Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2008
ASIN:B00007KFNT Sons And Lovers [2003]]]
DH Lawrence spent years trying to stop his early publishers from expergating his novels,and not until recently, when the Cambridge University Press restored all his works to their original composition,have we been able to read his novels with the original intended text
Sons and Lovers had almost 80 passages,a tenth of the book,removed by the original publisher, but at last we can now read the book as intended.
I didn't see this adaptation first time round, but I was given it has a Christmas present by my daughter who knows I am a Lawrence fan.
Well I have to say it has been a very disappointing experience viewing this 2002 ITV production.
This film has simply turned the clock back and spoilt what is probably one of the great novels of the 20th century.
Where is Arthur the 4th child,a more important character in the Morel household than Annie.The relationship between Paul and Mirian was a long, close, friendship which covered many years from adolesence to adulthood,with Paul spending many days at the farm with Miriam and her brothers.The film gives the impression that they didn't meet till much later. Where was the very important holiday Paul took with Dawes and Clara near the end of the book? The sex scenes were base,cold and brutal, whereas Lawrence gave them an almost spiritual experience.
This film had over 3 hours to get the story right and failed miserably. No film can be expected to relate a book fully,but this adaptation left far too many gaps. Sorry.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
The film was fantastic Sarah is a great actress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Superb thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2006
This DVD has had so many scenes removed (censored) it is now nothing like the one originally shown on TV, to the point where if one had never read or seen Sons and Lovers it would make no sense at all, the scene where Clara ( Esther Hall) says that it is no longer tenable for her to remain in her position at work, one has to wonder why as in this version it seems that nothing had gone on between them just stange looks. If anyone knows where to obtain the orignal uncut version this would make a lot more sense.
0Comment| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEon 14 January 2003
This adaptation of DH Lawrence's 1913 novel Sons And Lovers is a very mediocre one- I'm not definitively sure why. Part of this may be the fact it is centred around Sarah Lancashire- an actor of limited talent (it was also part of her "Golden Handcuffs" deal with the TV channel who produced this). Or it could be the fact that like the majority of costume drama's based on the canon of classics, it ends up being a lazy adaptation aimed at the foreign market in terms of sales (the heritage work) or those who can't be bothered to read the book, but love drama rooted in a period.
Of course, you can't expect an exact translation of a novel (there is no definitive reading & this has been adapted before- most recently in 1981)- but the simplification that occurs here. It fails to say anything about the book or era it depicts- unlike a BBC TV adaptation of The Rainbow in the 80's, or Ken Russell's versions of Women in Love, The Rainbow (again) & Lady Chatterley's Lover. Lawrence's work is simplified here into a series of sex scenes between Paul & Clara, then Miriam.
I never thought I'd complain about too much sex on screen, after all most TV revolves around sex in forms of affairs in soaps/MOR TV drama- but rarely shows it. Here we get full-frontal nudity- which I think is fine, after all- most people are naked when they have sex. But it overplays the nudity & sex, becoming repetitious and placating the idea that it's OK in this instance- cos it's based on a classic (do we get similar nudity in "Golden Handcuff"-based TV drama? The answer is no). Nothing is really said with the frequent depiction of sex, this is not David Cronenberg's Crash- so it comes across as a titillating excuse to show pubic hair on screen. Ken Russell also used full-frontal nudity in Lady Chatterley's Lover- but he did say other things also- whereas this adaptation was erring towards a classy form of titillation- which has been prevalent since 1996's Moll Flanders.
This adaptation is watchable, particularly nice to see more roles for women on screen, pity they erred towards stereotypes- I do think that Esther Hall (as Clara) & Lyndsey Marshal (as Miriam) were notable in their performances- I would like to see these actors used in TV drama that has some guts & originality. This was just adaptation by numbers- more Nanchero-style period nonsense than a work approaching any complexity- which is to be found in Lawrence's classic novel. Which is not only far superior, but a lot cheaper than this...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
I think I must have watched a different version to the other reviewers. I watched the DVD almost immediately after I had finished the book for the first time. I understood the need for cuts and believe the producers made the right decision. I thought the casting was excellent - especially for the characters of Miriam and Gertrude.

As far as the sex scenes were concerned- well Lawrence did portray the phsycological problems that Morel had and I suppose the deterioration of the relationship with Clara was graphically portayed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2003
This is an excellent adaptation of Lawrence's boigraphical work.
If you are not used to Lawrence you will find it hard viewing, full of the mudane bleakness that was victorian working class life. You should not allow this to discourage your viewing however for Lawrence's characters have complex and confusing relationships which hold your attention and potray a need for resolution, you will want to journey through with the characters. There is a central struggle between Getrude Morrell and her less intelligent, less refined Husband, who after intial romance proves an intense and bitter dissapointment.
This is follwed by the struggles Gertudes Son's have to negoiate a means of impressing and detaching from their devoted, if dysfunctional Mother. Lancashire plays the cooly detached Getrude superbly, she displays the supressed emotion well and yet gives a sense of the intense power she holds over her boys.
The character of Paul, the youngest Son is played with conviction and respect to Lawrence, who is Paul's template.
Though he plays the role well, Hugo Speer is horribly wasted as the gloomy one dimentional Mr Morrell. Be forgiving of Miriam, Paul's first love, she is damn irritating but she is suppossed to be. For it is she who has to work through Paul's inability to commit to her and is more damaged then he by his indecisiveness and devotion to Gertude.
This production more cleary communicates the struggle of the changing rules for Men and Women than any other I have seen, it demonstates the conflicts and questions raised by marraige and women's roles at this time (late 1880's to early 1900's). It is not a production for the fainthearted as the sexual content is quite explicit.
One issue it does raise is just exactly when Sarah Lancashire is going to move towards film work, for she is a fine actress and at her wide ranging best in the role of Gertude.
This procduction would surely have been endorsed by Lawrence himself as true to his message as displayed in his fine novel.
Hard work and certainly not "feel good" but well worth the journey and undoubtedly useful to students of Fruedian theory.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Get the film version and ignore this turkey. The film, with Trevor Howard, Dean Stockwell and Wendy Hiller among others, is wonderful. The widescreen, award-winning black and white photography is stunning, and the perormances are all terrific.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
Bought this for my daughter's A level English course as was recommended by her teacher for class to obtain a copy. Anyway my daughter told me the ending makes no sense at all and further to that her teacher brought in VhS that she recorded off TV back a few years ago and everyone in class commented to teacher that alot on dvd had been left out and ending of dvd made no sense but having watched uncut tv version that teacher brought in the story at last made sense to class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
A pretty successful TV adaptation of Lawrence's novel, nicely filmed in more-or-less the original Nottinghamshire locations. Be prepared for a lot of sex scenes involving shockingly hairy women - in the interests of historical accuracy the actresses haven't even shaved their armpits, let alone the bikini line! Main serious criticism would be that the Morel parents were not how they came across in the novel, nor indeed much like Lawrence's real parents. They played the parts well enough, but seemed a little young. Even when the mother died she looked about the same age as Miriam. It is certainly not as surreal and artistically charming as a Ken Russell Lawrence adaptation, but a decent adaptation and rather more than just another costume drama.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)