Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
86
4.1 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Normal|Change
Price:£39.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

the game is amazing, really captures the comedy from the movies and very great game play, highly recommend this game
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2009
Don't be put off by people saying this game is samey. It is a ghost catching game, so yes, every mission is going to be about catching ghosts in the same way that every Driver mission is going to involve driving a car and every Modern Warfare game is going to be about shooting the opposition. The missions themselves are varied in story, backdrop and content and I wouldn't call it samey at all.

The voice is acting is great and they throw in a lot of one liners and tongue-in-cheek humour which keeps you chuckling. The graphics are fine - they're not spectacular but they're not shoddy either; I'd rate them as good.

Downsides? The game takes maybe 20 seconds to reload every time you die and you are then put back to the last save point which is usually just before a section of movie content, which can be frustrating if you get to a hard bit.

Also, having played the demo, I felt confident enough to play it straight through on the maximum difficulty setting and I still managed to complete it over one weekend. That's not to say it's a short game, it's not, the game was a lot longer than I initially gave it credit for and there are a ton of trophies for people who like such things.

I've not yet done the online play so I cannot give an opinion on that (I'll be trying it out tonight).

Summary: Good game worth replaying (I will be).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
I am quite new to playing games on the PS3, so its taking me a while to get used to all the controls. But I love this game! It is so life like and I do feel like I am watching a Ghostbusters movie. I am still in the very early stages of the game ad it seems to be a shooting game mostly. I have to admit I find it challenging, but it has great atmosphere. I cat wait to get further into the game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
Im a bit disappointed in this game considering the time it has taken to comeout. Its not that its a bad game at all its just not as good as was hoping for. The game is quite short but theres little variety in ghosthunting. After you get used to the controls and capture a couple of ghosts things are pretty much the same till the end. It just gets repetitive after a couple of hours playing and you just want to play another game and come back to this later. Also the controls can be fiddly in places but you do get used to it. The graphics are good and its great to see the cast back but they could have improved the game no end. A good solid release..just not a great one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
Not sure how I missed this one for so many years but it's fantastic fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 June 2009
I'd been waiting for this game for ages, and I'm pleased to say I am not dissapointed.
The game takes places in 1991, 2 years after the last film, and almost all of our favourite characters are back including all 4 Ghostbusters with their voices being provided by the original cast, and if that ain't enough, the games script is written by Dan Akroyd and Harold Ramis, so this is basically ghostbusters 3.
In the game you play a new recruit who works alongside the ghostbusters trapping ghosts using the original proton packs and the trap. Fans of the franchise will love this as there are many reminders to the orignal films including the Stay Puff monster and levels taking place in the library and in the hotel from the first film. Gameplay is very enjoyable with easy and simplistic controls, funny dialog and stunning graphics. I've never seen levels littered with so much moveable debris before. The game is fantastic and will keep you entertained from start to finish.
The only draw back is the length of the game, which consists of 6 large missions which can basically be completed within 6hours maybe less. After that you can replay levels and watch bonus videos that you have unlocked, but this can also be a problem, as sometimes when you load up the game, it fails to recongnise game save data, so all of my ghosts and artifacts I have collected have dissappeared from my save, it takes a few attempts before the system loads up your career allowing you to continue with your story. Hopefully sony will soon release a patch for this fault, but until then it will remain an issue.
Apart from this fault, the game is excellent with a cracking gameplay and story, this is well worth a play, plus you get multiplayer too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
If, like me, you grew up regularly watching the two Ghostbusters films on VHS cassette, watching The Real Ghostbusters on TV, and maybe even running around the house wearing one of the those plastic proton packs that fired a cylinder of foam, then this game has been custom-designed for you.

Playing as an unarmed rookie you are quickly thrown into the action of catching ghosts, making money in order to upgrade your equipment, and generally making a mess amidst the chaos and mayhem in a Manhattan under siege (yet again) by troublesome spirits.

The game play can feel repetitive at times, especially if you have to repeat the same mission several times (damn gargoyles), but the variation lies with the situation and the different types of ghosts encountered throughout the game. If you were expecting some kind of GTA clone then I'm afraid that you will be disappointed with this game as the challenging missions have a clearly linear structure: you snoop around, take some scans with the PKE meter, uncover some ghosts, 'get' them with your proton pack, trap them, and move on to the next challenge. However, if you have enjoyed the Ghostbusters series for as long as you can remember, such a flaw will not really matter as you will be too busy doing what you've always wanted to: teach some unruly ghosts a lesson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
I've been waiting for this game ever since I finished Ghostbusters on the Sega Mega Drive and now it's finally here, it was well worth the wait!

The whole point of ghostbusters is to run around, zapping ghosts and trying to catch them and this game does exactly that. The sounds are spot on to the films, contains the original music, visuals are perfect, the characters look and sound exactly like the cast and the story is fun and in parts quite humorous (as were the films).

I can't fault this game; it's perfect and I am more than happy with this purchase. It took about 8 hours for me to complete the campaign (so about 2-3 weeks) and felt it was definitely enough.

Be warned though, you cannot have a multiplayer campaign offline, which was a little disappointing as it clearly says on the back 2-4 players online and 1-4 players offline. However, the online multiplayer is definitely worth a look!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
As Ghostbusters 3 is not going to happen, this game is the next best thing - the single player is very good and the story is a lot of fun.

The downside is that the multiplayer server has been turned off so the trophies are not obtainable, although the online was a bit hit and miss it was still fun when it worked.

The graphics are very good and all the original cast return to voice their characters, except for Sigourney Weaver (Dana Barrett) and Rick Moranis (Louis Tully) - as the female love interest for Peter Venkman we instead have Alyssa Milano as Dr. Ilyssa Selwyn and she does a good job.

The game also sees the return of Slimer and The Stay Puft Marshmallow Man, along with William Atherton as Walter Peck.

Still hoping for a sequel and not the very poor Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Bought this only to find Atari have switched of the servers that support the online functionality. To you an I this means that you cannot play multiplayer anymore. Totally gutted! Single player was ok but my 3 and 6 year old are really disappointed as they were looking forward to the multiplayer mode
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)