to pick up every word I said without distortion and without that rustling sound as you move about and your shirt rubs on the mic. It also managed to pick up questions from the gathering, giving a complete recording as opposed to a one sided one.

I am so pleased I took the plunge and bought this little beauty - easy to operate, once you have read the instructions, batteries last for ages and it is small enough to fit snugly into a pocket where you can forget all about it until it needs switching off.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
I wanted a voice recorder that was easy to use and one that had a USB connection, without it being expensive. This one fits the bill and it is such a reasonable price being that it is a Sony model.It is very small and discreet and it actually does loads of things I had not thought I would get at that price. Delivery was prompt and efficient. Really very good buy and excellent service throughout.

Managed to download the full manual from the Sony site along with the quick one,(one was supplied with the product, which was enough to get you started)and now will be able to record lots of different things in different environments.

I bought the product through Amazon,really excellent service,very pleased,no complaints at all.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2011
Having used the BX800, this does the same job with the added bonus of USB connection and editing software, at a respectable price.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
Good quality of sound with this very compact recorder but look carefully at the supplied options. If you need stereo recording buy the remote mike package. You might also want dragon naturally speaking this is included in some packages and is RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE! to buy separately.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
I purchased this unit to mainly record and then edit my musical tuition sessions.
The instructions come in many different languages so don't be put of by the massive 'wad' of paper that comes with it.! Whilst the instructions are clear they are written by someone who knows how the machine works and it assumes an intuitive amount of understanding to translate that into action. That said give them a good read and then try it out well before you intend to seriously use it. The extra storage using an (not included!) micro SD card is great, don't forget to get an adapter if you intend to download files to a PC. Battery life appears excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)