Box Set

Price: £51.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Delivery Details
Pre-order Price Guarantee. Find out more.
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, 29 Mar 2019
Promotion Message Pre-order Price Guarantee. 1 promotion

This title will be released on March 29, 2019.
Pre-order now.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Pre-order Price Guarantee: order now and if the price decreases between the time you place your order and the release date, you'll be charged the lowest price. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Product details

  • Audio CD (29 Mar. 2019)
  • Number of Discs: 12
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Edsel
  • ASIN: B07N3S5PWM
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 5,522 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Calico Girlfriend
  2. Nine Times Blue
  3. Little Red Rider
  4. The Crippled Lion
  5. Joanne
  6. First National Rag
  7. Mama Nantucket
  8. Keys To The Car
  9. Hollywood
  10. One Rose
  11. Beyond The Blue Horizon
  12. Rose City Chimes

Disc: 2

  1. Silver Moon
  2. I Fall To Pieces
  3. Thanx For The Ride
  4. Dedicated Friend
  5. Conversations
  6. Tengo Amore
  7. Listen To The Band
  8. Bye, Bye, Bye
  9. Lady Of The Valley
  10. Hello Lady
  11. First National Dance

Disc: 3

  1. Grand Ennui
  2. Propinquity (I've Just Begun To Care)
  3. Here I Am
  4. Only Bound
  5. Nevada Fighter
  6. Texas Morning
  7. Tumbling Tumbleweeds
  8. I Looked Away
  9. Rainmaker
  10. René

Disc: 4

  1. Mama Rocker
  2. Lazy Lady
  3. You Are My One
  4. In the Afternoon
  5. Highway 99 With Melange
  6. Wax Minute
  7. Bonaparte's Retreat
  8. Talking To The Wall
  9. She Thinks I Still Care
  10. Cantata & Fugue In C&W
  11. Smoke, Smoke, Smoke That Cigarette

Disc: 5

  1. Tomorrow & Me
  2. The Upside Of Good-Bye
  3. Lady Love
  4. Listening
  5. Two Different Roads
  6. The Candidate
  7. Different Drum
  8. Harmony Constant
  9. Keep On
  10. Roll With The Flow

Disc: 6

  1. Continuing
  2. Some Of Shelly's Blues
  3. Release
  4. Winonah
  5. Born To Love You
  6. The Back Porch And A Fruit Jar Full Of Iced Tea (a. The F.F.V b. Uncle Pen)
  7. Prairie Lullaby

Disc: 7

  1. Opening Theme (Life, The Unsuspecting Captive)
  2. Dance Between The Raindrops
  3. Elusive Ragings
  4. Waking Mystery
  5. Hear Me, Calling
  6. Marie's Theme
  7. Closing Theme (Lamp Post)

Disc: 8

  1. Rio
  2. Casablanca Moonlight
  3. More Than We Imagine
  4. Navajo Trail
  5. We Are Awake
  6. Wisdom Has Its Way
  7. Love's First Kiss
  8. The Other Room

Disc: 9

  1. Dance
  2. Magic
  3. Tonite
  4. Flying
  5. Carioca
  6. Cruisin'
  7. Factions
  8. Light
  9. Horserace
  10. Capsule

Disc: 10

  1. Total Control
  2. Tanya
  3. I'll Remember You
  4. Formosa Diner
  5. Dreamer
  6. Eldorado To The Moon
  7. Tahiti Condo
  8. Chow Mein And Bowling

Disc: 11

  1. Yellow Butterfly
  2. Laugh Kills Lonesome
  3. Moon Over The Rio Grande
  4. One...
  5. Juliana
  6. Brazil
  7. In The Still Of The Night
  8. Rising In Love
  9. Begin The Beguine
  10. I Am Not That
  11. ...For The Island
  12. Twilight On The Trail

Disc: 12

  1. 1. Garden's Glow
  2. Ficus Carica
  3. City
  4. Hills Of Time
  5. Flowers Dancing
  6. Wisteria
  7. Life Becoming

Product description

Product Description

As a member of the first-ever manufactured group, Michael Nesmith needs little introduction. Aside from his ground-breaking projects in the field of music video and film production, he has enjoyed a solo career since he left the Monkees that has encompassed many styles of music, but has always been supported by his wonderful songwriting, alongside some very astute choices of songs he has covered. Nez signed to RCA in 1970 and in quick succession made three albums with The First National Band, which featured pedal steel guitarist extraordinaire O.J. 'Red' Rhodes. All three featured, in the main, his own compositions (including some he had tried out in Monkees sessions) plus some interesting covers, including both well-known country songs and songs by the likes of Harry Nilsson and Eric Clapton. Alongside the contemporary output of The Byrds and The Flying Burrito Brothers, these albums form the foundation of Country Rock. Nesmith continued in this vein with three more albums for RCA in 1972 and 1973, the ironically-titled "…And The Hits Just Keep on Comin'" containing his own version of "Different Drum", a huge hit for Linda Ronstadt back in 1967. He formed his own production company, Pacific Arts, in 1975, the first release being "The Prison", "a book with a soundtrack", with songs to compliment the reading experience. A second example of this, "The Garden" was issued in 1994. 1977 saw the release of "From The Radio Engine To The Photon Wing", which featured the hit single "Rio". The video for this was instrumental in the birth of MTV. Moving away from country rock, follow-up albums further showcased Nesmith's songwriting, accompanied by songs by Cole Porter and others. This box set is the first time that Michael Nesmith's solo albums from both his RCA and Pacific Arts periods have been brought together in one compendium. The albums are in CD-sized facsimiles of the original sleeves, along with a booklet that compiles all the credits and liner notes from those sleeves. There are also four bonus tracks across the RCA albums. Booklet note by broadcaster Iain Lee.

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers