Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 December 2015
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2009
this is a great little book thats small enough to take on holiday caravanning and camping for a few extra food ideas and great things to make with the kids
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2005
Pocket Penguin 43:

'Something for the Weekend'

Jamie pulls together a selection of recipes to liven up Sunday dinner for the traditional cook, or someone a little more ambitious!

'The book is called this because the weekend is when I get an opportunity to cook at home and have a wicked time with my family and friends. And now I've got kids, the weekends are so important for cooking with them - I find it really grounding and always have such a laugh with them.
Remember - cooking is supposed to be fun and not a chore.
So here is a collection of some of my favourite recipes from the books I've written over the past few years.
I'm sure you'll have lots of fun with them, so roll your sleeves up and get stuck in.
This collection of recipes couldn't be more apt - it really is 'something for the weekend', whether you're looking for breakfast ideas, snacks, lazy lunches, proper dinner parties or whether you're after a really good party cake recipe.
Have a great weekend cooking.
And, Happy Birthday Penguin.'

The little paperback measures around 11 cm x 17.75 cm and opens to 64 pages, split into chapters:

1. Introduction
2. Brekkie
3. Long Lunches
4. Fish Suppers
5. Drinks
6. On the Sidelines
7. Alfresco Food
8. Puds

Recipes include:

* Bacon sarnie my stylie
* Braised five-hour lamb with wine, veg and all that
* Fantastic fish pie
* Scrummy warm rocket salad
* Lovely lemon curdy pud

It should be noted that these little books are just 'tastes' of the authors, from Pocket Penguin - hence the price!
They are written on matt paper, in a fairly small print and have no illustrations.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2005
This book has good recipes but there are not that many of then and no pictures! You would be better of paying more for a full-size book.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2008
Some handy recipes and fairly easy to make. Pity the person I bought this for can't cook!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2010
This is really good as a small, postable pressie: good recipes, no pics but you don't really need them with his recipes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2005
... Kitchen/Coffee table Jamie Oliver fayre ... the a tasty snippet all the same and a great stocking filler for JO fans .... Super Wee Book ....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2006
I was bought this as an xmas present, and have already made some of the recipes. Some seem quite complicated, but I am sure they will be worth it!! A very good book. highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)